Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to the Biology of Cancer por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrellas
4,728 calificaciones
983 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Principales reseñas

AH

Mar 18, 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK

Aug 01, 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

Filtrar por:

876 - 900 de 970 revisiones para Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

por Humera S

Jun 23, 2019

It was very interesting. but the recent critiques of cancer Hallmarks and theories related to cancer heterogeneity should be included

por Ummi C

Aug 17, 2016

The class was clear and concise. I was hoping to get more challenge and in depth explanation but it is indeed an introductory class.

por Aditya A D

Apr 02, 2020

Tougher assignments and a final exam consisting of dummy experimental data to test the knowledge of the students would be welcome!

por Deleted A

Jul 09, 2017

Its a good course that outlines the basics of cancer biology. Highly recommended for anyone interested in understanding cancer.

por Syed S A

Aug 23, 2020

Should have two separate modules. from Week 5.

One for MBBS students and technologists. One for Higher Academicians

por Kazi T

Feb 02, 2019

Some content could be a little more informative and rigorous. "Intro" essentially meant seeing the surface only.

por Michael L

Jul 27, 2017

It's a great introduction course for cancers. Both contents and quiz are bit too easy and lack of challenges.

por 梁金大一

Sep 03, 2016

I mean, I am really fond of Biology and the Biotechnology, I think I will really appreciate this opportunity.

por Gopal B

May 31, 2020

The course was very helpful and I gained a good source of knowledge from the best teachers around the globe.

por Renata Z D

May 02, 2017

El curso es muy educativo sin embargo me hubiera parecido importante profundizar un poco más en cada tema.

por Neal B

Aug 02, 2020

This course helped me expand my knowledge and understanding of cancer. The course is good for beginners

por Wan W

Sep 06, 2018

may not just simply read the powerpoint. I wish more details and emerging researches to be taught.

por Simone E G

Aug 08, 2016

I really enjoyed the course. Very professional training, with lots of insight in cancer therapy.

por Yaksh P

Jul 29, 2017

Very helpful course it was. Looking forward to such courses in the future. Thank you very much.

por Mark

Feb 06, 2017

Extremely informative, but loses 1 star for reserving tests ONLY for members with subscriptions

por Paula F

Feb 23, 2020

Very good intro to the subject. I liked the format of the questions from the imaging module.

por Preksha J

Jul 28, 2019

great course enjoyed thoroughly the entire video series will continue to do different courses

por Remi A

Jan 12, 2020

Wish te videos were more engaging. Nonetheless, a very interesting and informative course!

por Louis D

Feb 01, 2018

Well organised, appropriate content; simplified yet relevant in scope and quality.

por Khalid M E

Oct 01, 2016

this course very useful to my that i gained a lot of information from this course.

por Krupal J

Oct 15, 2017

It is very nice course to understand different aspects and causes of cancer.

por Rahul M

Apr 18, 2016

Could have more indepth examinations. Reference material would be useful.

por ALIESHA G

Sep 03, 2020

Debe actualizarse en cuanto a los tratamiento sobre todo inmunoterapia

por abdelazeem a e

Aug 16, 2016

very good course and explains deeply yet clearly the biology of cancer

por Teresita E B

Feb 23, 2017

Loved the way they explained everything. But the tests are very easy.