Chevron Left
Volver a Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS por parte de Universidad Duke

4.6
estrellas
13,539 calificaciones
2,937 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

Principales reseñas

AD

16 de jul. de 2020

Excellent course .\n\nJust felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

IS

5 de oct. de 2015

This is the first course I am taking in Coursera.org. The valuable instructors of Duke University designed and created a masterpiece for learners. Thank you so much guys. Greets from Istanbul, Turkey.

Filtrar por:

2676 - 2700 de 2,945 revisiones para Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

por Rahul V

15 de sep. de 2020

nice

por Aman K S

10 de ago. de 2020

fair

por Suvra K d

2 de ago. de 2020

Nice

por Meghana S

30 de jul. de 2020

Good

por Mahmudul H

27 de jul. de 2020

nice

por Prasad V H

27 de jul. de 2020

BEST

por GOKUL P

21 de jul. de 2020

Nice

por Pawar V A

9 de jul. de 2020

good

por Varun N U

25 de may. de 2020

nice

por Sarada m

23 de may. de 2020

good

por M S

20 de abr. de 2020

Good

por BATHULA S R

3 de feb. de 2020

good

por Demi X

27 de dic. de 2019

easy

por Sam K

23 de sep. de 2021

meh

por Roberto M

24 de jun. de 2021

bom

por Abhishek P

14 de ago. de 2021

por S. U

24 de dic. de 2020

I'm somewhat torn on this course. On the one hand, the instructors are lively, enthusiastic, and knowledgeable. The videos are generally well-presented. I learned a lot.

It's probably worth stressing: this is a *programming foundations* course, not a web development foundations course. So it's natural that the stress may be on the javascript aspect.

However, even with that in mind, I thought the instruction was very unstructured. I get that the philosophy was 'let's get students actually doing something', but I think more time needs to be spent covering the basics, especially CSS and Javascript. The coverage of CSS in particular was quite limited.

I can also understand the desire to 'make things easier' by having students work with Duke libraries and work in the Duke platform, but I think this is a serious drawback, and ultimately limits what the student can do outside the platform.

Students learn how to manipulate an image, but aren't taught enough general knowledge to apply that knowledge in other ways. I'd like to see more shorter exercises that build up 'muscle memory'.

You will learn a lot, but expect to spend a fair amount of time going back over videos numerous times and doing other reading on your own.

I think the course would be better served by having more exercises that are shorter: build a web page, learn how to do some basic layout and designs, then incorporate JS. As it is now, I think students will learn a fair amount but may not be able to do much with that knowledge, which is a shame.

por María J G G

10 de nov. de 2015

Well, I think I learnt some things about JavaScript, HTML and CSS. However, the course hasn't been focused on programming with JavaScript to solve real problems. All assignments are based on the creation of images from scratch, the modification of these images and hide messages in an original image. I really don't think these types of assignments can help students to learn Web technology. In fact, I know some professional Web programmers that they don't use javascript to manipulate images but in some cases when it is really necessary. I'd change the way of how the assignments are presented to prove the students' skills. For example, a possible assignment could be the implemention of a counter on a Web page using JavaScript or the creation of a web page with buttons, emerging messages, menus etc. On the web (Googling), there are a lot of codes that allow these funcionalities and could be used and modified by other students to create their own Web page.

por Marie C

23 de sep. de 2021

This course will give you a lot of information, but the structure is really lacking. I had enough experience with basic Javascript and Python to fill in a lot of the logical gaps, but but I think I would have been pretty miserable coming into this as a complete beginner. They do start off explaining basic concepts and building blocks of JavaScript, but a lot of the course relies VERY heavily on using weird, never-quite-explained methods that exist only in Duke's programming library. Also, while I can see the value in using image manipulation as a grounding for programming exercises, it gets old very quickly! By the end, the projects are so laser-focused on pixel manipulation and Duke's own methods that it's hard to see how one might generalize this experience to JavaScript as a whole. This course would also really benefit from more quick graded exercises to build muscle/syntax memory, as opposed to just the quizzes and review projects.

por Tatyana S

22 de jul. de 2019

Course was ok, I expected more. The main downside is the use of non-standard methods like SimpleImage, which is not something in the standard library and that is not even explained until you are well into the course. I don't understand what the point is of learning to use it, when it can't be applied in the future. Also, not using a 'real life' IDE really diminishes the value of the course. I understand that using the environment provided makes it easier/faster to teach the material However, in my opinion, the benefit of learning to use the proper tools is essential, and leaves significant gap in knowledge that I, at least, find frustrating. I hope the next class on Java is better, but I already see a download of yet another course specific IDE, which leaves me skeptical. I will give it a shot, but I will cancel if it is like the first class. It's very disappointing, this course seemed very well rounded and had such great potential.

por Deleted A

15 de sep. de 2021

The course has very interesting projects and exercises to work on however the main issue is that theres a lot of crucial information that gets missed out on like how to increment in a loop and this trend continues throughout the course. If I was entirely new to the subject I would not have been able to complete the exercises because they would be too difficult. I feel as though the course is rushed in the videos and explanations are not as clear or enthesised as well as they should be, as well and does not break down each subject down well enough in order to understand it. The move from HTML & CSS to JavaScript is quite quick too and needs to slow down and start off with smaller subjects of JavaScript.

It would also be great if the projects and exercises had a more practical use. HTML CSS and Javascript are used mainly in Web Development and so the course should focus on developing web sites.

por Scott A

12 de may. de 2016

The course is well put together, however they say you do not need any programming background, but you definitely need a little. I had to use other sources to help such as Codeacademy and Udemy just to keep up. The do not go over loops, conditionals or basic C foundation that would help. The leap from HTML, CSS to JavaScript is massive. They need to relook some of the topics and either more videos or add in some easier teaching methods. I took a similar one on Udemy (that was free) just after I completed this one and it was 10x easier to understand and closed so many loops I had when learning JavaScript.

por Katerina S

6 de jun. de 2019

50/50. It was my first try to program something and to learn something about HTML, CSS, and javascript. I was motivated only in the first week. Next weeks I felt lost because I could not understand most of the things, I just copied the code from the lectures. Fortunately, my husband is a computer programmer, so he helped and explained to me a lot. I finished this course just because I always finish what I've started.

However, I would like to thank the professors for their work. I would suggest making this course more interactive with peers and instructors and make the tasks more enjoyable.

por Kate R

6 de nov. de 2015

Introduced me to some cool ideas, web services and ideas for basic web design but isn't really a beginner course. I've switched over to a similar course from University of London.

The lecturers in this course were very stiff and scripted and not overly simplistic in their explanations- something essential to avoid frustrating those of us just starting out. If you want a course that teaches you the basics from the true beginning but doesn't make you feel like you're an idiot for not understanding try Responsive Website Basics from the U of London & Goldsmiths.

por Wes L

28 de oct. de 2021

M​eh

I​ am new to all of the languages listed, but I know Java and Python. First, there was a bit of a problem with the Week 3, where Week 1 was fine, Week 2 is similar to stuff I had done before, but Week 3 was confusing, and CodePen did not work. Week 4 was a little better, only needed one filter template(green) to move things along, but the advanced filters did not work, and kept showing more of that filter. Overall, just take an HTML Basics course before taking this. Maybe just start fresh with the second course in the specialization.