Chevron Left
Volver a Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students por parte de Universidad de Pittsburgh

4.7
350 calificaciones
108 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Understanding the clinical terms and abbreviations commonly used during verbal or written communication in U.S. hospitals is challenging. This course is designed for U.S. health care profession students and for international students and practitioners who want to become more familiar with the language of the U.S. clinical setting. Others, such as caregivers and medical interpreters, who wish to develop a better understanding of terms and abbreviations used by health care providers will find this course helpful. The course provides visual and auditory learning experiences to enhance the understanding of terms and abbreviations commonly encountered on a general U.S. hospital unit. All content including quizzes are available at no cost to the learner. If you need a certificate, you can apply for financial aid or pay the fee. To find out more, click Learn more and apply next to the information about Financial Aid. (Use a computer, not a mobile device, for this step.)...

Principales revisiones

FB

Jan 02, 2018

This course was really helpful. I took notes and will review them often to keep abreast with the medical terms. These will also help me communicate clinically with my PCP. I truly enjoyed this course!

ER

Apr 16, 2019

The instructor's calm and clear explanations make this a joy to watch.\n\nThis course is very useful for me as a medical product translator to get an understanding of the actual clinical environment.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 111 revisiones para Clinical Terminology for International and U.S. Students

por Amruta V V

Dec 13, 2018

Its really useful. I have learn many new abbreviations that I was not aware of. It's nice to have this course done.

por Omnia M

Oct 23, 2018

Great

por Gita E

Jun 16, 2019

While interning at UPMC Susquehanna Muncy for the summer, this course really helped me understand what was happening in the ER at any given moment. Even though not all of the terms were used, it was helpful to know when they'd be used and under what context.

I'm not a student at University of Pittsburgh, but I definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to get more acquainted with medical terminology. The course is still worth the effort because even though I didn't buy a certificate, I feel more confident working in the ER than before. Plus, I was able to finish the course in 3.5 weeks, not 6.

The course is very manageable and definitely a great place for beginners to start.

por Anh D T

Jun 11, 2019

Very usefull

por Giuseppe C

Jun 08, 2019

It is a very useful tool for learners who would approach working as a health care provider in the USA.

por Carla D C M C

May 23, 2019

Although this course was more aimed at nursing and medical students, and not so much at linguists, it's still a valuable resource for both. I like that I can study at my own pace in the comfort of my home. The course was very well organized, with a small hiccup where certain practice quiz content had not been covered yet but was covered in the following chapter. Good resource materials provided. Engaging videos.

por saad h o a o

Apr 28, 2019

its agreatcourse for people who are intreast

por Yasmin S

Apr 21, 2019

This was a wonderful course which I will recommend to others. As a non-health care professional already familiar with some medical terminology, I learnt many new terms and clinical scenarios, while reinforcing and expanding on what I already knew. I also appreciated the resources that came with the course and I will be utilizing them in the future. Thanks to Coursera and their partners for this excellent course!

por Maria A b

Apr 18, 2019

This course is very well organized in six weeks, the information learnt over these weeks was completely useful and rewarding for the student to acquire. The videos and activities were helpful to picture all the ideas and contents studied during the course. I'm very glad to have participated in this course. Thank you very much.

por Renelus P

Apr 17, 2019

My name is Renelus I want to say you thank you for the classes. I am very satisfy honestly I learned so lots it was wonderful even sometimes hard but at the end I got success, I am proud of me . Might God bless you and Thank you again.

por Edward R

Apr 16, 2019

The instructor's calm and clear explanations make this a joy to watch.

This course is very useful for me as a medical product translator to get an understanding of the actual clinical environment.

por Dalia A L A

Apr 16, 2019

Great

por Kevin M S

Apr 11, 2019

Very good basic course for those who have no medical experience or background.

por 刘师学

Apr 11, 2019

this course is so useful~ as an international student who is participating in observeship in the us, the class give me a whole picture of the system of hospital. thank you very much for giving us this fabulous class~

por Charliemagne B

Apr 05, 2019

This course is highly recommended not only for the beginner-medical students but also for the people who are non-medical student like me who has a husband currently on chemo therapy every other week for 6 months (ends on May 2019). I am now more familiar and knowledgeable enough with the clinical terms, mobile equipment, laboratory tests, diseases, understanding the abbreviations and route of administration and with the aid of Clinical Terminology Dictionary for Beginning

International and U.S. Health Care Providers and the Nursing Simulation Scenario Library,

that made me easy to comprehend with the course. Thank you Valerie Swigart, PhD, RN, CRNP and her team and thanks to University of Pittsburg!

por Mita M

Mar 25, 2019

Tough course, I need a lot more reading and reviewing. But the course was covered for beginners very well.

por Stephanie

Mar 23, 2019

Thorough and comprehensive

por Jesús A

Mar 17, 2019

I learned many new things, that is vital for me. thanks for the course. I will recommend it

por nadia a

Mar 10, 2019

Cours intéressant. L'approche est très pédagogique.

por Asma T

Mar 02, 2019

Amazing course! Everyone who's considering to be a health provider should take this course.

por Nguyen V H P

Feb 27, 2019

It is really good course

por Jan B

Feb 26, 2019

The course was very well organized, informative, great reference material, user friendly and it is giving me a good foundation to start my new path in life!! Thank you so much!!!

por Moonyoung S

Feb 21, 2019

It was very helpful. I will visit here for help with my work for translation in the medical field whenever i need help.

por Jennifer L

Feb 18, 2019

The course was informative and helpful. Along with other factors, this course has made me more interested in pursuing a degree in nursing. However, this course could have been more challenging with its quizzes. Even then, the last week of the course challenged me to think outside of the parameters of the course. This course lacked many medical terms and abbreviations, but as an introduction course, it was very informative. I leave the class knowing more medical terminology than I knew before entering the class and feel more prepared to enter a medical career.

por Priyanka R

Feb 07, 2019

A very detailed course - delivered in a simple effective way!!