Chevron Left
Volver a Psicología social

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Psicología social por parte de Universidad Wesleyana

4.7
estrellas
4,311 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Ever wonder why people do what they do? This course—which includes more than $1,000 of video and reading materials—offers some answers based on the latest research from social psychology. Students taking the course for a Certificate will also receive free membership in Social Psychology Network (SocialPsychology.org). COURSE DESCRIPTION FROM PROFESSOR PLOUS: Each of us is dealt a different hand in life, but we all face similar questions when it comes to human behavior: What leads us to like one person and dislike another? How do conflicts and prejudices develop, and how can they be reduced? Can psychological research help protect the environment, and if so, how? This course offers a brief introduction to classic and contemporary social psychology, covering topics such as decision making, persuasion, group behavior, personal attraction, and factors that promote health and well-being. Our focus will be on surprising, entertaining, and intriguing research findings that are easy to apply in daily life. The course will also draw from the websites of Social Psychology Network, the world's largest online community devoted to social psychology. I hope you'll join me for this course, have fun, and learn some useful information that enriches your life....

Principales reseñas

IV

12 de jun. de 2020

Very interesting course, tons of great material. Of all the courses I have taken so far in Coursera, this is one of the few that has pushed me to focus on the material we were going over-great course.

PM

15 de ago. de 2020

Professor Plous made me understand the lessons because he explained well all the lessons, and he provided enough information about the Social Psychology. More power to Coursera and Professor Plous :)

Filtrar por:

1751 - 1775 de 1,823 revisiones para Psicología social

por Rajan M

16 de oct. de 2020

The course is good and very informative. However the system needs to be structured to facilitate flow of communication between students and a mentor.

The forum available is not very helpful. I have seen several comments from students saying they are stuck and for days have no clue of further movement. My experience has also been similar and thru trial and error and many attempts, i managed to move towards completion.

I request you to look into this matter and do something. Please give contact and email details of your professor whom students can approach for help. His guidance will help students achieve much more and also persue further courses in this field to upgrade their knowledge and find their efforts rewarded accordingly.

I did pay US$ 10/- towards S.P.N. initially, Now after completion, the certificate request demands full 25 dollars and not balance 15.

kindly clarify and i repeat that a personal email from the authority is the least i can expect on acknowledgement of completion of this course.

When your system can track progress and sent reminders, i see no reason for your system not to send any congratulatory message to your student on his successful completion of the course. This not only satisfies him but also makes him feel connected and a part

por Laimut� P

2 de nov. de 2020

I would like to learn, but the first assignment was something out of the line. I do not understand why we need to do counting about something in the very first lesson? Lectures and videos were amazing, but than... I do not want counting , I'd like to learn something interesting and useful. I am sorry, but we are not seeking for a diplomas... We need only some knowledge's. I have enough diplomas... It doesn't work. So, I think, somebody was mistaken about learners hopes...

por Paulino A

27 de oct. de 2020

I did the first exercise and it was not checked as done. I don't know what happened.

The teacher speaks too slow and uses too many complicated words. Some times, I felt personal understandings in the presented scenarios (studies conclusions). I believe the worse is because this course is focused in professional psychologist and not in other students.

Any way, good work. I am just trying to tell what I remember from all weeks I spent in this effort.

por Frank V

28 de jul. de 2020

Course started very strong and enjoyable. Weeks 1,2, and 3 very good. Week 4 pointed out (to me at least) the manipulative aspects of social psychology. I felt I was being pushed into a particular viewpoint. The week 4 video was troubling. Did not like being pressured into a viewpoint

Week 6 was similarly disconcerting. Week 7 exam difficult but fair. Be sure to study.

por Lou A

20 de jun. de 2021

I love that there is so much material available but I guess because of it, the sequence of things wasn't so organized (instructor had to issue reminders about reading first, or watching another video first). Coming from the media, I was also so distracted with the repeated thanking of the instructor to the sponsors (like ads, ads, ads everywhere).

por Muhammad H A

27 de jun. de 2020

This is the first time I feel not getting any valuable information from a course provided by Coursera. Therefore, I would like to be unenrolled from this course. It is, for sure, beneficial for other students, but sadly not for what I seek. I am sorry.

por Kateryna K

15 de nov. de 2020

An engaging course! However, I think it is overstuffed with material as a beginner-lever course. It felt more like a college-level class. The font color in lectures did not work for me, I had a hard time remembering things.

