Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Typography

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Typography por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.8
estrellas
4,666 calificaciones
992 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Principales reseñas

AS
12 de abr. de 2021

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

BG
3 de ago. de 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 965 revisiones para Introduction to Typography

por Ramesh I

12 de jun. de 2020

very informative and good basics. Must do this course and get a good historical grounding if you are keen on a career in design

por MD. T R

5 de jun. de 2020

This course will help you to know in-depth about typeface and its use. After completing assignments I felt I grew as a designer.

por Monique D

10 de ene. de 2017

Rich information about the main aspects of Typography for those who don't know where to start. It was a great experience for me.

por Dileep D

18 de feb. de 2020

Amazing experience and skills I learned, not only how to do typography but also I learned How to see the letters in the world.

por Lisa A C

9 de oct. de 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed this. I won't look at type the same way again. Thanks to all those involved in making this course happen (:

por Fred R

19 de feb. de 2017

I loved the course and learnt a lot. Spending one month working on the same font is a great way to learn to see it and use it.

por Tomelilla G

4 de mar. de 2020

A fantastic course to give you the basics of typographic theory as well as practical skills for creating great type and text.

por Salem F A

22 de sep. de 2019

This is helpful course to learn typography and different typefaces, and know what's the best typeface for your design to use.

por Benjamin H

5 de oct. de 2017

Very clear and create video lessons. Examples shown were inspiring and I learned so much that I didn't know about typography.

por Eugen M

20 de ago. de 2016

Perfect presentation.

Full of information, but, being excellent exposed, it's relatively easy to understand.

Excellent course!

por Wai Y M

21 de jul. de 2020

This is a good course for those who like to improve typographic skill and for the one who wants to dive into graphic design.

por Yuliya S

27 de oct. de 2019

It was interesting and informative for me. I like the presentation of the material - everything is clear and understandable.

por Daniela C V

8 de sep. de 2019

Really great course! It explores the basics of typography while challenging the learners to practice the acquired knowledge.

por Andrés C M

29 de abr. de 2018

One of the best decisions I've taken was to sign up for this course. If you are interested in graphic design, thi is a must!

por Miroshnikova I

30 de oct. de 2017

Thank you for this awesome course! I am starting to understand now how typefaces work and what each of them is designed for!

por Mahitab H A E

15 de nov. de 2020

It was a real great and helpful course to get an overveiw about typography and how to use theoritical points in your design

por Nirav N

24 de oct. de 2020

It was a great experience for me to take this course. Making an assignment was really a joy for me. I learnt something new.

por Vineeta K

12 de ene. de 2021

i learned so much about typography and was able to experiment and learn what more i could do by typographic understanding.

por christy p

23 de jun. de 2016

I really loved this course. I learned more than I ever expected and more than any school I paid double for could teach me!

por Claveau

1 de feb. de 2017

My best of the 4th courses on Conception Garphic (impossible to register to the last courses which is Brand New Brand...)

por Jordan L P

9 de ago. de 2020

It's absolutely lesson-filled and provides new yet intuitive techniques in using typefaces for design styles and themes.

por Claudia M L T C

19 de sep. de 2020

A good way to learn about typefaces, their parts and how important it is to considerate text even for paraghaphs. Nice!

por Mariana L S

15 de may. de 2020

Great complementation of the first course. You really learn new skill who help you to create better typographic designs

por SaSha D

2 de may. de 2019

Amazing! Super helpful! I learned history, terms, helped me with my college courses, and built onto my portfolio. LOVE!

por Tevah P

14 de abr. de 2018

The scaffolding of the assignments was really elegant and this class presented a lot of information in engaging videos.