Chevron Left
Volver a SQL for Data Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a SQL for Data Science por parte de Universidad de California, Davis

4.6
estrellas
12,740 calificaciones
3,277 reseña

Acerca del Curso

As data collection has increased exponentially, so has the need for people skilled at using and interacting with data; to be able to think critically, and provide insights to make better decisions and optimize their businesses. This is a data scientist, “part mathematician, part computer scientist, and part trend spotter” (SAS Institute, Inc.). According to Glassdoor, being a data scientist is the best job in America; with a median base salary of $110,000 and thousands of job openings at a time. The skills necessary to be a good data scientist include being able to retrieve and work with data, and to do that you need to be well versed in SQL, the standard language for communicating with database systems. This course is designed to give you a primer in the fundamentals of SQL and working with data so that you can begin analyzing it for data science purposes. You will begin to ask the right questions and come up with good answers to deliver valuable insights for your organization. This course starts with the basics and assumes you do not have any knowledge or skills in SQL. It will build on that foundation and gradually have you write both simple and complex queries to help you select data from tables. You'll start to work with different types of data like strings and numbers and discuss methods to filter and pare down your results. You will create new tables and be able to move data into them. You will learn common operators and how to combine the data. You will use case statements and concepts like data governance and profiling. You will discuss topics on data, and practice using real-world programming assignments. You will interpret the structure, meaning, and relationships in source data and use SQL as a professional to shape your data for targeted analysis purposes. Although we do not have any specific prerequisites or software requirements to take this course, a simple text editor is recommended for the final project. So what are you waiting for? This is your first step in landing a job in the best occupation in the US and soon the world!...

Principales reseñas

JG

22 de ago. de 2021

I thought this course was great! Great introduction to Relational Databases and SQLite. Highly reccomend for anyone new to SQL, Databases, or someone looking to get started with a data science career.

JP

5 de abr. de 2020

This course has really helped with optimizing queries that I work with everyday, enhancing my understanding of RDBMS, joins, analyzing and structuring exactly what you need and yielding those results.

Filtrar por:

3251 - 3275 de 3,363 revisiones para SQL for Data Science

por Kasia

15 de jun. de 2018

Course is very theoretical, the teachers just reads presentation with SQL functions, there's no way to actually learn SQL by listening to it. Also she doesn't provide information about essentials of databases, so the beginners may not understand the concept of it.

por Michael U

30 de ene. de 2022

i​ liked the lessons but the last project is completly buggy and not easy to understand what they want from me. it's a pain and I really regret taking that course because after putting that much effort in it, it's very frustrating to has such a poor final test.

por Maud O

16 de may. de 2021

It is a good conceptual introduction to SQL, but as many other reviews say: it lacks the real hands-on work that teaches you coding skills and good practice in choosing different query strategies.

Overal I am on the fence on whether it was worth the costs..

por Tomás L

11 de dic. de 2018

The mistakes in the presentations and the massive ambiguity in the final assignment were a complete letdown for me. All in all, I did learn everything that was taught, but I wonder how much of that was made possible thanks to my previous experience in IT.

por Eva P

26 de mar. de 2018

Good course to learn the basics but not worth the price you pay. Until week 3, everything is fine, but week 4 is a disaster. The final assignment is very confusing and sometimes it is hard to know what you are being asked. Not recommended.

por Jeanette F

29 de sep. de 2021

The videos were not as informative as I would've liked them to be. When you input incorrect code there weren't many resources to find where your mistake was. It would be helpful to have a tutor or someone to chat with for help.

por Flora D

27 de may. de 2022

No reference answers for practice questions and final project. Have no where to learn what to do is right or ideal. Poor function support. Some basic functions like Instr() can not be used. I'm done with this course.

por Yu B

6 de sep. de 2020

The course has no transcript for review. And the system of SQL exercise is also wrong when you are using “WHERE” Clause and “=” signal. Because of the mistakes of system I even can not make any progress. Please check.

por Bobalo R

5 de may. de 2020

The course went fine up until the final assignment. It was very irritating to do, because of the incomplete database, broken correlations, different tables stating different things, which should've been the same, etc.

por Yue L

5 de abr. de 2022

the video does not provide much infomation on how codes are structured. the readings are in pieces. and no tuitor for quized and homeworks. I would not imagine a 0 knowledge person would comprehend this course well

por 恩力 陳

19 de ago. de 2021

bad experience on exercise:

In the course, you will learn different functions of sqlite but they merely bring you along with examples but pop out with tons of different exercises without giving you a single hint

por Yian G

1 de mar. de 2021

The instructor spent too much time on unnecessary and self-explaining topics, and on the other hand failed to explain some important details. I ended up skipping much of the course and googled a lot by myself.

por Anisha Z

3 de abr. de 2020

Decent introduction. I recommend https://mode.com/sql-tutorial for a better introduction to SQL.

Assignments are very badly designed. Also the questions in the final assignment are unnecessarily repetitive!

por Sajiri V

14 de may. de 2021

The lectures were not easy to comprehend for a computer language. Though the course mentions it is a beginner-level course, the lecturer jumps to a certain part where there is a learning curve expected.

por Ligeng X

27 de sep. de 2018

A little too easy, not challenging at all, given this is a beginner level class, I'll give it two stars. You could finish the whole course on Saturday if you get up early plus Sunday if you do not.

por Fan Y

13 de sep. de 2021

Even reading the prompter throughout the course, the instructor has been extremely nervous and unsmooth in reading. This is the biggest downside of the course and eclipses its good sides.

por Athalia B

12 de feb. de 2022

Didn't feel it actually helped me learn because there wasn't any step-by-step instruction. It just was videos w/script and then quizzes and you were expected to know the content.

por Dan C D B

26 de feb. de 2022

The instructor is so hard to follow that it made me not want to continue with the entire specialization. Although I really like the challenges and the idea of peer-reviewing.

por Gayathri V

10 de dic. de 2021

Hi, First of all I don't like peer assignment concepts. second especially in joins videos if you have shown examples with output, little elaborate, will be more useful.

por Scotty O

30 de jun. de 2022

Below expectation for such a high profile university. Luckily my basic background in SQL was enough to get me through the activities because the lectures were poor.

por Deleted A

13 de may. de 2020

I wish that the instructor used examples that mirrored the type of questions in the coding exams. We did not cover all the material in the coding exam.

por Darren R

27 de sep. de 2019

The structure and guidance provided on the final assignment was very poor, resulting in far more time required to complete than expected.

por Riccardo B

27 de mar. de 2020

too much theory, I needed something more 'pratical' that allowed me to start using and write code and not see a lot of slide with code

por SARTHAK S

27 de oct. de 2020

1.Very basic course.

2. Assignments level does not match with training level.

3. Need to provide class which includes query writing.

por Carolina E

24 de jun. de 2019

The teacher was not readily available to answer questions. The course was alright but I do not feel prepared to use my skills yet.