Chevron Left
Volver a Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us por parte de Universidad de Pensilvania

4.8
estrellas
5,315 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

The vital signs – heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, respiration rate, and pain – communicate important information about the physiological status of the human body. In this six-part course we explore the anatomy and physiology underlying the vital signs so that you will develop a systematic, integrated understanding of how the body functions. Relevant body systems are reviewed including cardiovascular and respiratory, followed by explanations of how the function of these systems affects vital signs. We discuss normal ranges, normal variants, and the mechanisms that underlie changes in the objective measurement of vital signs. The course also includes demonstrations of appropriate techniques for measuring vital signs in yourself and others. The course is designed for a broad, general audience but will be particularly interesting for individuals working in healthcare, those considering a career as a healthcare professional, lay caregivers, those with an interest in personal health and fitness, or anyone who simply wants to understand how the body functions....

Principales reseñas

BR

29 de sep. de 2018

Yes, it is very useful to me and I will suggest to my friends to take this course. My sincere Thanks to Connie B. Scanga, PhD, she taken the all lecture clearly and her lecture was easy to understand.

AB

29 de jun. de 2017

I really enjoyed to the professor and the idea of learning the material with her students. It made me feel as if I was in the classroom learning with them. She broke down the material in a great way.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 1,373 revisiones para Vital Signs: Understanding What the Body Is Telling Us

por Lo K S

4 de jul. de 2020

its something new for me, its something I always want to know. knowing the basic makes me want to learn deeper so it may help us in the future or maybe even help medical practitioner.

it might help us to take care our health also or maybe help our loved one

there are so many things that i learn from the course, its even give me new perspective on my work field, am working in kitchen and nutrition and health are something that concern us when making food. what the food can cause in human body.

this is one good course. i am sure gonna take another course about vital sign

por Alexis R

25 de abr. de 2020

This was my first time taking a medical course, and I had no prior knowledge of how the body works (aside from the simple things they teach us in grade school). Dr. Scanga explained things clearly and thoroughly, and in the end I feel like I learned more from this course than I have from any other online course I have taken. The simple quizzes at the end of the videos helped me to make sure I understood things clearly before I moved forward, and the case studies in the end-of-week quizzes helped me apply what I learned to real-life experiences. Thank you Dr. Scanga!

por Huynh T

24 de may. de 2020

This is my first online course on Coursera and it was wonderful. I have never studied abroad before and this course is still very easy to learn for a non-native english speaker like me. The teacher was enjoyed her teaching and she spoke very clear and explained very well. The interaction with students in the videos is excellent to keep concentrating in the course. This is not relevant to my job or expertise but it brought me a lot of new interesting knowledge which is very useful to me to understand more about my body. Thank you so much for creating this course <3

por Shawna D

22 de sep. de 2020

This course builds an excellent foundation for understanding the vital signs and using them as a diagnostic tool. As an EMT, I found this course to answer many questions that arise during my patient assessments. I particularly enjoyed the pace of the course. I thought the ways in which the material was presented by Dr. Scanga made it suitable for beginners. She has the ability to explain complex concepts in simple and understandable ways. I took this course to help bridge the gap between my EMT cert and a potential Paramedic cert. Thank you!

por Cheryl C

14 de ene. de 2022

This course was challenging for a person with no science background, but so well explained and reinforced that I feel I l was able to understand all of the concepts and will remember most of the vocabulary. Reading materials were well organized and presentations were clear (though at times a bit awkward, which was fine. Made it feel a bit more accessible) I had a few technical issues, particularly in section 5, with video closing abruptly an difficulty returning to where it quit. Other than that everything worked well.

por Luis G

14 de oct. de 2020

Excellent course, I did this at the same time as Neurobiology of Everyday Life and I like how both of them complimented. Ms. Scanga is an excellent teacher and I liked the format of this course, it felt really refreshing feeling as part of a normal class and doing the lab. exercises and interviews. I'm an engineer and this has nothing to do with my working branch, but even then I think taking this course it is a great way to develop a sense of responsability and proprioception of your own body, to better know yourself.

por Todd M

16 de jul. de 2020

Very thorough and helpful course for understanding the significance of vital signs and how to interpret them. I believe the information provided in the course has helped me be a better patient as well as a better healthcare provider. I would recommend having some background knowledge in anatomy, physiology, and medical terminology to be prepared for the content of this course. I am a high school student studying to be a CNA and found this class to be appropriately challenging (not too difficult but still informative).

por Jana

28 de dic. de 2021

Dr. Connie B. Scanga is a great teacher. As I do not have a medical background, I was not sure if this course might be the right one for me but Dr. Scanga made me curious about all the chemical processes in the body, video by video. I loved especially how she explained the processes - easy, clear, summarizing all important points while making me understand that our body is our best friend who is supporting us every single moment in life. Thanks a lot for your encouragement & keep teaching Dr. Scanga!

por Esha D

28 de abr. de 2020

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO TAKE THIS COURSE TO ALL MEDICAL ASPIRANTS . IT WILL HELP YOU TO CLARIFY CONCEPTS RELATED TO ANATOMY AND PHYSIOLOGY AND I WAS MYSELF STUCK YO THE COURSE SO CURIOUSLY THAT I COULD COMPLETE IT WITHIN 3 DAYS . IM VERY GRATEFUL TO PROFESSOR DR. SCANGA . I MUST SAY YOU ARE ONE OF THE BEST TEACHERS , KIND AND CHEERFUL PERSON. THANKS TO COURSERA AND UNIVERSITY OF PENN FOR MAKING THIS PLATFORM ACCESSABLE TO EVERYONE. I WILL ALWAYS LOOK FORWARD TO TAKE VARIOUS COURSES OFFERED.

por Ramchandra R

17 de dic. de 2021

V​ery good informations that i have learnt from this course, ' Understanding what the body telling us" I am Liscensed Acupuncturist and Tao reader. Pain is associated not only with physical, but it is also influnced with psychological, emotional and as well as Social, that is great revolutionary research on pain. Now i understood how to monitor pain in the pain management clinic. This is great helpful for me.

