Chevron Left
Volver a Basic Data Descriptors, Statistical Distributions, and Application to Business Decisions

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Basic Data Descriptors, Statistical Distributions, and Application to Business Decisions por parte de Universidad Rice

4.7
estrellas
1,836 calificaciones
305 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The ability to understand and apply Business Statistics is becoming increasingly important in the industry. A good understanding of Business Statistics is a requirement to make correct and relevant interpretations of data. Lack of knowledge could lead to erroneous decisions which could potentially have negative consequences for a firm. This course is designed to introduce you to Business Statistics. We begin with the notion of descriptive statistics, which is summarizing data using a few numbers. Different categories of descriptive measures are introduced and discussed along with the Excel functions to calculate them. The notion of probability or uncertainty is introduced along with the concept of a sample and population data using relevant business examples. This leads us to various statistical distributions along with their Excel functions which are then used to model or approximate business processes. You get to apply these descriptive measures of data and various statistical distributions using easy-to-follow Excel based examples which are demonstrated throughout the course. To successfully complete course assignments, students must have access to Microsoft Excel. ________________________________________ WEEK 1 Module 1: Basic Data Descriptors In this module you will get to understand, calculate and interpret various descriptive or summary measures of data. These descriptive measures summarize and present data using a few numbers. Appropriate Excel functions to do these calculations are introduced and demonstrated. Topics covered include: • Categories of descriptive data • Measures of central tendency, the mean, median, mode, and their interpretations and calculations • Measures of spread-in-data, the range, interquartile-range, standard deviation and variance • Box plots • Interpreting the standard deviation measure using the rule-of-thumb and Chebyshev’s theorem ________________________________________ WEEK 2 Module 2: Descriptive Measures of Association, Probability, and Statistical Distributions This module presents the covariance and correlation measures and their respective Excel functions. You get to understand the notion of causation versus correlation. The module then introduces the notion of probability and random variables and starts introducing statistical distributions. Topics covered include: • Measures of association, the covariance and correlation measures; causation versus correlation • Probability and random variables; discrete versus continuous data • Introduction to statistical distributions ________________________________________ WEEK 3 Module 3: The Normal Distribution This module introduces the Normal distribution and the Excel function to calculate probabilities and various outcomes from the distribution. Topics covered include: • Probability density function and area under the curve as a measure of probability • The Normal distribution (bell curve), NORM.DIST, NORM.INV functions in Excel ________________________________________ WEEK 4 Module 4: Working with Distributions, Normal, Binomial, Poisson In this module, you'll see various applications of the Normal distribution. You will also get introduced to the Binomial and Poisson distributions. The Central Limit Theorem is introduced and explained in the context of understanding sample data versus population data and the link between the two. Topics covered include: • Various applications of the Normal distribution • The Binomial and Poisson distributions • Sample versus population data; the Central Limit Theorem...

Principales reseñas

EM
26 de ago. de 2020

This is one of the best courses i have atended since, the exercises are all related to the topic.Great job. .\n\nThanks to Mr Sharad Borle for explaining very well the content in this course .

GG
22 de ago. de 2017

The course has been designed in a manner to give maximum understanding of the concept. The Quizzes are really grilling. and helps you strengthen the knowledge gained from the lecture videos.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 301 revisiones para Basic Data Descriptors, Statistical Distributions, and Application to Business Decisions

por Leonel G

26 de abr. de 2020

This course is very good. I have taken several courses on statistics, and this one is the first one (along with the following three courses in the specialization)0 that gives me real-life scenarios and knowledge I can use in my work; strongly recommended.

por Scott L

24 de jun. de 2018

I enjoyed this course. It was a good introduction to each concept with enough practice to help learn. Would need to be supplemented with more real world practice before i would feel comfortable using at work. Specifically, understanding random sampling.

por Sean E B

29 de oct. de 2017

The mathematical formulas can be a little confusing if you're not familiar with statistical math, but this is not the fault of the lecturer obviously.

