Chevron Left
Volver a Algorithms for Searching, Sorting, and Indexing

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Algorithms for Searching, Sorting, and Indexing por parte de Universidad de Colorado en Boulder

4.7
estrellas
54 calificaciones
17 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course covers basics of algorithm design and analysis, as well as algorithms for sorting arrays, data structures such as priority queues, hash functions, and applications such as Bloom filters. Algorithms for Searching, Sorting, and Indexing can be taken for academic credit as part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Data Science (MS-DS) degree offered on the Coursera platform. The MS-DS is an interdisciplinary degree that brings together faculty from CU Boulder’s departments of Applied Mathematics, Computer Science, Information Science, and others. With performance-based admissions and no application process, the MS-DS is ideal for individuals with a broad range of undergraduate education and/or professional experience in computer science, information science, mathematics, and statistics. Learn more about the MS-DS program at https://www.coursera.org/degrees/master-of-science-data-science-boulder....

Principales reseñas

ST
10 de ago. de 2021

this is the best course on data structures that i have found! Pr. Sriram Sankaranarayanan thank you! if i was a multi-billionaire i would definitely donate a check to you for this wonderful course :)

SK
2 de oct. de 2021

Well laid out course which is both concise and has elaborate assignments which help in learning the concepts well. Many thanks to the professor for his effort.

Filtrar por:

1 - 18 de 18 revisiones para Algorithms for Searching, Sorting, and Indexing

por Daniel D

27 de may. de 2021

Professor Sriram's lectures at first seemed repetitive, but he does a good job of introducing and reinforcing the subject material and he presents worked examples that illustrate an algorithm or data structure very well. Overall, I thought his lectures were very good. The quizzes provide quick feedback on how well you learned what was just taught, although the formula entry questions could do with a little rework (it's not at all clear how to enter formulae). The programming assignments also helped to become familiar with and understand the material presented that week, without requiring sleepless nights to complete them. So why the 1 star rating? ProctorU. ProctorU is awful. It does not work as promised and does not add value. Their intro video implies that all you have to do in order to be ready to take your exam is download the browser plugin and prepare your exam area. Buried deeper, and easy to miss, is the need to allow screen recording. Buried deeper, and easy to miss, is the fact that you need to download LogMeIn. ProctorU says that LogMeIn allows you to connect with your proctor. In truth, LogMeIn allows someone you have never met and cannot see to have total control over your computer. This is appalling. The LogMeIn issue alone would be bad enough, but proctorU failed to work several times during my exam and required long interrupts while the proctorU technicians tried to fix things. They have a cut and paste blame-the-user message that your CPU or connection is inadequate. On my laptop, with my connection, I routinely have two-way full video Zoom calls while simultaneously running Slack, PyCharm, Android Studio and three web browsers with multiple tabs open in each. Yet proctorU says that running one browser with two tabs and LogMeIn and nothing else is more than my laptop can handle. During the interrupts while they try different things to fix their problems, the exam taker does NOT get back any of the time wasted due to proctorU's incompetence. As part of proctorU trying to fix things, they would take over my laptop via LogMeIn and try to reinstall the browser plugin; they would accept the ToS on my behalf without asking me. I think this is unethical. Finally, when I had limped to the end of the exam the "Submit" button was not enabled. I contacted the proctor. She told me to reload the page. The "Submit" button was then enabled, but reloading also wiped out half of my answers and I had to re-enter them. The web is rife with proctorU horror stories. Search on "proctorU, ucsb" and see how proctorU responds to criticism: Not by trying to refute it, but rather by trying to intimidate the critics with threats of litigation and prosecution. I really wanted to pursue the MSDS with CU Boulder, but I don't plan to do so given that they use proctorU. This was a very expensive lesson for me. I will also leave a similar review for 5502 (Trees and Graphs) where my proctorU experience was even worse.

por zachary k

22 de jun. de 2021

Great course. Concise towards the applications and not too theory heavy.

por Bhargav R

23 de jul. de 2021

Course content is very good. Prof Sankaranarayanan has done a great job explaining the concepts. And further to it, the programming assignments were great, which increases the grasp of the concepts learnt from videos. I enjoyed a lot doing the assignments. Giving 4 stars rather than 5 as, some of the references mentioned was not provided. Overall a great course indeed.

por Shuvam D

4 de sep. de 2021

Difficult for an UG student

por J P

27 de oct. de 2021

S​hort but excellent course that covers a few key algorithms and data structures. The videos are great and the professor adds helpful insights and comments throughout. The workload generally took longer than the estimates (Coursera told me that people usually finished weekly assignments in like 3 hours??), and in particular the recommended reading takes longer than the estimates, but it was still very reasonable for me and I just mention this so people know what the expect. In particular, though the readings can be long, they are useful for the additional perspective in some cases. I was uncertain whether I would enjoy the week on hashing, and unexpectedly loved it. It was extremely interesting and a great deep dive into the many applications and ways of hashing. The assignments and quizzes were relevant and good tests of knowledge, but I would have liked longer assignments implementing more of the material (I ended up just doing this on my own, but guidance/purpose would have been nice. E.g., for the last week, the assignment covered Bloom filters and Count-min sketch, but I would have also liked to test the string matching, cuckoo hashing, and perfect hashing.) Regardless, the course definitely prepares one to do these outside of the course and balances details with analysis of complexity to make it overall a fantastic course.

por Neelam B

23 de jun. de 2021

I really enjoyed the pace and the lectures were very engaging. I also really enjoyed the assignments. I was nervous at first about not being able to communicate with my professor but with time, I was able to figure out everything by myself and using the internet whenever I was unsure of something. I am looking forward to the next course.

por Thammarak M

5 de ago. de 2021

Prof. Sriram's lectures give a clear explanation of an otherwise difficult subject. The content is very up to date. The programming exercises are well designed to help deepening the understanding of the subject. Thank you much for the course.

por Spyros T

11 de ago. de 2021

this is the best course on data structures that i have found! Pr. Sriram Sankaranarayanan thank you! if i was a multi-billionaire i would definitely donate a check to you for this wonderful course :)

por Sulabh K

3 de oct. de 2021

Well laid out course which is both concise and has elaborate assignments which help in learning the concepts well. Many thanks to the professor for his effort.

por William W

16 de oct. de 2021

Instructor was great. Exercises in Jupyter were awesome.

Only negative is many videos referenced another course, but that isn't a big deal.

por SeungGeon K

29 de ago. de 2021

Could gain valuable insights for my future computer science projects.

por Dave M

23 de jul. de 2021

Love Prof Sriram's teaching style, very clear and approachable.

por Pramodh G

11 de ago. de 2021

The lectures were very informative and I learned a lot

por Alexey Z

23 de nov. de 2021

That was great! Thank you.

por Hidetake T

19 de may. de 2021

In-depth course.

por Martin

3 de jun. de 2021

Well made!

por Sahana H C 4

29 de ago. de 2021

good

por MUHAMMAD U R

16 de nov. de 2021

Not well explained. These things are already written in the book and well manerred, Then why do we have to take the video lecture as well?