Chevron Left
Volver a The Science of the Solar System

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Science of the Solar System por parte de Instituto de Tecnología de California (Caltech)

4.8
estrellas
692 calificaciones
254 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Learn about the science behind the current exploration of the solar system in this free class. Use principles from physics, chemistry, biology, and geology to understand the latest from Mars, comprehend the outer solar system, ponder planets outside our solar system, and search for habitability in our neighborhood and beyond. This course is generally taught at an advanced level assuming a prior knowledge of undergraduate math and physics, but the majority of the concepts and lectures can be understood without these prerequisites. The quizzes and final exam are designed to make you think critically about the material you have learned rather than to simply make you memorize facts. The class is expected to be challenging but rewarding....

Principales reseñas

CE

3 de mar. de 2020

Learning facilitated by good lecturing, well prepared lectures and excellent quizzes.\n\nLecturer Mike Brown, enthusiastic about his subject, generous in sharing his knowledge, humorous, and honest.

PK

24 de may. de 2019

The lectures are engaging and replete with thought provoking material. Professor Brown's in depth knowledge of the field and his passion for planetary science aroused an everlasting curiosity.

Filtrar por:

226 - 248 de 248 revisiones para The Science of the Solar System

por Rodrigo C

1 de dic. de 2017

Awesome!

por Vinicius F D N

19 de may. de 2021

WOW !

por gaocen

31 de dic. de 2016

I

por Juan M

9 de sep. de 2018

Awesome course! A lot of information, I have been taught Master courses which teach you much less than this one. There are a few cons though. No Mercury, nor Venus units (they are barely mentioned through the entire course). And it would be nice to have access to the oficial notes, if there are, so we can take a look before watching the lectures ( I understand that this could be too much for an online course).

por Harold W J

5 de ago. de 2020

This course is excellent for anyone wanting to learn about the solar system and the processes that let us learn even more. The course isn't that hard and your given plenty of time to retake quizzes and re-watch lectures. The only downside is that the course is a little bit outdated since it was made back in 2017.

por Mark A

11 de jun. de 2017

Overall, I greatly enjoyed this course. However, at work I am only likely to use knowledge about minerals and rocks found on Mars and the asteroids because of the nature of my current job. In the personal enrichment category, learning about the Grand Tack and Nice model were most significant.

por Bart S

21 de nov. de 2016

Extremely informative and fun! Perhaps update some material with the latest findings (e.g. results from the Dawn mission to Ceres as well as more details on the elusive Planet 9).

Thank you nonetheless Prof. Brown for sharing your contagious enthusiasm for the science of solar system with us!

por Jim A

9 de jul. de 2017

Really good, great recent material with decent presentation. (Pet peeve: a small percentage of quiz questions were not well formed and impossible to answer with material provided.) I'd take additional courses from same instructor.

por Gihan I

10 de nov. de 2018

I find this course presented quite exciting with Prof Brown; but at times the mathematical calculations leave me far behind.

The fact that this course is a preliminary for graduates to Caltech is the reason for this.

por Maxim B

4 de jul. de 2020

Although the course itself was very informative, sometimes there were a problems with sound. Also explanation of some topics was a bit unclear, so I had to dig through google to understand it.

por ZRIHEN J

25 de abr. de 2022

Very captivating course presenting the solar system in general. And in more detail the water on Mars, the giant planets and life in the universe .

por Richard S

21 de nov. de 2020

One of the best online courses I've done. Mike and his colleagues' enthusiasm for the subject is engaging and kept my interest - thank you all.

por Akash C

30 de jul. de 2020

It has been such a great journey with instructor Mike Brown... I've learned many new things which will help me to progress... Thanks

por Aryaman T

28 de jul. de 2021

The course was great but since the videos were like actual university lectures i found them a bit monotonous.

por Alina M S

5 de ene. de 2020

Very good but also very challenging so I often have no clue what is going on

por Joy S

2 de dic. de 2019

Fascinating. Super informative.

por Nguyen H M

11 de feb. de 2021

Too Hard

por Damaso V

14 de jun. de 2018

Considero que el curso es muy bueno a la vez que muy interesante, pero al no poseer suficientes conocimientos de ingles, tambien he detectado que el sonido era deficiente en muchos casos, por ello he tenido muchas dificultades para poder llegar hasta el final, por lo que no entiendo que una Universidad de tanto prestigio como Caltech, y en California no tenga a nadie que pueda hacer transcripciones adecuadamente los textos hablados por el Profesor Brown, por ello mi calificación no ha sido la que me hubiera gustado aplicar, ya que cuando se ofrece un curso de estas caracteristicas debe estar habierto al Mundo Entero y el mundo habla tambien otros idiomas,

por Adoración S C

12 de sep. de 2021

It is difficult to understand the theacher speaking for no english speakers, because he talks very rapidly. The course sometimes is bored because it has a lot of datas and mathematical thinking. Spends so many time whit Mars, but no so much about the rest of planets. Untill lesson 6-7, the course has very difficult exams with tests for choosing betwen more than 10 options (4-5 is a lot, so 10 is so so much). Finaly, the course becomes better at the second part, from 6 to 10 lesson, more or less. Thank you.

por CRAN

23 de feb. de 2021

Le cours est intéressant . Il manque cependant de supports pédagogiques. Les autres cours Coursera ont plus de slides explicatifs.

por Vinod M

16 de abr. de 2020

This course is very informative but there's need to have animated explanation for most of concepts.

por Basant A

1 de abr. de 2020

he makes us unbelieve in our selves ....

por Dr. M K I

26 de abr. de 2020

module 3 was not favarable