Chevron Left
Volver a Stanford's Short Course on Breastfeeding

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Stanford's Short Course on Breastfeeding por parte de Universidad de Stanford

4.7
estrellas
787 calificaciones
222 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Stanford's Short Course on Breastfeeding was designed for new mothers and the people who support them. This engaging, one-week learning experience, provides participants with everything they need to know to more successfully establish breastfeeding – or support a new mother who has decided to breastfeed. We created the course because we recognize that there is a very small window in which successful, exclusive breastfeeding can be established, and that many new mothers are mastering this skill during a busy and sometimes stressful time. Brought to life by beautiful illustrations and interviews with international mothers, we hope to reach the broadest spectrum of mothers, helping them understand the current recommendations, challenges, benefits and practical considerations around breastfeeding - while simultaneously inspiring them to consider breastfeeding as the first choice for feeding their babies. And now for the legal stuff... Disclaimer of Warranty and Limitation of Liability THE INFORMATION IN THIS COURSE IS PROVIDED "AS IS" WITHOUT ANY REPRESENTATION, OR WARRANTIES, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED. DIGITAL MEDIC AND STANFORD MEDICINE ARE NOT LIABLE FOR ANY TYPE OF LOSS OR INJURY, OR ANY DAMAGES WHETHER DIRECT OR INDIRECT, ARISING FROM USE OF THIS COURSE. This course is not a substitute for the advice, diagnosis or treatment by an appropriately qualified and licensed physician or other health care provider. Copyright 2018 Stanford University. The course videos must be used according to the term of our Creative Commons License available at https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/4.0/: free distribution with attribution, no commercial use, no derivatives....

Principales revisiones

LL

Mar 20, 2018

This course is very helpful to me to prepare for my baby's arrival. I have learned a lot from the benefits of breastfeeding and will absolutely choose this practice in raising my own child.

DM

Mar 20, 2018

It was very helpful, the reasons why breastfeeding is better for our babies were very clear. It definitely encourage me to give breastfeeding. Thank you so much for this course

Filtrar por:

201 - 221 de 221 revisiones para Stanford's Short Course on Breastfeeding

por Achraf J

Apr 11, 2018

.

por YELSI P

Apr 18, 2020

It's a course that promotes breastfeeding and try to educate about the benefits of this practice. But the course name suggests that it will have a lot more information about the breasfeeding practice itself, such as best positions, techniques, advices, troobleshooting. So, it could be a little disappointed for mothers or moms-to-be.

por Daniela S

May 23, 2020

Could go more in depth with help on latching, cracked nipples. They abide by 6 months but should put out there that if a mother really has to go back to work and pumping causes a decrease in milk production that by 4 months IF the baby has lost de extrusion reflex and can sit upright they can start introducing food.

por Ana m j m

Mar 02, 2020

Even thought it provides good information, it's very basic and it's a more global perception of breastfeeding more that myths, techniques and challengues of the practice of breastfeeding, that is basically the reasons why this practice fail sometimes.

por Nina L

Jun 12, 2018

I didn't learn something new during this course. I think for people who have no experience at all with breastfeeding, or with the benefits of breastfeeding it is a good course. But if you already did breastfeeding before I don't think it adds a lot.

por Shannan C S

May 06, 2020

This course provided an interesting background on the benefits of breast feeding from a global perspective. It could be improved by including more practical tips on establishing a good latch, storing milk, etc.

por Rebecca F

Feb 18, 2020

great basis of information however i was hoping for a more in-depth look at the chemistry and biological functions of breastfeeding, as well as how to assist in proper latching etc as a birth professional

por Courtney K

Mar 24, 2018

Provided only basic information, but it was still helpful to get thinking about the topic. I was hoping to learn about techniques as I don't have a person to mentor me throughout the infant period.

por Mary C

May 16, 2018

This course will not help you know how to breastfeed, but will give you insight on why you should (and exclusively) and general safety guidelines if you need to use formula.

por Daniel O R

Apr 22, 2020

No se explico las posiciones ideales para una buena lactancia materna, tampoco se hablo del tiempo que puede permaneces optima la leche extraida antes que se malogre.