Overall, a nicely explained and set out course. Really helpful and understandable for beginners.

por Yury V

13 de ago. de 2017

This is an amazing course, very useful to those who works with large massive of data everyday. Materials offered in this course are very useful to analyze business processes. I would highly recommend this course to my colleagues and friends.

por ANUGAMINI P

14 de oct. de 2020

Loved this course. Added to basic knowledge of statistics and majorly probability. I have always been scared of probability and its concept. Thanks to Prof Sharad for explaining each topic that sounds easy and made learning much easier.

por Rebecca L

9 de abr. de 2017

The instructor's approach to presenting the basics of statistics as well as the application of excel functions is by far the best I've experienced in statistics courses. This is a refresher for me, and, I'm really enjoying it!

por jorge l

4 de jun. de 2018

It was great. Test was a little bit difficult for me, however after revising and studying again the lessons I was finally able to pas it, most important thing was not to pass the test but to understand the material better.

por Alex M

1 de mar. de 2018

I liked how straightforward it was. Straight into the materials and their explanations, with examples, well explained, and all in very well paced videos. The mini-quizzes at the end of each lesson were also a major help.

por Ramasubramaniyam S

26 de sep. de 2018

Over a short span of a month, it feels as though I've progressed from extremely less to significantly good knowledge on Data descriptors and statistical distributions on a business perspective thanks to the course.

por Nihar R P T

30 de ago. de 2020

Excellent course and very detailed explanation, learned a lot of new things, the test was quite well designed to test the fundamental understanding. my appreciation and gratitude to RICE university and faculties.

por Mainpal S

20 de nov. de 2020

Very essential course for fundamentals of data manipulation. Good content and the instructor. The discussion forum is also a good learning platform for attendees. Enjoyed doing the course. Thanks to Prof Borde.

por vaibhav s

17 de sep. de 2020

Excellent for people who love probability and statistics. This course is best for knowing the excel functions for distributions such as normal, binomial, Poisson, etc. and its application to business problems.

por galaxy g

23 de ago. de 2017

The course has been designed in a manner to give maximum understanding of the concept. The Quizzes are really grilling. and helps you strengthen the knowledge gained from the lecture videos.

por Edmundo m

27 de ago. de 2020

This is one of the best courses i have atended since, the exercises are all related to the topic.Great job. .

Thanks to Mr Sharad Borle for explaining very well the content in this course .

por Corry A

14 de jun. de 2017

This course was great. Although the concepts introduced are complex, the instructor breaks them down and gives relatable, real-world style examples to easily explain the application.

por Bhumika R

1 de ago. de 2020

Very

basic

course.

Along

with

the

videos,

some

reading

material

for

detailed

understanding

of

conceptual

topics

like

binomial

and

other

distributions

is

needed

por Dibyajyoti D

16 de ago. de 2020

A Wonderfully structured Course that provides you with the base to start your journey in Business Statistics. Best part is if you want you can complete this course in about 2 days.

por Carlos J B A

5 de may. de 2019

A rewarding experience because I have been able to learn very valuable information. It is an excellent course. It has helped me in the personal and professional field. Thank you.

por Sofia L

3 de jul. de 2018

Loved studing and learning about normal distributions, continuous vs discrete data and how to estimate probabilities by different distributions approach. Learning is fascinating

por Orville L

23 de sep. de 2020

Excellent exposition on popular statistical functions such as Binomial, Poisson and Normal distribution functions. Thorough understanding of discrete versus continuous data.

por Ashfaqur R P

23 de jun. de 2020

The Instructor is awesome. Every content is been introduced simply that anyone can understand. The course will increase your intention towards the statistics in daily life.

por Asha

8 de ene. de 2018

I personally loved it!! Coming from a technical background, it really helped me to understand how we can apply the concepts and techniques to real world/practical problems.

por Joao S

3 de nov. de 2020

well, im very satisfied with this course. i was wanting any course that show me applications of probability functions in business and it is exactly that is inside course.

por Dhimant P

7 de mar. de 2020

Learned good statistics on practical problems. I love the fact that instructor provides enough discussion so when faced with real world problems, you know how to proceed.

por Kevin G

3 de jul. de 2018

Very interesting course on the practical applications of statistics in business and other matters. Professor was very informed and made concepts easy to absorb and appl