Chevron Left
Volver a History of Rock, Part One

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a History of Rock, Part One por parte de Universidad de Rochester

4.8
estrellas
913 calificaciones
258 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

Principales reseñas

SM

Oct 02, 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

BL

Mar 13, 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 256 revisiones para History of Rock, Part One

por Esteban M

Oct 14, 2020

Excelent! John Covach is a wise, tranquil and amazing teacher. I will do the second part. Thank You, John!

por Jeff K

May 07, 2020

Such a good course! It only makes you wish there was time to go more in depth about every topic covered!

por Niki

May 06, 2020

Great Teacher :) Really enjoyed this course. It was well-rounded, clear and very interesting. Thank you !

por Franc M

Oct 06, 2020

I have enjoyed a lot this course and learned a lot of things. Hoping to start part 2 as soon as I can!

por Mauricio A S P

Aug 15, 2019

Te entrega mucho conocimiento de la historia del rock y en realidad de la música en general, muy bueo

por Carrie F

Jun 26, 2017

Great info, I loved listening to the music and learning about the bands! Can't wait to get to Part 2!

por Cathy G

Jan 24, 2017

Extremely knowledgeable teacher!! You will learn amazing facts and details of the rise of rock music.

por Andrew G

Jun 30, 2016

Very, very well done course -- great information, well presented and well paced. Highly recommended!

por Michael V

Nov 09, 2015

Terrific course. John Covach knows the material and presents it well. Enjoyed the course immensely.

por Geert P

Oct 08, 2016

Great course, with great stories. A Professor you can listen to for hours. Absolutely top notch!

por Huang K

Jan 15, 2016

The professor gives a fun speech on music and I really enjoy watching as well as listening in his

por Steve M

Apr 13, 2020

Great insight and learning course about the greatest music in the world,

Rock and roll! 🎼🤪🎸

por Ferdinand P

Jan 26, 2018

A truly amazing class. I had a great time and learned a lot. I'm looking forward to Part 2!

por 任欣雨

Dec 04, 2016

Very good course for beginner to know about rock history,looking forward to join the Part.2

por Aline D

Mar 03, 2016

I loved the content and found the teacher spectacular. This is a really fun course to take.

por Brendan C

Nov 14, 2018

This was fantastic preparation to help me teach a course using this text next school year.

por luis g

Aug 13, 2017

Really nice course to know about history of music on the first 6 decades of XX century

por Joanne P

Jun 05, 2020

Entertaining and informative. Terrific instructor. I would recommend it to a friend.

por Phyllis S

Jul 31, 2016

Delivered by an instructor whose lectures are knowledgeable, well-paced and dynamic.

por Zillah K

Aug 29, 2015

Fascinating account of popular music, mostly American, from 1955 to 1970. I love it.

por Kathy P

Mar 22, 2020

Very informative and fun to learn so much about music. Looking forward to part two.

por Gregg H

Apr 12, 2016

Exciting course, especially if you use the book and the additional on-line material

por Marcos L R G

Feb 24, 2016

Great course. I love rock and now I understand better this wonderful kind of music.

por Brittani G

Jan 15, 2019

This was extremely fun and informational. You can impress your friends at parties.