Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Typography

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Typography por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.8
estrellas
4,760 calificaciones
1,012 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Principales reseñas

AS
12 de abr. de 2021

This was an excellent course. I learned a whole lot about typography. The videos and assignments were interesting and challenging. I'm happy I was able to complete this course and highly recommend it!

BG
3 de ago. de 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 998 revisiones para Introduction to Typography

por Nicole B

9 de abr. de 2021

I really enjoy learning more about typography and its history. The instructor was very good at explaining the origin of the facetype and its properties. Thank you.

por David A V D S

29 de abr. de 2018

In this course I took a new experience in relation to what I knew I have several years as a freelancer and only now I understand how to get to know the types. Great!

por Anusha M

2 de jul. de 2020

The course is very detailed and informative. Provides very good material on typography, history of typography and efficiently dissects the properties of typography.

por Leisa R

17 de feb. de 2017

This was my first introduction to Typography. I played around a little with calligraphy as a hobby. I learned so much from taking this class and by far my favorite.

por Tristan S

11 de ene. de 2018

A really informative course. The lectures tie in nicely with the assignments, which have given me a much greater understanding of how to use typography in my work.

por Aakanksha T

13 de abr. de 2016

As a self-taught designer, this course helped me learn a lot more about typography than good ol' hands-on experience has, to date. Great course. Thanks so much! :)

por Brianna P

6 de abr. de 2016

This class gave a great introduction to Typography! The instructor did a great job at bringing Typography to life. The content of the course was very approachable.

por Sonia G

26 de mar. de 2021

Very simple and very practical! It took less than I thought, but I learned a lot about the uses of typography. I will never see Gill Sans in the same way though.

por SHAFIA N

31 de jul. de 2020

Its amazing!

In this cours i read about typefaces and create logo.

I don't know! What is topography?

But when I read about it ,then I am understand topography .

por Zackary A K

5 de jul. de 2017

This was a very enjoyable introduction to Typography. The more I study typography, the more I am able to appreciate the high quality of this brief introduction.

por Raissa M d S

9 de mar. de 2021

The course is very well organized and explained, promoting a better learning experience. I really enjoyed it and I'm telling to my friends to inscribe on it (:

por Muhammad T

19 de feb. de 2021

The course was very informative. A graphic designer needs to learn the basics of typography and this course can improve your skills in the field of typography.

por Giovanny V

15 de sep. de 2019

clear, concise information delivered on every lecture... I really enjoyed the assignments they got me out of my comfort zone and challenged me to experiment...

por Kristen B

24 de may. de 2018

I absolutely loved this class! The teacher is so thorough and the assignments make implementing what I learned so much better. Everyone should take this class!

por Sanskruti M

18 de abr. de 2016

Great intro to typography. I enjoyed it and feel more confident in understanding basic typography and now know where I can find information on type! Thank You

por Stephen M H

8 de ago. de 2020

Anther Kiley provided a very concise, yet detailed, history of typography that kept my attention, hitting upon many of the big events in typographic history.

por Ginger H

23 de mar. de 2016

I have been working with Typography for the last 10 years and still learned a lot from this course. Very informative and will be useful in the years to come.

por Maria F

20 de jul. de 2020

An awesome introduction to working with typography. Learning the basic rules, history and putting it into practice has really helped my overall design look!

por Deleted A

29 de may. de 2019

Great Course I learned so many things! In fact I do not hink that I would be able to set up my design master Thesis if not for this course 💪🏻☝🏻 great job

por Saeed A

18 de dic. de 2020

This course is the best course in typography, it gives you a good insight about the typography starting from its history all the way to the best practices.

por Kushal S

11 de feb. de 2018

A must course for anyone who wants to start using fonts/typefaces wisely. The course content is very well curated - covering all the basics of typography.

por Zulhaj R

21 de sep. de 2020

The course give many insight about designing related to the typefaces; selecting different typefaces and its impact, modifying its properties, and so on.

por Malak M

18 de jun. de 2020

I loved this course and it will for sure help me with my further education and help me identify any sort of typefaces and their uses in different places.

por Saba A

10 de jul. de 2020

really loved this course. it made me realize how just mere curves or thinning the lines could make a whole lot of difference to the way your text looks.