Chevron Left
Volver a Visual Analytics with Tableau

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Visual Analytics with Tableau por parte de Universidad de California, Davis

4.6
estrellas
1,079 calificaciones
177 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

In this third course of the specialization, we’ll drill deeper into the tools Tableau offers in the areas of charting, dates, table calculations and mapping. We’ll explore the best choices for charts, based on the type of data you are using. We’ll look at specific types of charts including scatter plots, Gantt charts, histograms, bullet charts and several others, and we’ll address charting guidelines. We’ll define discrete and continuous dates, and examine when to use each one to explain your data. You’ll learn how to create custom and quick table calculations and how to create parameters. We’ll also introduce mapping and explore how Tableau can use different types of geographic data, how to connect to multiple data sources and how to create custom maps....

Principales revisiones

AG

Aug 20, 2017

Through this course learner can efficiently learn about dual layer maps, dual axis, creating calculated fields and many more. Thanks for such a great platform to learn and for great instructors.

FB

Apr 12, 2018

Good intro to Tableau. The instructor is crystal clear. The case study is pretty good, it's very satisfactory to understand at the end what is wrong with this company.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 173 revisiones para Visual Analytics with Tableau

por Saptarshi B

Sep 11, 2017

This course is at best OK. Only covers the bare minimum. But what is very frustrating is that the assignment instructions are very poorly worded. It is confusing and the expectations are not clearly led out. This results in the students have to interpret what the author wants. Overall this left a very bad taste. It does not meet Coursera standard or what is the standard in other courses.

por kartikey d

Jul 02, 2019

Assignment exercises have missing instructions and even after so many threads about it, no actions have been taken by instructors. Moreover, less emphasis is on teaching practical applications of the tableau. Overall I think it's a very basic course with bad assignments.

por Luca N

Jun 17, 2017

Disappointing. Very disappointing. Here is why:

1. This comes as course 3 in a specialisation of 5. I'd expect to find here more advanced contents than in the previous 2. Instead, it goes in the opposite direction, i.e. concepts are more superficial than in previous courses. I expect a Specialisation to dive deeper as one moves on, instead with this course it looks likes it’s just going horizontally.

2. The course title reads “Visual Analytics with Tableau”, but actually in most cases it reduces to a series of suggestions / best practices on how to use basic components of Tableau, not on how to do Visual Analytics. It did touch on something related to visual analytics though, e.g. table calculations, but it didn’t go any farther than just giving a definition, and provide a small example.

3. The course duration is incredibly short. The contents delivered with this course could stay in one module only, in terms of quantity.

4. Space for practice is virtually absent, despite the speaker continuously repeats that practicing is important. There are vague suggestions on doing practice, but no clear tasks or exercises. Why did you remove the optional questions of previous courses? Furthermore, previous courses provide many resources, e.g. blogs to read, vizzes to analyse, … Why did you remove this as well?

5. The technical quality is disappointing too, and does not stand to the high level of the previous courses. There are clear signs of multiple editing. The transcription is not always appropriate. Intros and conclusions are often repeated twice!

As an initial course, and if it didn’t have the technical issues, it would have been a nice and fair course. But in the middle of a Specialisation, it’s a disaster.

por Larry C

Mar 13, 2017

The videos for this course seemed to be 30% recap of the prior lesson, and 20% restatement of what was learned. Some even duplicated their own content in the restatement. The material covered was simply running through each of the menus in Tableau. Again, this material may be of use, but would be better as a primer for the class rather than presented as useful, paid content. Terribly disappointed.

por Florent B

Jan 20, 2017

The content is essentially a subset of the information available in the free tutorials on Tableau's website. And a pretty small subset with that; the total length of the course is less than most of the MOOCs I have taken have for one week.

por Lydia D

Mar 21, 2018

Tests material it did not teach. Has assignments that require knowledge of business and sales.

por Jose A R N

Nov 06, 2017

My name is Jose Antonio. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career ( https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to get new knowledge about Data Visualization and better understand the Tableau technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by the Teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Teachers.

Regards.

Jose Antonio.

por Todd T

Jul 19, 2017

This week of instruction was excellent as it combined insightful techniques for developing and improving visualizations with reading assignments which provided a lot of valuable information. Everything from this week was directly transferable to current projects on which I (or my team) are working. Well done.

por ADYA S

Mar 11, 2018

Course content is good. Clear explanation and Practical examples.

But....

After enrolling I saw there were so many questions (peer review) which Coursera wouldn't let me attempt/access. If Coursera is not going to let students access stuff, they should let students know that before they enroll.

por Gunjari B

Jun 18, 2018

A great intro to all charts and types with insights on which charts to use when, lectures are a bit pacy but quite informative! It would help to align the lectures of each week to the assignments and a to maintain standard data source without discrepancies.

por Sumit C

Jun 26, 2019

This particular course of the specialization was great. The basic aspect of visualization was demonstrated very well & the work on assignments was a great aid to help understand the key concepts of various Charts, Color, Shape, Size, Type of Data, etc

por Amrita G

Aug 20, 2017

Through this course learner can efficiently learn about dual layer maps, dual axis, creating calculated fields and many more. Thanks for such a great platform to learn and for great instructors.

por Florian B

Apr 12, 2018

Good intro to Tableau. The instructor is crystal clear. The case study is pretty good, it's very satisfactory to understand at the end what is wrong with this company.

por Ashutosh K S

May 18, 2019

It was effective and simple to learn few concepts which can be fruitful for my future projects. However calculated fields should have been discussed more in detail.

por Olivia M

Nov 05, 2017

The course is very clear and easy to learn. Teacher is great! The tasks are well designed. By completing the tasks one by one, our Tableau skills grow gradually.

por Jamiil T A

Apr 24, 2019

Very hands on course. I can now answer some business problem through visual analytics. I highly recommend the course . And once again thanks to all instructors.

por Sy Y W

Jan 03, 2018

So Far, This is a Very Good course design. However, if it is possible, more practice assignment will be much better for learning and improving the skill.

por Nitin K

Nov 26, 2018

this course is really nice for beginner because you get hands on with the tableau pretty easily as instructor illustrated in a very good manner.

por George O

Nov 14, 2019

very informative. the lecturer was highly knowledgeable about the subject. you will learn more skills and tips in tableau visual development

por Marco v d L

Mar 23, 2018

My favorite course in this series. Interesting topic and well presented. All the information and techniques can be used in everyday work.

por Alejandro M

Apr 07, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. It is completely practical. A lot of exercises. Presentations were well organized and focused on the topics

por Deepan K

Nov 04, 2017

this Course gives the Complete Knowledge about Visualizations in tableau.

Wonderful!!

Thanks for this course!! Mr. Sukh Brar

por Margaret T

Aug 02, 2018

Loved this course. This brought the dashboard and story functions all together. Thank you for making this so enjoyable.

por Pallavi P

Oct 10, 2019

The course is great. It would be great if there is 1 h lecture or exercise session with lot of different examples

por Anne B N

Aug 02, 2019

o curso é rápido e muito útil. recomendo a quem quer aprender mais e melhor sobre visual analytics no Tableau