Chevron Left
Volver a The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Truth About Cats and Dogs por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.8
estrellas
2,070 calificaciones
585 reseña

Acerca del Curso

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Principales reseñas

HR

26 de mar. de 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

JJ

1 de may. de 2020

I have had a variety of animal companions throughout my life, but this course has taught me that I could always benefit by staying up-to-date on the latest information related to animal welfare.

Filtrar por:

526 - 550 de 585 revisiones para The Truth About Cats and Dogs

por Johana S

18 de jul. de 2020

This class is decidedly a public service announcement for people acquiring their first pet. This course could be the introduction , the first class in a Specialization compromised of the uni's offerings on animal welfare.

por Timothy S

10 de jul. de 2017

This course has a lot of information about cats and dogs. I learned a lot of different things in this course I didn't know about cats. I learned all about the three different 'areas' a cat has around the yard, why cats like

por C. W B

28 de jul. de 2021

Interesting. Helped me learn about ways to care for my old dog to better improve his mental wellbeing and how to recognize behavior and body language in my new cat as well as arrange his physical needs to better help him.

por Natalia V

10 de oct. de 2017

I found it helpful, entertaining and easy to understand.

I would have loved to have found more information about cats (interaction, adaptation, health problems...) since information about dogs is much more widely spread.

por Marilyn I

10 de jun. de 2020

Good information but a bit repetitive, would have liked more information on changing unwanted behaviour such as barking, pulling on the lead, scrounging at the table especially for the older rescue dog

por tessg

29 de abr. de 2020

The questions that were just selecting breeds was the only negative part. They did not discuss those breeds in the videos. Otherwise, I enjoyed the class. I would give 4.5 stars if I could.

por Rebecca A

11 de jun. de 2020

I learnt a lot about cats and dogs. Some of it is repetitive but that means you are more likely to finish the course with knowing the information well. Very enjoyable and recommend.

por Callie S

14 de nov. de 2021

It was in insightful course. I learned several new things from the course. My only complaint would be that I wish it was a little more interactive. Good course. I am glad I did it.

por Nancy S G

25 de oct. de 2021

This was an informative and enjoyable course. I really was only interested in the dog part, as I am allergic to cats! I look forward to using my new knowledge when I get a puppy.

por Varsha S

31 de may. de 2020

The course is very interesting and informative. It tells about all the different aspects about behavior of cats and dogs including the history and myths behind it.

por laura l

26 de sep. de 2019

Much of the information in this course is specific to either dogs or to cats. Since my interest is only in dogs, I would have liked to be able to skip the other.

por Luli

14 de dic. de 2019

This course is good. now I know about the cats and dogs better. I know how I can take care of my Pets and what is the best things I can do for them.

por Eileen

16 de dic. de 2020

I enjoyed the course a great deal but there was a limited amount of information I hadn't already known from my years of personal study.

por Igor K

13 de abr. de 2020

Nice course, which would be useful for people of all ages - especially younger ones who need to learn responsibilities of owning a pet.

por Patrik W

26 de oct. de 2020

Extremely solid course. Contains vital information and clears up a great many common misconceptions, would definitly recommend.

por Dmytro O

6 de ene. de 2020

Some links to additional materials are broken. Anyway, this is good course. Hope it will help me to keep my pet happy.

por Arifa K A Q

14 de abr. de 2020

Good course. Leaned a lot about cat and dog behavior and how to deal with them in the way that makes they feel easy.

por Rene A P R

1 de sep. de 2019

good design of the course. Former professionals and technicians involved good!!

sound of videos can be improve

por Ruba K

29 de ene. de 2020

I have learned a lot from this course. I hope to see more of MOOC with some specialisations for cats.

por Seyeon L

13 de abr. de 2020

It was informative more than I expected. I'm happy there's a course that I can learn about cats.

por Christian C

1 de oct. de 2017

Very good basic overview of the best ways to socialize and best raise your cat or dog!

por Mary L B

16 de abr. de 2018

This was a fun course, and my little dog and 2 cats hope that I learned something.

por Diana B

8 de may. de 2020

This was kind of fun to learn more about cats and dogs and the gestures they do!

por Lindsay S

27 de may. de 2021

Very good information about both animals and important ownership reminders

por Vyachaslav G

3 de sep. de 2017

Nice. But I still think that there is a lot of extra info in this course