Chevron Left
Volver a Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines por parte de Universidad de Princeton

4.7
estrellas
328 calificaciones
76 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course introduces the broader discipline of computer science to people having basic familiarity with Java programming. It covers the second half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the first half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose, to be released in the fall of 2018). Our intent is to demystify computation and to build awareness about the substantial intellectual underpinnings and rich history of the field of computer science. First, we introduce classic algorithms along with scientific techniques for evaluating performance, in the context of modern applications. Next, we introduce classic theoretical models that allow us to address fundamental questions about computation, such as computability, universality, and intractability. We conclude with machine architecture (including machine-language programming and its relationship to coding in Java) and logic design (including a full CPU design built from the ground up). The course emphasizes the relationships between applications programming, the theory of computation, real computers, and the field's history and evolution, including the nature of the contributions of Boole, Shannon, Turing, von Neumann, and others. All the features of this course are available for free. No certificate will be offered upon completion....

Principales reseñas

DC
10 de jun. de 2020

I feel the course does a great job in laying out an introduction to "Computer Science", familiarising and motivating the topics, to be covered deeply in the sophomore-junior year.

MA
8 de nov. de 2019

I loved this course. If you want to know in depth how your computer works and what you can compute in general, this course is for you. Thank you very much for this amazing course.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 75 revisiones para Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines

por William X

15 de abr. de 2020

Very good lesson!

por Petar M

8 de mar. de 2020

The course is great and it really drills down to the basic of computers and how they're made and function. I miss the level of intensity if the previous course in the series "Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose", where completing each lesson was result of additional reading and hours of exercises, so the reward there was greater as well as the stickiness effect of the skills learned. The harder to gain the knowledge, the higher the chances it stays there for good.

Overall the course is great and Robert Sedgewick is a legend with great touch and delivery. To sum up - just make this course harder to pass with more hands on exercises and circuits to build :) and maybe add some certificate as this gives much more satisfaction and purpose to the students. I think Princeton should change their policy for this even if the certificates are marked as "figurative" just have this badge for people to carry on with them as a sense of achievement down the road.

Thank you, it was a great journey for me.

por Glen F

24 de oct. de 2019

Really enjoyed this course despite that several chapters are under going major re-write. You need to do/try some of the problems in the online book, or try to replicate what Drs Sedgwick and Wayne do during the videos. Theoretical CS is really interesting and I can see how people get passionate by it. Thanks Gents, great course

por hi

23 de dic. de 2018

i think the toy is a litter complex, algorithm is much more fun.

por Durgesh S

21 de abr. de 2020

Great course for beginners

por Andrey V

1 de mar. de 2019

Great Course!

por Martins R

23 de oct. de 2019

Good course.

por Сергей Я

19 de jul. de 2020

A solid introduction to Computer Science. Even though the course is short, it manages to provide a lot of useful information in a succinct way. The lecturer is a great speaker and he's always a pleasure to listen. It's obvious, that these lectures were created with care and consideration by knowledgeable people. I definately will recommend it.

por Julio A R R

4 de ago. de 2020

The last two weeks were hard! A lot of content for just two sections of the course. Anyway, I think it's good for an introductory course, but it contrasts in difficulty level with the rest of the course (for me) and it might be a little too difficult for students without a digital electronics background. Thanks for this amazing free course!

por Ajayi O

7 de jun. de 2021

I am impressed to say the least. My aim of embarking on programming became more actualized in this course. This course has given me a better understanding of computer architecture as well as a sound grip of computational theories. A short but very rich course. Thank you professor. "Things can get really complicated in real world"

por Tim M

1 de jun. de 2021

Beware the course goes really deep. It will only take quoted 20 hours if you merely watch the videos, skim through the textbook amd guess your way through the grading tests. Otherwise you are looking at much bigger effort. Course materials are great if you need a solid platform to dive into Computer Science from.

por Mark G

2 de ago. de 2021

The course requires diligent study of the materials presented and some additional research and reading on the web. The week that takes the most study, and possibly several retries of the quiz, is week 6, Intractability.

por Kevin G

17 de oct. de 2020

Prof. Sedgewick's reputation precedes him, but not as adequately as it should. This course was fantastic. The topic was covered thoroughly giving the best possible overview of Computer Science as a discipline.

por Daksh C

11 de jun. de 2020

I feel the course does a great job in laying out an introduction to "Computer Science", familiarising and motivating the topics, to be covered deeply in the sophomore-junior year.

por Apostolis P

5 de jul. de 2021

E​xcellent introductory course to theoretical concepts of Computer Scirence. Taking this course has made me aware of many aspects of the discipline.

D​efinitely recommended!

por Fahim Z

27 de ago. de 2020

The professor is the best I have ever had! The way he presented the materials was precise and concise. I also loved the historical contexts he often provided.

por 赵凌乔

12 de jul. de 2020

This course provides an unbelievable clear view of computer structure. It truly explains everything like revealing layer by layer of a PC.

por Alinaswe C

20 de ene. de 2022

Great course that has taught me a lot in the field of computer science. Cheers to Coursera and Princeton for such great knowledge.

por Meridel E

23 de jun. de 2021

Thank you for sharing your knowledge and expertise. Its a big help for learning the process as well as the behavior of the machine

por Nguyen D L

26 de ene. de 2021

I learned a great deal about intractability and how to live with such difficult problems.

por Ahmed D

23 de feb. de 2021

The course is very interesting. But, it also is very difficult from week 4 on.

por Khôi Đ M

8 de sep. de 2021

An outstanding course you should try on when step in computer science field!

por Bill K A I

28 de sep. de 2020

Great introductory course. In-depth explanation and clarity of the material.

por Canh L

19 de sep. de 2020

A good course for review (or begin) with basic knowledge of Computer Science

por Roman K

14 de dic. de 2020

Great introduction course with a very wide variety of topics covered.