Chevron Left
Volver a HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.8
5,033 calificaciones
1,796 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Do you realize that the only functionality of a web application that the user directly interacts with is through the web page? Implement it poorly and, to the user, the server-side becomes irrelevant! Today’s user expects a lot out of the web page: it has to load fast, expose the desired service, and be comfortable to view on all devices: from a desktop computers to tablets and mobile phones. In this course, we will learn the basic tools that every web page coder needs to know. We will start from the ground up by learning how to implement modern web pages with HTML and CSS. We will then advance to learning how to code our pages such that its components rearrange and resize themselves automatically based on the size of the user’s screen. You’ll be able to code up a web page that will be just as useful on a mobile phone as on a desktop computer. No “pinch and zoom” required! Last but certainly not least, we will get a thorough introduction to the most ubiquitous, popular, and incredibly powerful language of the web: Javascript. Using Javascript, you will be able to build a fully functional web application that utilizes Ajax to expose server-side functionality and data to the end user....

Principales revisiones

SW

Mar 15, 2016

This was a really great course, i learned so much, and it was really interesting and very well explained. I will be taking any more courses done by Yaakov! Really excellent course, thank you so much.

NC

Mar 16, 2018

Excellent course, specially if you are a professional but in different technologies/ languages, from the back-end world, etc... You will progress very fast as it goes right to the essential notions.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 1,719 revisiones para HTML, CSS, and Javascript for Web Developers

por Sergiu C

Jan 14, 2019

Old information, course need to be updated.

por L4

May 13, 2019

In short:

Good: Instructor explains well, course is well structured, contents can be followed easily

Bad: outdated content, mainly Bootstrap 3

Detailed:

Week 1: Introduction to HTML. I'm not exactly new to HTML, so I kind of skipped the first week videos and did only the quizzes, which were not difficult.

Week 2: Introduction to CSS. I had no experience with CSS, so found the contents really helpful. The assignment at the end, while not difficult at all, helps to practice the contents of the week.

Week 3: I like the idea of creating a website from scratch as you can see the thought processes that goes into designing a website and can also pick up few tips and tricks on the way. That would be my main takeaway from week 3. Bootstrap is also introduced. However, the contents in this regard are outdated since the instructor uses Bootstrap 3 but as of 2019, there is Bootstrap 4. I did the assignment using Bootstrap 4 and there are definitely differences between the two versions. Nevertheless, it is not that bad, since it is possible to find the required information from the Bootstrap documents, w3schools, stackoverflow etc.

Week 4 and 5: Introduction to JavaScript. The instructor goes through the fundamentals of JavaScript and the explanations are illustrative and good. The assignments at the end of the weeks are, on the other hand, very basic and way too easy.

por Jingxuan W

May 27, 2019

The content is EXTREMELY outdated. Lots of the implementations only fit the web development environment from FOUR years ago. The course materials were built in 2016. I had to double check at least 70% of the instructions from all kinds of resources because what was taught in the video does not work anymore. It could have been such a great course, if the instructor spends some time fixing those bugs. Now this thing is full of bug

por James K

Jan 31, 2019

Unclear and outdated guide to installing the programs required for the course. Very disappointed.

por Mary B

Nov 07, 2018

This is a really challenging course if you've never worked with Git or Javascript. It's well presented and the projects are very relevant, but I would not recommend starting web development here, even if you've had other languages. I tore my hair out and am now starting at the beginning. I highly, highly recommend this course and the instructor if you've had an intro anytime in the past.

por KOWSHIK K

Nov 22, 2018

I've been doing some online courses recently. This is the best course I have done.

por Buzzwoo

Dec 05, 2018

It's cover all details you needed!

por Jackson K

Dec 06, 2018

Great course! The concepts were very well explained and demonstrated with code. Building a real website using what was taught makes the entire process more concrete, and it shows the students that they can work on their own projects. Thanks to all who made this course available, and congratulations to the instructor on a job well done.

por Oscar C

Dec 15, 2018

Excellent course, I appreciate too much what you do as platform letting us counting with excellent tutors like Yaakov who teaches every single thing that's possible in a funny and very comprehensive way.

Please keep it up!

por MohammadReza R

Dec 13, 2018

Nice Course, I learned a lot and Love it.

por Shahzaib

Nov 30, 2018

Very beneficial for every type of learner. I enhanced my skills trough this course.

por BANTY K M

Apr 22, 2019

Awesome course 😊

por Hung N

Jul 25, 2019

Excellent!

por Purbani s

Aug 07, 2019

The explanation of the topic good !.The task given in the course was little difficult but was fun to do. I liked the way the istructor taught each and every concept very deeply.

por Xumin C

Nov 29, 2018

I learn a lot about HTML and CSS3

por Brittney P

Jan 10, 2019

Course was good, but last assignment felt lackluster. There was lots of code that was went over in the last week and it wasn't broken down at all and the assignment barely skimmed the surface. Other than that, I thought the other weeks were really well laid out and the assignments fit the subject matter.

por Yarosav S

Mar 01, 2019

Firstly, this course is not for beginners. If you don't know basics of HTML, CSS and especially JS (author also noticed it) you must learn it by yourself before entering this course or choose another one. If you're super beginner it will be much confusing! Secondly, there are a lot of old information ( starting from github set up and finishing with old stuff in lectures). For example, you will study old version of Bootstrap wich CSS classes was to much updated in latest version so it's too foolishly.

However, this course gives a lot of useful information to supplement your knowledge. There were a lot of neccesary things that i learned, and i suggest you to take this course if you know some basics of HTML, CSS and JS.

Good luck!

por Andreas H

Apr 08, 2019

Very good all-round intro and specialisation to HTML5, CSS3 and JavaScript. The constant loop back to real world problems is very helpful in applying the learned skills.

What lets the course down a little though is it not being up to date - I think its around 4-5 years old now and in the frontend world thats a long time.

por Patrick S

Nov 23, 2018

I really like his teaching style and complete explanations of topics BUT..... This course is based on an older version of twitter bootstrap and the newer version (4) is not compatible so I had to constantly look up how to change the code. In the middle of week 3, I wasn't even sure what parts of the code were the problem so I decided this was not worth it. I'm going to find some other course that either doesn't use bootstrap or uses the updated bootstrap. I think this course would be much much better if it did not rely on Bootstrap. It's a great program but it involves a lot of complexity that doesn't seem to be necessary at a beginners level.

por Christina R

Mar 18, 2017

If you don't want to actually learn what anything means and just get walked through steps on how to do things then take this course. But if you're a beginner to HTML, CSS, and Java Script, this isn't for you. He doesn't actually TEACH you anything, he just takes you through the process. They haven't updated the course content to actually match what is on GitHub's page, so from the start you have to go into the FAQs to figure out where to go from there. It's really frustrating because he will just skip steps, and because he doesn't explain WHY he's doing something, if you miss a step, you get completely lost. I've taken a few coursera courses, and this was the most frustrating course I have taken.

por Johanna N

Apr 30, 2018

This course sucks!! There is no way one can be a beginner and learn HTML, CSS and Javascript from this course. They jump right into really difficult stuff even in the first week and don't even go through the basics even though it says "basic". No way in hell one can learn to code from this course, such a waste of money!!!!

por Muhammad M T

Nov 17, 2018

Excellent Course. Learnt alot in this and especially i really like the professional real life approach for the project being made in this course. Really looking forward to join more courses from this instructor.

por rana a

Nov 17, 2018

great course

por Jun W

Dec 25, 2018

A wonderful course.

por Robert C

Dec 24, 2018

Good starter course, for beginners or young developers