Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Typography

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Typography por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.8
estrellas
4,254 calificaciones
868 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Principales reseñas

BG
3 de ago. de 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

SK
4 de jun. de 2020

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 844 revisiones para Introduction to Typography

por Patricia M C

15 de may. de 2017

Maravilloso a pesar no manejarme en el mismo idioma puede aprender bastante con algo más de tiempo y esfuerzo

por AnSo M

20 de ago. de 2016

Really good course! The assignments are very well designed and just make you to learn more about typography.

por Anna K

2 de may. de 2016

Very interesting and helpful, especially for me as a beginner. Great lecturer.

Thanks a lot for this course!

por Ana K

13 de jun. de 2020

I liked this course very much. I like typography and during this course, I learned more about the typeface.

por Aigoz A

21 de abr. de 2020

The substantial course on Typography. A lot of interesting detailed information and practical assignments.

por Monique P P

23 de may. de 2016

Interesting course! I learned a lot from this course and from my peers. Thank you so much for offering it.

por Saurabh G

14 de may. de 2016

I loved this course. Everything is explained really well and the assignments are pretty good too. 5 stars!

por Shibu P

16 de abr. de 2019

An informative course which makes you aware of a bundle of essential knowledge about typefaces and fonts.

por Prachiti D

16 de jul. de 2020

This course is well formed and easy to understand. Very helpful in expanding knowledge about typography.

por Ola A A

17 de may. de 2020

I really love the way the course being represented, it was fun and informative, I enjoyed it so much💕💕

por Amanda J V

17 de oct. de 2016

This was a fun introduction to typography. I really enjoyed the assignments and the informative lessons.

por Jorge R O T

17 de ago. de 2020

very complete i really enjoyed it and I'm looking forward to incorporate typography into my future work

por Keisuke F

19 de dic. de 2019

Very good course. I've learned about typography a lot.

I tried making some logs and customers like them.

por Tigran G

23 de oct. de 2017

I enter the world of typography, typeface, fonts, greeds, expressive posters and etc. It was realy cool

por Rumana

8 de oct. de 2017

Typography and grammar came together, win-win! Guess what my favourite subject is now? Its Typography.

por Tanjim T J

29 de nov. de 2016

It was a great experience.I have learnt many important and useful things.Thanks to coursera and CalArt

por Courtney A

4 de abr. de 2016

Very informative and a lot of fun to learn about! I also thought the assignments were very beneficial.

por Blanca J S

8 de ago. de 2016

Great course! A little basic for those who already know a little about design but I enjoyed it a lot.

por Amber M

23 de jun. de 2020

I really enjoyed this course, I gained a deeper understanding of typography and its place in design.

por Emilio R

18 de ago. de 2018

Very well explained lessons on Typography with assigments that improve your understanding. Thank you

por Sanjana B

8 de nov. de 2020

This course was really informative and interesting. I genuinely enjoyed completing the assignments.

por Nathalie A

21 de jul. de 2020

It was really helpful. Everything was clear and it really made it easier than how it is. Thank you!

por Jefferson O S

11 de may. de 2020

The concepts are well explained and the methodology encourages you to explore more than the basics.

por Dana R S

16 de oct. de 2017

Recommended for beginners and self-taught typographers. Good explanation on basics and foundations.

por Wei-Ru L

5 de sep. de 2016

Detailed knowledges of typography. It's also very practical for applying to any kind of design job.