D​r Scanga was a wonderful teacher that i ever met online course.

por Christina G

9 de may. de 2020

Excellent content for individuals who have zero-to-some life sciences background. The Professors in the course do a great job breaking down key concepts and typing information together so you learn just enough background to understand the vital sign of each week's topic. I highly recommend this course, especially with the self quarantine and likelihood that people will have to monitor their own symptoms etc. The basis for these vital signs is foundational life knowledge!

por MB H

23 de feb. de 2021

Dr. Scanga is one of the best teachers I have ever had. Her teaching style is phenomenal. She would ask questions, demonstrate concepts & show illustrations. I would read the course notes at the beginning of the week and think there was no way I would ever learn the material, but after going through the videos, I completely understood what had been taught! Very engaging course that left me wanting more. I would LOVE to take more courses taught by Dr. Scanga.

por Gabriela C D

20 de ene. de 2021

The course was very interesting to me, both in terms of the topics developed and the practical utility of the concepts learned.

I enjoyed the classes and appreciated the quizzes (in particular the case study questions, which were presented to me as entertaining challenges).

Dr. Scanga and the other teachers are clear in their explanations, in addition to using appropriate didactic material.

Really, the course kept me interested until the end. Thanks a lot!

por Michele W

13 de jul. de 2020

This course is an excellent instruction for the understanding of vital signs. While I understand this is a course for nursing students anyone can benefit from this course. I took this course because my medical professional tells me so little when I visit I needed a better understanding of the numbers and their procedures. The instructor did an excellent job balancing the science and the technical jargon with laymen real world explanations.

por sana f

18 de ago. de 2021

Amazing course, everything on-point:

The lecturer has a unique way of presenting information and is very articulate.

The simulation of an actual classroom is engaging and makes the lectures much more lively

All models and photos used throughout the lecture help deliver the ideas clearly

Summary readings and end-topic quizzes are great and helpful for wrapping up ideas discussed throughout the videos

Thank you for such an experience

por Ximena A

25 de oct. de 2021

It was an amazing course. Vital signs are indispensable for life, whether you are a student or a health care provider, knowing everything about vital signs is essential and helps us realize how incredible the human body is. I'm very proud of myself for having finished this course and I will always be grateful to the teachers, coursera and the University of Pennsylvania for having made this course possible. Thank you so much!

por Priya S

31 de may. de 2020

a superb course.I have gained so much knowledge about the human body and its functioning .The course is very informative in a way that makes it easy to comprehend even for laypersons like me.For this all credit to the brilliant and vibrant personality of dr scanga.She made even the most mundane topics interesting with her explanations,questions ,exclamations and a little dash of humour.thank you ,its been a great experience

por Kristen M R

8 de dic. de 2016

This course goes at an easy pace and takes the time to really explain the concepts. The outline provided follows the lecture perfectly and allows for easy note taking. The videos are broken into short segments that make it easy to stay focused and watch whenever I have a free moment. I love that I do not have to sit and watch a 1.5hr lecture. With my career, there is no way I would have the time. Excellent course!!

por GERARDO B D J G B

24 de jun. de 2021

Fue un curso completo y bien llevado por la Dra. Connie B. Scanga, y Drs y Dras invitados, la información obtenida me será muy útil en mi desarrollo profesional así como laboral en el área docente.

Lo que pediría es que pusieran mas imágenes demostrativas sobre los temas desarrollados.

Felicidades a los ponentes y organizadores de Coursera.

Atentamente

Lic. en Estomatología Gerardo Benjamín de Jesús García Botello

por J A L

29 de jul. de 2020

Simple enough for laymen to understand what healthcare pros do during initial checkups and why they do them. For healthcare pros, this is an easy refresher course on the basics. As a medical student, I sort of expected an in-depth look at how the vital signs relate to clinical events (e.g. acidosis, CHF, etc), but the "beginner" tag should have prepared me otherwise hehe. In any case, a well-taught course.

por Rxven

10 de ene. de 2021

Incredible teacher, as I began learning it was a little tedioua at times due to so many scientific terms, but as I kept learning it became super intriguing, and Dr. Scanga really knows how to explain the information for you to properly comprehend. I started the course thinking it was tedious, and I ended the course loving it completely. Thank you for your time and information, truly appreciate it!

por Devesh D

22 de nov. de 2021

A very well taught course with just the right mix of background history, theory, mechanism of action and practical implications. Focusing on the content and the application of the content in practical settings makes this course memorable and valuable. The instructor is very knowledgable and has done an outstanding job in communicating and explaining the content in an easy to understand manner.

por fadi A

5 de may. de 2021

The course was amazing. Thanks to our wonderful Dr. Scanga who is very passionate and patient, her delivery and lecturing style is amazing and to be honest, I would love to take any other course taught by this wonderful Dr. And special thanks to those students and other members who participated along in the Vidoes. It is indeed the best course I have ever had

Thanks. Fady Aldakkan

Warm regards

por Jesús E V

5 de ene. de 2021

Me agrado mucho este curso, puesto que aprendí a diferenciar mucho en el aspecto de los signos vitales verlo de lado para enfermería, la semana que mas me gusto fue la de manejo del dolor, ahora entiendo el por que de la escala, gracias a Dra que nos dio la oportunidad de darnos este curso tengo todos y se que lo podre leer con calma en caso de que se me olvide y compartirlo a mis compañeros.