Chevron Left
Volver a Writing in First Person Point of View

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Writing in First Person Point of View por parte de Universidad Wesleyana

4.8
estrellas
54 calificaciones
26 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

If you have always wanted to tell your own story—in a memoir, first-person essay, or any other form of autobiographical non-fiction—but felt you lacked the tools or the framework, this is the class for you. We will learn how successful first-person writing is structured to offer the reader a sense of propulsive motion, and is guided by a narrator who is deliberately crafted. We will explore the ways in which language can be used to create tone, so that the emotional freight of your words is as potent as the storytelling. And crucially, we will consider the writer's responsibility to the reader: the importance of being a guide who includes the reader in the sensory, emotional, and intellectual experience you mean to share through your writing....

Principales revisiones

AR

Jul 28, 2020

The assignments were very helpful with looking at my story in different ways. I now have an idea of how to elevate my story from a journal into a memoir.

JW

Feb 25, 2019

As a writer and a blogger I felt like I should brush up on my craft. This course was very enlightening and Ariel Levy was engaging and informative.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 25 revisiones para Writing in First Person Point of View

por Mary S

Apr 21, 2020

This was my first Coursera course, and will be my last. The absence of any input on the assignments from the instructor seemed more than a bit lame. The instructions for the assignments were awful. The worst instructions were for the final piece, which until today I didn't realize was meant to be for my entire memoir - I thought it was for one essay! While I thought the discipline of needing to get words on paper and review others' words was good, I found the course way less than satisfying. I'm making a second entry here to say that at a minimum, someone should check the accuracy of the voice-to-text narrative of the instructor's work. It is absolutely full of errors that would be easily corrected, but fit the overall impression of the course.

por John E P

Nov 13, 2019

Ariel, I enjoyed Course 2 of the Specialization. In particular I enjoyed Developing a Narrator and Developing Trust with the reader. Then there was Where to begin and Finding your voice. What is your point is another. I have downloaded all the videos so that I can go over them until I get all the concepts. I really glad I took this course and this Specialization. I am on vacation in a few days so I may not complete all the peer scoring but I listened to all the videos and downloaded the text.

I am writing my first book which will not only be a memoir but also a help for those who suffer from illness.

por Alicia W

Jul 03, 2020

I find the instructor very knowledgeable about the topic. The lectures were good and the assignments rigourous. Some of the peers did not seem like they followed the instructions or were in the right course but some were really good and I enjoyed reading their reviews as well as their assignments.

por Dave S

May 01, 2020

Absolutely brilliant! Ariel Levy's way of teaching is straightforward, inspiring, energetic, and clear. I wish I could do more courses with her. The content was most useful, and the sequence in which it was presented was right on. I wasn't the same when I finished the course. Thanks for this!!

por Christopher A

Feb 14, 2020

The quality of the presentations are so outstanding. Special thanks to Professor Ariel Levy for the clear, reassuring and can-do style of her presentations. My writing skills has improved and my confidence level is increasing. Thank you for granting me the chance.

por Vicki W

Aug 23, 2020

Ariel Levy is terrific and so helpful. While I liked all of the instructors in this specialization, I found her style to be insightful and also practical. I thought the assignments made sense and directly related to where I'm trying to go as a writer.

por Mitch B

May 23, 2020

This course has renewed my passion for writing and flexed literary muscles I have not used in quite a long time. The specific writing exercises flowed from one to the next cohesively and with purpose. A great course!

por Ann R

Jul 28, 2020

The assignments were very helpful with looking at my story in different ways. I now have an idea of how to elevate my story from a journal into a memoir.

por June W

Feb 25, 2019

As a writer and a blogger I felt like I should brush up on my craft. This course was very enlightening and Ariel Levy was engaging and informative.

por ANSARI S A

Nov 06, 2019

Ariel Levy gives specific examples of books and excerpts to illustrate the learning points. This is very helpful and much appreciated.

por Beza Y

Aug 14, 2020

It was my first class and it was really great! Not intimidating but challenging at the same time. Very positive peers as well.

por Jummai

Dec 28, 2019

Ariel Levy was absolutely engaging throughout the class and she really opened up my mind to my writing potential.

por Sarah S

Aug 10, 2020

I appreciated Ariel Levy's tips, reading selections and also the particular exercises. All of it stretched me.

por Kondilo S

Aug 12, 2020

Ariel, thoroughly enjoyed your sessions, your approachable style and the sharing of your insights. Thank you.

por Filia G

Dec 19, 2019

The mini-lectures are gold in mouth guidance, and the weekly assignments are well-thought drills!

por Ronald L W S

May 20, 2020

This is a great course. I am going to study for the whole specialization. Highly recommended!

por Elisabeth B

Jun 23, 2020

This was a fantastic course with engaging lectures and challenging assignments.

por Tamara S

Jul 20, 2020

didnt pay so didnt have complete access.

but what i saw was great.

thankyou

por Ana K E B

May 29, 2020

Excellent course to learn how to express your opinion.

por Liliane M

May 10, 2019

Ariel Levy's personality and passion is contagious.

por Paulo S

Jul 04, 2020

I learned very good ideas from the lecturer

por Mare

Jun 06, 2020

Instructor was engaging. Material helpful

por Erica S

May 22, 2020

I loved Miss Levy.

por Pamela K

Aug 11, 2020

I

por Rabia A

Aug 31, 2020

The two stars are for the quality of the instruction. For each of the four parts of this course. The rest of it is truly reprehensible. The focus seems to be on getting people to sign up and pay up. Obviously, for the price one can't expect any feedback from the instructors but peer feedback is a disaster. Most of the people I've had to review or who have reviewed my submissions have enormous difficulty with the English language. Some of them can't write a straight sentence in English. On the site we are asked to make allowances for the fact that English may not be the first language of the students. But this is a writing course—writing in English. People who cannot write in English should not be enrolled in this course. But Coursera seems to care only about taking in the fees. I'm surprised that the instructors—all of them successful, critically acclaimed writers and poets—should sign on to a project where bringing in the money (enrolling people in the thousands) seems to be the priority.