Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Typography

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Typography por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.8
estrellas
4,254 calificaciones
868 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Principales reseñas

MB
25 de jul. de 2020

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

BG
3 de ago. de 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 843 revisiones para Introduction to Typography

por Henry H

29 de mar. de 2020

Excellent course. Covers a good breadth of typographic info and then sets the student up to learn the process of designing and composing with type.

por Gaetano S

2 de abr. de 2016

It was truly inspirational. Loved the theory associated with more practical assignments and, above all, the teacher was extremely clear and concise

por Mohamed Q

10 de jun. de 2020

Very good course, it is straight to the point, I made tasks with my hand, and I've discovered creative ideas because of this course' instructions.

por Jennifer H

22 de sep. de 2016

Great course on typography. It gives great historical background on various typefaces and explains a lot of the technical pieces to them as well.

por Aya E

7 de jul. de 2020

Not biggest fan of type and using it in graphic design, i however loved how this course pushed me into it, and made me see it in a different way

por Christopher G

5 de jul. de 2020

Really helped me! There is true quality content here! Even though I had done two semesters at Uni of Design I still learnt a lot of new things.

por Julie W

28 de mar. de 2020

Very interesting content (surprisingly so). Loved the brevity of the lectures (lots of info packed in small spaces) and meaningful assignments.

por Chryssel M B

26 de dic. de 2017

The course was really fun and knowledgeable. I am excited to apply what I have learned here and increase my chances of getting a full-time job!

por Gerdel P

10 de jun. de 2020

This course was very well designed to learn typography. The assignments were accurate to understand type and it was overall an amazing course.

por Juan C E

14 de nov. de 2016

This course works as a reminder and as an inspiring turning point for my career. Great job curating the contents and choosing the teachers.

por Angelica B

31 de oct. de 2016

I absolutely loved this course and I could see the impact it had on my design work. It has been the perfect basis to learn about Typography.

por Elina T

22 de nov. de 2016

Starting the course I wasn't that into typography. The seminar gave me an other more interesting and creative point of view on that field.

por Carissa F

31 de mar. de 2016

great introduction to key concepts of typography and typographic design. lectures were easy to follow, assignments had clear instructions.

por Utpal B

9 de feb. de 2017

This is a very helpful course with in depth coverage of typographic conventions, its impact and guide on creating marvellous type design.

por Rui A M d S

20 de may. de 2020

This was something I wanted to learn for a while. As an introduction, this part of the course worked really well and I'm very satisfied.

por Suneth

29 de abr. de 2020

This was a great course! Learned a lot about the development of typefaces and importance of them in a design and how to manipulate them.

por Pranjal S

22 de may. de 2016

This course is an essential if you want to be deft with Fonts and Typefaces.

Brilliantly explained! Thanks to the professor, loved it!!!!

por Elisabeth Z

4 de may. de 2016

Great course - lots of detailed information. The teacher spoke clearly and very deliberate. However, I just wanted to audit the course.

por Sakshi

15 de ago. de 2020

Excellent content, wonderfully presented. I had a great learning experience. Thank you so much to the instructor, CALARTS and Coursera!

por Felicia C

7 de jul. de 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! The assignments were manageable but still pushed you to be step out of the box and be more creative.

por Deleted A

18 de mar. de 2019

Brilliant! Cool projects and very well explained. I learnt a lot. Thanks and pls keep up the great work. This course is very valuable.

por Tawanna C

9 de ene. de 2017

Great course! It's a very introductory type course into typography. Very easy to understand and learn about typography. I enjoyed it.

por Martin L M

6 de sep. de 2020

This was such a great learning experience! I was always interested in Typography and this course was everything I expected and more!

por MUHAMMAD T Q A Q M

17 de ago. de 2020

It enabled me to not just see the words but actually feel them, thank you for this amazing course CALARTS. More Power to you people!

por Mushtaq A R

17 de oct. de 2017

I got to learn some useful techniques, terminology and creative ideas in this great course. It's very good especially for beginners.