Chevron Left
Volver a Functional Programming Principles in Scala

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Functional Programming Principles in Scala por parte de École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
estrellas
8,046 calificaciones
1,632 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Functional programming is becoming increasingly widespread in industry. This trend is driven by the adoption of Scala as the main programming language for many applications. Scala fuses functional and object-oriented programming in a practical package. It interoperates seamlessly with both Java and Javascript. Scala is the implementation language of many important frameworks, including Apache Spark, Kafka, and Akka. It provides the core infrastructure for sites such as Twitter, Netflix, Zalando, and also Coursera. In this course, you will discover the elements of the functional programming style and learn how to apply them usefully in your daily programming tasks, such as modeling business domains or implementing business logic. You will also develop a solid foundation for reasoning about functional programs, by touching upon proofs of invariants and the tracing of execution symbolically. The course is hands-on; most units introduce short programs that serve as illustrations of important concepts and invite you to play with them, modifying and improving them. The course is complemented by a series of programming projects as homework assignments. Recommended background: You should have at least one year of programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript, or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line....

Principales reseñas

AJ

23 de sep. de 2019

As expected Martin is awesome in explaining principle of functional programming. I have started reading the book as well to make sure I keep up with the knowledge which I have gained from this course.

VP

13 de sep. de 2018

It took me much longer than expected to finish the course and sometimes it made me feel stupid and helpless. Diving into functional programming was a mind bending experience, totally worth time spent!

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 1,574 revisiones para Functional Programming Principles in Scala

por sanga l

23 de nov. de 2016

What can I say, it is really great courses. it though you from basic even though not step by step but still can be followed by java programmer. I had difficult time to change the way of thinking at first and to to refresh my algorithm knowledge. Spend long night on the weekend :) will miss this course.

it is better you study in a group of people then it will motivates you more and do assignment faster.

por Alexander F

17 de mar. de 2017

an exceptional course, taught by a master of both the theory and the practice. as an engineer with most of an undergrad computer science degree and a few years' industry experience, I found this paper consistently challenging but fair throughout. theoretical proofs and practical considerations are presented side by side, which helps to rationalize the choices in language design and programming model.

por Kostas S

30 de ago. de 2016

Very good course. A bit fast paced for someone with no significant programming experience but as stated in the description this is not a beginners course. Nevertheless, the concepts are explained in depth in the lectures and the assignments which are quite challenging even for someone with good programming background provide great insight to the issues discussed in the lectures. Highly recommended.

por Alin S

16 de mar. de 2017

It was a great and rigorous introduction to the Scala programming languages. The assignments were very challenging but they provide a great learning experience. The contents of the course can make you a better programmer in general by exposing you to concepts from functional programming combined with those from object oriented that you will find yourself applying to other programming languages.

por Arthur M

14 de abr. de 2018

Excellent course. I do not recommend it as a first-stop introduction to FP - I tried that and utterly failed. First, go away and read a Scala book and do the exercises (I recommend the ubiquitous read book "Functional Programming in Scala"). If you pass this course and are honest about submitting your own work, you will come out on the other side with a rock-solid foundational knowledge of FP.

por Atri B

30 de oct. de 2016

I really liked the content and presentation of the course. I had to know Scala for another course at college and this was the perfect crash course. Also, it is being taught by its creator, so that's pretty cool. I liked the assignments too. However, the final assignment did not totally cover all the material for week 5 and 6, and was a bit of a disappointment. Great course overall.

por Mariusz K

6 de abr. de 2020

Great course for starting with functional programming paradigm and getting to know Scala language. Lectures thoroughly explain both foundations of functional programming as well as basic Scala constructs. Assignments difficulty level is reasonable - they are not too easy but it is feasible to pass them using concepts presented in the lectures and hints from the course forum.

por Nagesh L

2 de dic. de 2018

Very nice course to learn the scala programming language. Especuially who want to start and learn funtional programming like me. The instructor is very knowledged (he is a professor and an author of book). I am fully satisfied with this course. The assignments were challenging and had fun while doing this course. Whoever want to take, please don't think - just enrol and enjoy!

por Taufeq R

16 de dic. de 2018

I really enjoyed learning from first principles of functional programming in this class with Prof. Martin Odersky. The direction from start to end is really well suited to beginners of functional programming and also well suited to students new to programming. This goes on show the genius Prof. Odersky is at teaching and developing an elegant language with his students.

por Varlamov A

2 de dic. de 2021

I had a little of expirience in programming(3 month). So, It was not very simple. Good part of this course is the clearness and lucidity of exercises. I took another Scala course after that and there was a diificulty to understand what should I do.

