Chevron Left
Volver a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Teach English Now! Foundational Principles por parte de Universidad del Estado de Arizona

4.9
5,539 calificaciones
1,823 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Aspectos destacados
Interactive content
(104 revisiones)
Engaging instructors
(331 revisiones)

Principales revisiones

JJ

Aug 18, 2018

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

SS

Nov 30, 2019

A great course! It is a well planned and goes light taking into consideration that the learners work as teachers. I have become a great fan of Dr. Dixon and hope to learn more in the modules to come.

Filtrar por:

1751 - 1775 de 1,775 revisiones para Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

por Kristine K

Mar 14, 2016

I would give it 5 stars but , staff really needs to start reviewing assignments because there are a couple of bad apples copying the work of other students. We work hard and should not have our work plagiarized, but since it is peer review and not teacher graded, they get away with it.

por Bilal A

Aug 08, 2017

We need extra materials

por Stephen P

Feb 13, 2016

I thought the course was good although some of the material a bit basic but it definitely will help with my teaching.

por Chana T P

Mar 18, 2017

Although the information provided by the course is good, I do find it a bit difficult to listen to the videos. In truth, I typically read through the transcripts instead of watching them. I understand the the professor is attempting to provide an interesting and engaging experience, but I end up feeling as though I'm being talked to like I'm a child.

por Tsang Y J

Oct 30, 2016

There are issues with submitting assignments (failure to process submission in Coursera).

Peer reviews may not be the best solution, as we have to wait a long time for our work to be reviewed!

por Jeff M

Dec 04, 2015

This class felt a bit elementary . . . but it had some good material as well. I would appreciate a bit less overacting and goofiness (which actually praised in the course) and have a bit more academic material. In one of the videos, the professor suggested that teaching should be slightly above the student's level but not too high. This course seemed to be a bit lower than my level (but I have taken education courses in the past).

por Brooke D

May 08, 2018

Over animated professor makes it a little difficult to take things seriously. Also the caliber of content leaves much to be desired. The homework was in no way challenging and though is was intended to be thought provoking I just found is demeaning.

Why are college professors acting like tv hosts? No clue.

por Natalia G

Jan 07, 2016

It is really a start in the field. If you already have teaching experience you will get much more from the conversations in the forums than from the lectures. And if you have very little teaching experience or are interested in the field, it will give you a clear overview.

por Katherine A K

Sep 17, 2016

This class is very easy. It is a decent introduction, but has very little content. It is clearly made to be accessible to people from all around the world, and takes the content very slowly. The test questions ask you to recite information from the video lectures and reading, rather than thinking critically. It seems like they are just trying to make sure you watched/read the content and understood it, rather than making sure you acquired the knowledge. I guess it would be hard to grade essay questions in a class this big, but the content could go a little faster.

por Maya W H

Dec 17, 2016

There was interesting information in the class, but the peer review questions were not well developed to stimulate thought and new ideas. Many of the answers I read were just repetitions of what was learned in class. I think the objectives and expectations could have been more clearly communicated and the statement themselves better thought out. I also did not find the peer review process to be that productive as a grading tool. The parameters for grading were extremely simple and the feed back was quite subjective from students that did not understand the assignments.

While I learned some useful information, I won't continue with this course.

por Maria S F

May 25, 2017

The course presents valuable information, but I think the real content is too little compared to the length of the videos.

por Miguel A U P

Feb 07, 2016

The content is great, but the course lacks support from the staff. It is also too easy to pass. I hope the reason for this is because the course was introductory.

por John T

Feb 13, 2017

Pretty basic stuff but you have to take it to advance to presumably more interesting material

por Michelle B

May 03, 2017

I would make it a 5 but this course will not list on my "completed courses" and that annoys me.

por Mariette R

Aug 10, 2018

Fast paced

por Nang M T A

Oct 23, 2019

Thanks

por Benjamin K

May 12, 2016

There was some interesting information in here, and I found a few things useful. That said, you have to sift through a lot of gimmicks to get to the parts of the lessons that actually matter.

por Kathryn B

Feb 24, 2018

The instructors are annoying and long winded about extremely simple concepts. The course is very easy. I completed within 4 or 5 hrs. I was able to jump straight to the quizzes without watching the videos.

por Dr M U

Oct 16, 2015

Worse taught

por 罗詹妮

Apr 02, 2016

好难。觉得没讲清楚。而且作业也太让人头疼了

por Milad S

Nov 27, 2018

I agree that my feedback

por Tracie H

Jul 22, 2016

Content is too basic, seems unresearched. Instructor is distracting in manner in which he presents information - overemphasizes acting over content.

por Cherie N

Nov 17, 2016

I would not refer anyone to this course. Although the content is well done, the tech piece of the course is sooooooo frustrating. At one point during the course I kept rating and rating my peersʻ assignments and the system would not accept it. I later found out there was some kind of tech issue. There was NO communication from Coursera whatsoever regarding this--no email, nothing to me or the class as a whole. So, we just had to keep checking and submitting ratings to see if it would finally be accepted. I find this bizarre, to say the least. Now, I am in the third course and the SAME thing is happening! I work full time, have a second job, go to school, raise two boys as a single parent and time is of the essence for me! I do not have time to waste! I keep wasting my time with tech issues. That is so disturbing. Somehow or another we should be kept abreast of tech platform problems. This is crazy.

por Jedd C

Feb 14, 2017

low-level content for people with no teaching background

por Kyle W

Apr 09, 2017

Pretty basic stuff.