Chevron Left
Volver a Econometrics: Methods and Applications

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Econometrics: Methods and Applications por parte de Universidad Erasmus de Rotterdam

4.6
estrellas
1,105 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Welcome! Do you wish to know how to analyze and solve business and economic questions with data analysis tools? Then Econometrics by Erasmus University Rotterdam is the right course for you, as you learn how to translate data into models to make forecasts and to support decision making. * What do I learn? When you know econometrics, you are able to translate data into models to make forecasts and to support decision making in a wide variety of fields, ranging from macroeconomics to finance and marketing. Our course starts with introductory lectures on simple and multiple regression, followed by topics of special interest to deal with model specification, endogenous variables, binary choice data, and time series data. You learn these key topics in econometrics by watching the videos with in-video quizzes and by making post-video training exercises. * Do I need prior knowledge? The course is suitable for (advanced undergraduate) students in economics, finance, business, engineering, and data analysis, as well as for those who work in these fields. The course requires some basics of matrices, probability, and statistics, which are reviewed in the Building Blocks module. If you are searching for a MOOC on econometrics of a more introductory nature that needs less background in mathematics, you may be interested in the Coursera course “Enjoyable Econometrics” that is also from Erasmus University Rotterdam. * What literature can I consult to support my studies? You can follow the MOOC without studying additional sources. Further reading of the discussed topics (including the Building Blocks) is provided in the textbook that we wrote and on which the MOOC is based: Econometric Methods with Applications in Business and Economics, Oxford University Press. The connection between the MOOC modules and the book chapters is shown in the Course Guide – Further Information – How can I continue my studies. * Will there be teaching assistants active to guide me through the course? Staff and PhD students of our Econometric Institute will provide guidance in January and February of each year. In other periods, we provide only elementary guidance. We always advise you to connect with fellow learners of this course to discuss topics and exercises. * How will I get a certificate? To gain the certificate of this course, you are asked to make six Test Exercises (one per module) and a Case Project. Further, you perform peer-reviewing activities of the work of three of your fellow learners of this MOOC. You gain the certificate if you pass all seven assignments. Have a nice journey into the world of Econometrics! The Econometrics team...

Principales reseñas

DT

13 de feb. de 2020

Course was very well structured, pacing was very pleasant (albeit a little fast for the chapter about time series). Teachers were top notch! I had lots of fun while learning . Thank you!

SM

29 de jul. de 2022

Best course on econometrics...the building blocks to advanced sections are well taught by dear professors. I loved every bit of it...the exercises are thought-provoking. thanks a bunch

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 237 revisiones para Econometrics: Methods and Applications

por Hiteshchandra T

19 de nov. de 2016

Good experience! Very well organised and presented, given the limitations of the MOOC format. All key topics are covered lucidly and succinctly. Maybe a follow-up course on advanced topics like Stochastic Regressors, Panel Data, etc could be offered?

por Gustavo R e O

23 de nov. de 2017

I totally recomend this course for those who are seeking to learn this challenging subject. The material presented in the course provides a great stimulous to stay on track and follow the course until the end.

por Raden M A

31 de may. de 2020

Really great course, get your hands dirty in econometrics mathematical concept, even the assignments using softwares are challenging. Unfortunately it was plagued by cheaters who submitted plagiarized tests.

por Axel-Cleris G

21 de nov. de 2018

I love this course. I'm a student in Economics and I took this course to have a complementary view to other econometric courses I have in my program; your explanations are good and intuitive. Thanks

por Jingbo H

25 de sep. de 2016

GOOD COURSE! I can learn a lot of basic conception about econometircs, and the training exercises is good for me to understand what the teachers has taught in the course!

por Vinay P

25 de oct. de 2016

Excellent work and thank you. the exercises and tests are great. Including some eviews assignments along with eviews access during duration of the course will be great.

por Tajinder S D

21 de jul. de 2020

Great online learning at our own pace. Lot of new things to learn and very well designed course. Some software practice should be added for more practical approach.

por Edgar G

24 de abr. de 2016

Tough course! Very close to being in a classroom with plenty of material in every video. Keep a book on the topic handy and you will understand the material better.

por Madhav N

16 de ene. de 2016

Not for the faint of heart! Be prepared to work hard at a fast pace. Put in your dues and you will be rewarded with an excellent understanding of Econometrics.

por Rania B

7 de jun. de 2021

A very interesting course, the applications at the end of each course are very useful to better understand each module (which are sometimes quite advanced)

por Jun W

18 de ene. de 2016

Very solid course. Instructors are great and the difficulty of the course materials are just right. I suggest finishing the Building Blocks first.

por Adwaita R

21 de ene. de 2022

Being a student of economics, I learnt a lot from these course and could cleared many doubts and confusion I had in the subject of econometrics.

por Todor M

19 de dic. de 2016

Great and very useful and pragmatic course. Would recognize it to everyone for sure. Clear and easy if you're willing to commit to it 100%.

por 余景慧 Y J

11 de jul. de 2020

it's been very good to have this course and I've truly learnt a lot. I love the structure of each module and the assignments are awesome!!

por Moreno C

23 de ene. de 2016

The course is excellent, with a good balance between theory and practice.

The level is intermediate. I wouldn’t recommend it for beginners.

por Yau C G L

16 de mar. de 2016

This course greatly exceeded my expectations. Thank you Erasmus University Rotter and Coursera for giving me a happy learning journey.

por Guillermo B

25 de ago. de 2017

Excellent review of all major topics in Econometrics. Great case study applications, lots of work but really fun learning experience.

por Prakarsh D

3 de dic. de 2019

Solid course. Don't expect an easy ride but one will certainly learn a lot through this one. Thanks to all the Teachers and Mentors!

por mittal.hitesh.92@gmail.com

7 de feb. de 2019

Excellent learning , though some hands on practice on tools like R and other software should also be made the part of the course.

por Korkrid A

22 de ago. de 2016

I love the course structure where it started with fundamental concepts and used all that we learned to take on a case project.

por Imran A

25 de feb. de 2016

Found this course at a very crucial moment. Hopefully will enjoy the next 8 weeks with this course and it's instructors.

por Francisco P M

3 de jul. de 2021

​Quite useful. All main topics are explained "fool proof", and the activities to fullfill enable to grasp the topics.

por Duong H T

20 de mar. de 2020

Excellent course! Weekly exercises are difficult to complete but worthy to put your effort. Thank lecturers so much.

por Diego G E

3 de mar. de 2017

Easy to understand [If you are familiar to the course] and imparted by intelligent and intelligible professors.

por gauri a

2 de sep. de 2019

As challenging as it can get! Definitely recommend for a rigorous training and understanding of econometrics