In this course there is no such problem. The main problem here is programming, not analysis. Recomend this course to all.

por Francisco E B

27 de ago. de 2018

Very good! Mr. Odersky is very didactic, his examples are clear, though the conceptual rigor of the course is very high.

The exercises were very carefully chosen to demand the use of the concepts seen in classes. And they are challenging, too!

I enjoyed a lot, even though the classes and exercises were time, intellectually and effort demanding.

I emphatically recommend!

por Jordan M C

23 de ago. de 2021

G​reat Intro to both Scala and the Functional paradigm. Quite possibly the best intro to FP available, due to the combination of well structured lectures which tread the fine line of giving the student just enough information and guidance to infer solutions to the weekly Assignments, but not so much that the exercises themselves are anything approaching trivial.

por Roberto M

24 de jun. de 2016

It is my first course on Coursera and I have to admit that it is brilliant. The provided material is very helpful, lectures are very interesting and theory is interleaved with practice. Assignments are good and sometimes tricky. The lecturer, Martin Odersky, is very clear in conveying his message and, last but not least, is *the* person from whom to learn Scala.

por Mykola S

8 de jun. de 2017

Excellent course on Scala from the creator of this beautiful programming language. Very detailed and clear material explanation with many examples and stress on functional programming. I have learned a lot from this course both in terms of Scala language and programming in general. Will definitely continue with other courses in this specialization. Many thanks!

por Rohan J

25 de dic. de 2016

This is a great course. I have been using scala for almost a year before starting the course. But still I have learned so much. I now understand so many concepts correctly. And I learned much about Functional Programming itself. It needs completely different thinking, which I didn't have before. Now I will complete other functional programming courses too.

por Ingo v L

7 de abr. de 2017

Fantastic course, well-structured and -presented! I liked the presentation style, a combination of prepared slides, live hand-written annotations and live code examples. The exercises are broken down into easily digestible portions, so the Functional Programming apprentice isn't completely overwhelmed with the unfamiliar way of thinking about programming.

por Mike O

3 de abr. de 2017

This is a really good course. I was impressed. Some of the problems I hadn't seen before so it made the course interesting, I had read a number of functional language books and thought this would be an easy give me but I wound up leaning a lot more than what I did from the books. The course gave me a far greater understanding of functional programming.

por Dmitrii P

21 de jun. de 2016

Great introduction (or refresh) to functional programming paradigm.

The course is special because it is taught by Martin Odersky, the main developer of Scala programming language which is used throughout the course.

By the end, you will be able to use functional principles in your programming projects and you also will have Scala in your toolset, great!

por malhar j

27 de abr. de 2019

Fantastic course for beginners to Functional programming. Slightly on the harder side if one is to understand all the details but still doable. Martin has done a fabulous job with the explanation. Very good and concise presentation (I'm quite surprised!) and decent assignments.

I would strongly recommend this course (although Im still not a fan of FP)

por Dmitry S

9 de feb. de 2019

I think this is very good course: it does introduce into a lot of details and aspects of programming in scala and the same time it give some task, that are very unique but can be applied to real life project. Explaining source code of "List" construct is also very valuable and shows the power of the language. I am very glad that I took this course.

por Sharif D

28 de oct. de 2018

Excellent course for learning to write Scala code that strictly follows the functional programming paradigm and only uses immutable objects and data structures.

If you just want to learn Scala quickly and don't care about functional programming, or need performance more than immutability, then this course might not be the best choice for you.

por James R H

10 de feb. de 2017

Very interesting introduction to functional programming and Scala. The assignments are a bit tough/abstract at first with the home-made data structures, but things get more grounded by the end. Odersky's lectures vary between nuts-and-bolts and headier stuff, but they're all delivered in a clear, organized, and subtly enthusiastic fashion.

por Doug F

29 de jul. de 2020

Wonderful course. It is a really challenging university level course if you don't cheat and try the homeworks yourself. I would say most programming assignments take 3hr minimum and some can take a few days if you are not awesome at functional principles (assuming you are not if you are taking this course). Loved it, highly recommend.

por Tien N

6 de ene. de 2020

This is a very good course with good materials, clear explanation and challenging exercises. This course best fits learners who are already experienced with an imperative programming language (like Java/C++) and have good knowledges in basic/intermediate algorithm concepts (such as back tracking, combinations, complexity analysis, etc).

por Johannes S

18 de mar. de 2017

Nice introduction to functional programming and learning how to think about problems in a different way. Learnings are not tied to just Scala - I also think I did not learn that much of the Scala syntax during the course. I enjoyed the exercises and the course material was good which encourages me to continue on to the next course.