Chevron Left
Volver a Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics por parte de Universiteit Leiden

4.7
estrellas
2,124 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Everywhere, every day, everybody uses language. There is no human society, no matter how small or how isolated, which does not employ a language that is rich and diverse. This course introduces you to linguistics, featuring interviews with well-known linguists and with speakers of many different languages. Join us to explore the miracles of human language! The Miracles of Human Language introduces you to the many-faceted study of languages, which has amazed humans since the beginning of history. Together with speakers of many other languages around the world, as well as with famous linguists such as Noam Chomsky and Adele Goldberg, you will learn to understand and analyse how your native tongue is at the same time similar and different from many other languages. You will learn the basic concepts of linguistics, get to know some of the key features of big and small languages and get insight into what linguists do. This course gives an introduction into the study of languages, the field of linguistics. With the support of the basic linguistic terminology that is offered in the course, you will soon be able to comment both on variety between languages, as well as on a single language’s internal structure. Anyone who wishes to understand how languages work, and how they can give us insight into the human mind is very welcome to join. The course is useful if you want to get a fairly quick introduction into linguistics, for instance because you are considering studying it further, or because you are interested in a neighbouring discipline such as psychology, computer science or anthropology. Furthermore, the course will help you develop analytical skills. If you are curious to understand how language works and how it gives insight into the human mind, this course is definitely for you!...

Principales reseñas

DC

23 de sep. de 2017

Extremely informational, well presented, with questions that stimulate reflection. The optional reading material is food for thought. I hope to see more courses from the same professor and University.

SS

29 de nov. de 2021

I've taken a number of online courses on linguistics now, and this one was by and far the best. The material covered is indepth and engaging, and the professor's enthusiam makes the videos a delight.

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 642 revisiones para Miracles of Human Language: An Introduction to Linguistics

por Michael C

21 de jul. de 2017

The course presents very interesting subject matter, and the professor and his assistants do this in a very enthusiastic, energetic and interesting manner.

por Larine F A

20 de jun. de 2017

Taking this course made me realize how amazing the study of Linguistics is. I really enjoyed watching the classes and interacting with my peers and tutors.

por Hope A

11 de jun. de 2020

I really enjoyed this MOOC as it was interactive and really improved my knowledge of linguistics. It was difficult at times, but well worth it at the end!

por Yerang K

9 de jul. de 2016

Very motivating lecturer and really satisfying contents!

I am so satisfied with the courese metarial including the module itself and the reading matarials

por Viktorija B

23 de mar. de 2020

This is a wonderfully structured, informative, and entertaining course, excellent both for beginners and for people who have already dabbled in language.

por Ángel M

3 de oct. de 2019

A great and complete introduction to the exciting world of linguistics, with emphasis on language diversity and endangered languages. Highly recommended.

por Silvia T

3 de jun. de 2020

I loved the contents and the way such complex topics were explained. I am linguist and this mooc gave me a wider view on how to write my phd proposal.

por Fran R H

13 de nov. de 2016

Me encantó el curso. Recordé muchas cosas y aprendí otras tantas. La interfaz fue muy amigable y los expositores muy agradables. Lo recomiendo al 100%

por Stephanie Y

30 de abr. de 2021

Excellent course! I've learnt a lot and it has opened my eyes into the vast world of linguistics and makes me want to continue learning this subject.

por אביב ב

20 de jul. de 2020

I loved the materials! The lectures were clear and mind opening. Everything was with a smile! What a great attitude! Thank you. Highly recommended :)

por Jacqueline A Á V

15 de nov. de 2019

Me gusto mucho el curso, me ayuda a seguir revitalizando el idioma Kunza de mi pueblo indígena Lickanantay, agradezco los conocimientos entregados.

por Kate

7 de sep. de 2018

This course is so fun and informative, and I was actually sad when it ended. Oostendorp is a fantastic professor and I highly recommend his course.

por vassilopoula

29 de nov. de 2017

The course is very interesting and well presented. Professor is very helpful and not boring at all. I look forward to any next course by Leiden Uni

por Sufia S

24 de feb. de 2022

An amazing course. The course is very well structured and the activities and assignments are extremely informative and have practical assessment.

por Myriam N

14 de jun. de 2020

This course was very interesting and talked about many topics related to Linguistics. It's perfect for people that don't know anything about it !

por Jorge F

14 de jul. de 2019

I totally recommend this course. It was academically rigorous and fun at the same time. Thank you for the opportunity of being part of this mooc.

por Farah K

13 de ene. de 2022

Amazing course that gave me the push I needed. It contains all the basic information one needs to dive into this amazing field of linguistics.

por Semiramis G d A

1 de sep. de 2021

I am Semiramis Almeida. I want to congratulate you on this course. The content and the teacher are excellent. I am happy about studying it.

Tks

por aditik

15 de ago. de 2020

Really well structure and organized course! The lectures were engaging and included really interesting interviews, discussions and activities!

por Arianne L

30 de ago. de 2020

Very informative and covers a lot of good topics. I would certainly recommend this course to other people that are interested in linguistics.

por Pablo

26 de jul. de 2016

I very much liked the professor, he has a contagious energy and is entertaining to hear and watch. Overall an excellent course, learned a lot

por Wee K N

29 de ene. de 2020

The videos are clear and informative. The recommended reading materials are interesting and relevant. The informants' video are interesting.

por Hanna P

8 de ago. de 2016

without any doubt the best course among those I have studied or tried out on and beyond coursera. a huge thanks to the whole team behind it!

por Damaris S

9 de ago. de 2020

I learned so much about Linguistics that I had previously not learned. I loved the structure of the course and the flexibility it offered.

por Fernanda M

27 de ene. de 2018

The course was excellent. I could review some of the main concepts of Linguistic through very well designed lessons and fruitful material.