por Claudia R D l P

Apr 14, 2020

Es cierto que es un curso básico sobre lactancia materna, pero me hubiera gustado recibir actualizaciones sobre el tema.

por Jennifer B

Nov 07, 2019

I felt like the course had good information but I felt discriminated against as a white American woman.

por Maria B D D

May 03, 2020

I thought this course would provide more insights into the techniques behind breastfeeding.

por Constance R

Jan 24, 2020

I thought this would be a more of a how to course

por Ekin E

Sep 03, 2019

The course is about 20% information, 15% repetition of information, and 65% breastfeeding propaganda. I personally agree that breastfeeding is preferable to formula feeding in an overwhelming majority of cases, but I do not see why presenting the scientific data in a concise, easy to understand manner was considered insufficient, and the authors felt the necessity to fluff up the content by opinions of apparently random people of different ethnicities from around the world. "People like us", I presume. So, should we be making such decisions based on opinions of others? And if you show people the opinions of only pro-breastfeeding mothers, that should be helpful in tipping the balance of opinions they receive and make them supporters of breastfeeding because... we assume that they cannot think for themselves based on facts alone, and need ready-made opinions to be bottle-fed to them, too? Is the case for breastfeeding so weak that it cannot be supported on facts alone?

Parts of the advice was well supported by reasons, but the rest was just offered as the best practice without any evidence as to why. Why is it best to keep breastfeeding until the child is 2 or older? Because this provides passive immunity for the child. OK. Perhaps we should keep it up till the child is 5? 7? 12? Maybe there is a critical cut-off point, considering the development of the child's immune system, around age 2, but we do not need to know. Opinions are all we need. It is stated that breastfeeding is the best option for an HIV positive mother to feed her child. Period. No alternative views are possible. It may well be the case. But I am not convinced. Please tell me why. Or maybe just have a random woman tell me that it is the best thing to do without indicating why, and I will become a believer.

The quizzes provide good examples but why was it necessary to give names to mothers in those scenarios? Is it a psychological aid? Would people not be able to empathize without it? Will the people in rural villages in Brazil, who may or may not have access to clean drinking water, but somehow have access to the internet, enroll in this MOOC, but might feel a bit alien so we help them out by making the protagonist of the case "Maria Eduarda, a 21-year-old woman living in a rural village in northern Brazil"?

The cause is good, the intention is good, but the course is not. I believe people are smarter than this. Yes, people outside of medical profession, too. Yes, people outside of first-world countries, too. So no need to patronise so much. Cheers.

por Gladkova D

Feb 03, 2020

The main mind of this cours was "Breast-feeding is right choise for every mom''. I'd got usefull information about the beginning of breast-feed. But for me also interesting would be know how to care about breast in this time, how to choose spesial bra maybe, and if you'll want to stop your brestfeed - how to do this more comfortable for baby.

por Edna G

Jan 21, 2019

There is nothing about the technique to breast feed and recommended times.

por Elizabeth

Dec 11, 2019

There is 0 practical information about breastfeeding. I've never breastfed a child and I got a 100% on the final test without watching any videos, simply based on knowing what the "right" answers are. At the end of the course you get a survey from Stanford that is designed to assess your attitudes about breastfeeding. This course appears to simply be a front for this study on attitudes, and has zero actual, informative information about how to breastfeed.

por Liudmyla M

Mar 09, 2020

The course title is misleading and therefore the course was absolutely useless for me. From the title and description I expected introduction on how to start breastfeeding, the actual content was "breastfeeding is extremely good for the baby". Even more it was really disappointing because the course strongly insists on "starting the brestfeeding properly helps to make it less painfull" but there is not a single advice on how to start it properly.

por Mayya M

Feb 09, 2020

Its a complete waste of time. It is not a couse - it is a long social ad that you need to breastfeed. It do not cover anything practical - techniques, schedule, tips, how to introduce real food. None.

It can be summed up in one question - Human milk is safer, healthier, cheaper and basically the best way to feed your baby. Happy that I havent paid for that.

por Isis c c a

Apr 18, 2020

.