Chevron Left
Volver a Fundamentals of waves and vibrations

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Fundamentals of waves and vibrations por parte de École Polytechnique

4.5
estrellas
132 calificaciones
42 reseña

Acerca del Curso

See our course teaser on http://goo.gl/SU25sF Waves are everywhere. On water of course, but also in the air as you hear a plane, and under your feet during an earthquake certainly. Vibrations, too, are everywhere In your bike as you go over a bump, in you guitar as you play, and of course in your smartphone. You can guess that there is something in common behind all this. This is exactly the purpose of this course ! So if you want to understand better waves and vibrations, and the relation between them and to use that knowledge in your field, this MOOC is for you. We are going to consider any possible domains of applications such as civil engineering, aerospace engineering, plant biomechanics, and many others ! This is why we called the course “fundamentals of waves and vibrations”. There are so many phenomena and so many models that we need to work with you on the basic mechanisms . We look forward to see you in the course, and work together ! See also our related course on the couplings between fluids and solids at www.coursera.org/learn/fluid-solid-interaction, with the course teaser on http://goo.gl/YKSMnD...

Principales reseñas

SG

May 04, 2020

I already have a strong background in dynamics and used this course as a recall of basics. I found it very clear, in particular for the progress from waves towards vibrations and modes.

PC

Jun 13, 2020

I really enjoyed this course which gave me a lot of insight on the nature of things around me. It is graphically pleasing with lots of exciting real world applications. Merci!

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 41 revisiones para Fundamentals of waves and vibrations

por Hannah L

Feb 20, 2019

i have background with physics and calculus but for me it was really hard to follow this classes, a lot of important concepts were given very fast.

por Vinayak V

Jun 10, 2019

Few important concepts were rushed through in the course. Short videos resulted in skipping through the required mathematical and conceptual discussions to get a proper feel of the topics.

The content of the course was however pretty good covering a decent range of topics in vibration dynamics.

por Stanislas L G

May 04, 2020

I already have a strong background in dynamics and used this course as a recall of basics. I found it very clear, in particular for the progress from waves towards vibrations and modes.

por Mohammad P

May 19, 2020

In advance, many thanks for your excellent instructors, extraordinary and comprehensive materials.

In my opinion, your course will be better if you use more examples. The concepts are full of mathematical equations, and these are so useful for good understanding; however, students will learn better if they see some mathematical or programming exercises, like the final quiz. I mean "Practical Learning" (plus concepts), with solving some problems via equations or conceptual matters.

best wishes to you and Ecole Polytechnique.

por Kenneth V

Jul 14, 2020

Very good course. Sometimes the quiz questions were a bit too hard compared to the lectures in my opinion, but I was able to do most using Google and external resources.

The final exam was really good though, I think.

por Debasish S

Aug 19, 2019

It's a good course provided you're well equipped with the basics of the topic. It's very interesting as it has a few lab based teaching as well

por Chan Y K

Jul 10, 2020

In-depth and challenging.

por Mr. M R

May 14, 2020

Nice Course

por Marcus S

Nov 01, 2019

The course covers a lot of different subjects about waves, which is very nice. I feel much more confident about my understanding of water waves, acoustics, and the wave equation (tensioned cable). It was very difficult to take notes and keep up with the math, however. I ended up watching lectures multiple times to understand what was happening on the math side. While this course gave a good conceptual understanding, I was hoping to be able to apply this knowledge to vibration systems at my work. I did not reach that level as a consequence of this course, but perhaps if I was able to put much more time into understanding this course, I could have gotten there. It would have been very useful if they explained how to construct the stiffness matrices in more detail during the vibrations portion. Thank you very much to everyone involved, however! I enjoyed the course overall.

por Vipin B

Jun 09, 2020

could be explained more efficiently.

por Abiram K

Aug 03, 2019

i found it really hard.

por Rana R M

Jul 23, 2020

Lectures are looked like discussion and very advanced. Quizzes are difficult and takes a lot of time.

por Mohammad S

Jul 19, 2020

Quiz problems were not related to lectures. Instructors seemed rushed

por Florian L B

Mar 03, 2019

The course material is clearly explained by the three instructors. The lab sessions are highly interesting to get a feeling for real world dynamics. I really enjoyed the final exam that lead me to apply the gained knowledge to a small system and compute numerical solutions to the dynamic equations both in frequency and time domain. I highly recommend the class.

por Shankhaneel B

Aug 09, 2020

This course required a lot of brain storming and individual effort but it was worth every minute spend on it. Kudos to Dr Emmanuel sir and his team for teaching us the fundamental in a very simple but effective way.

I'm indebted to them and looking forward to pursue the other course on fluid solid interactions.

por Philippe C

Jun 13, 2020

I really enjoyed this course which gave me a lot of insight on the nature of things around me. It is graphically pleasing with lots of exciting real world applications. Merci!

por Gopalchetty B

Jun 01, 2020

The course provided me with a clear and concise insight about waves and vibrations. A must seek course for undergraduate as well as graduate students.

por BERTHING J G B

Feb 28, 2019

contain the most topic in a first course on vibration, with many practical research, with a expert teacher, MANY THANKS

por Divyarajsinh G R

May 18, 2020

I learned very much and this easy to learn and it's free of cost so everyone is learning and got certificate

por Veronica B C

Jun 22, 2020

Absolutely wonderful course. I love the enthusiasm of the teachers. Thank you so much!!!

por Rahul K P

Jun 18, 2020

It will really explore you to the new knowledge of Vibration and Acoustics.

por Kopparapu V M k

Nov 22, 2019

if you provide the key for this it will be helpful for unsolved questions

por Shubham M A

May 12, 2020

Nice course learned w lot about wave and vibration in a string etc.

por Mehmet Y

Oct 09, 2019

Perfect instructors, very valuable gains and insigihts.

por gk_18

Jun 26, 2020

Excellent material. Enjoyed the last quiz the most.