por Tharani N

10 de jun. de 2021

I think this class is great and very informative however the number of external and constant guessing of what the assignment is asking me to do is frustrating. It's not as streamlined as other coursera courses.

por SANA K

1 de ene. de 2022

The course was good it really helpful to me. I am glad on myself of doing this online course and I expect coursera to give me more options. I am so. thankful to Allah too

por Andrew M

13 de jul. de 2020

Things were going well until they got the Stanford Prison Experiment, this has been exposed as a fraudulent experiment and turned me off the credibility of the course

por Garlen H

6 de sep. de 2020

The material seems very interesting, but the format of the assignments is not for me (submitting my cv, discussions with peers etc).

por Tayo A

18 de feb. de 2022

the learning intentions was so good but the material was very bulky and the exam was too theoretical

por Cynthia S

20 de abr. de 2021

Im no longer interested in this course I did as an elective in my BSC. program

por Amy M

13 de jul. de 2021

The test at the end sucks but the course was good.

por Abhay I

6 de nov. de 2021

W​as a bit new change but interesting

por Nadya M

31 de ago. de 2021

so many promotions for SPN

por Nando R

24 de ene. de 2022

No es para mi

por LOICE W M

7 de oct. de 2019

good so far

por Ananya I

6 de dic. de 2020

not for me

por Chris N

22 de ene. de 2022

The course had some interesting content. I was familiar with many of the experiments discussed but it was good to see them discussed more fully.

The course had two major weaknesses, however.

First, the lectures often made sweeping claims about behavior without defining a metric for that behavior, such as the claim that people are bad at predicting their own reactions to situations. What is the metric for such a claim? How accurate does a person need to be to be "accurate" or "inaccurate?"

On a related point, the questions asked of participants were often not well defined, allowing people to interpret them as they wished. For example, people might claim that a dispositional trait led to a particular behavior, but the psychologists claim that it is situational because most or nearly all people behave in some way. This does not differentiate between situational factors and moral agency, however. If a bank truck crashes and spills money all over the street, it might be true that most people will pick up the money, although it is not theirs. This can still be considered a dispositional trait because it is still dishonest to take other's money, and people have moral agency. Second, the course veered too far and too often into political polemics. I would agree with some of the views presented but disagree with others. In either case, I didn't take the course to be proselytized and many of the arguments would only be convincing to someone who was unfamiliar with the issues.

por Nafi C

6 de nov. de 2020

I just started this course and personally, I don't enjoy it. The professor seems like a genuinely kind and intelligent individual, but the class is just so boring. Like even if I took this as a genuine course at my own university for credits, this content - or maybe just how it's taught - provides little to no motivation - at least for me - to even want to pay attention. I wanted to learn how people think and why they do things that they do, but I personally cannot continue this course due to how boring it is and how little pay off I have found from it. You have an almost 30 page required reading in the first week and the videos just ended up becoming background noise for me at one point. I found zero benefits from it, very likely because I did not like how it was being taught. I would not recommend this course unless you can sit at your computer for extended periods of time listening to someone lecture about whatever happened in some study here and there.

por Marie M

18 de oct. de 2020

Many, many people enrolled in this course cannot get past the Randomizer Assignment, which is the very first assignment. A glitch in the system seems to exist, and the only "help" offered is a repeated admonishment to read and re-read the instructions yet again. While the assignment and instructions may make perfect sense to those trained and experienced in creating such charts, the assignment and administrators seem not to consider that there is truth to confusion and inability of students to successfully complete this assignment, and not for lack of effort. It is indeed as confusing as the many, many students have written. Instead of chastising students for not following instructions--which many have, perhaps reconsidering this assignment would be a bigger consideration given that many well-educated students are choosing to unenroll/drop rather than continue in an exercise of frustration and futility.

por Jacky M

31 de may. de 2020

The week one assignment won't ask me a question to finish the assignment. I've done all four tutorials, but there is no where to answer any question and I keep getting that I didn't finish the assignment. VERY frustrating. It is not working on YOUR end.

por Lenin L

6 de jul. de 2020

Didn't like it. Too much Social, very little psychology.

Platform was good tho, many external resources but the content in my opinion is someway biased into social comment.

I recommend it only if you're really into social type careers.

por Yongkyung C

25 de abr. de 2020

The contents of the course are absolutely terrific, but the technical support is terrible; quizzes are not visible, and it is simply not possible to participate in the requisite class activities.