Chevron Left
Volver a Human Rights for Open Societies

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Human Rights for Open Societies por parte de Universidad de Utrecht

4.7
estrellas
308 calificaciones
71 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Human rights are under pressure in many places across the globe. Peaceful protests are violently quashed. Voting is tampered with. And minorities are often excluded from decision-making. All of this threatens the ideal of an open society in which each of us can be free and participate equally. A solid protection of human rights is needed for an open society to exist and to flourish. But it is often an uphill battle to work towards that ideal. Equip yourself and learn more about what human rights are and how they work. In this course, we will introduce you to one of the world’s most intricate human rights systems: the European Convention on Human Rights. You will see when and how people can turn to the European Court of Human Rights to complain about human rights violations. You will learn how the Court tries to solve many of the difficult human rights dilemmas of today. We will look, amongst other things, at the freedom of expression and demonstration, the right to vote, and the prohibition of discrimination. And we will address the rights of migrants, refugees, and other vulnerable groups. And, of course, we will see whether it is possible to restrict rights and if so under what conditions. You will even encounter watchdogs and ice cream in this course. We invite you to follow us on a journey of discovery into the European Convention!...

Principales reseñas

DM

Jun 11, 2017

Very good to find out the basics. What are human rights, what they represent and in which way we should interpret them. Also, it has an easy language so you don't need law school or other studies.

SG

Jun 19, 2017

This has been a great introduction to the European Convention and Court of Human Rights. It has really helped deepen understanding of the treaty and how the court functions.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 71 revisiones para Human Rights for Open Societies

por Dorin C M

Jun 11, 2017

Very good to find out the basics. What are human rights, what they represent and in which way we should interpret them. Also, it has an easy language so you don't need law school or other studies.

por Tofail A

Sep 28, 2019

Who knows or care about the UNHDR? I care and everyone might have care about it. I am thankful for the access to learn more about it....

por Shaima I

May 31, 2020

I didn't know much about human rights when I started this course. This course is really good for someone who doesn't have a sound knowledge in this field. The contents were well placed(you will find it in the schedule for every week) . It was mostly about the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) which I believe is relevant to all. I had no difficulty in understanding the lectures. It was all explained in simple English. The reading materials weren't lengthy. Quizzes were easy and was based to a critical problems concerning human rights .Was an excellent and insightful course. I could complete it in less than five weeks.

por sara a

Mar 24, 2018

I have been very pleased with my presence within your educational group and I have benefited greatly from the information, considering that my field of architecture studies is not well versed in this field so you have opened our eyes to some important concepts that we need in our lives and especially in these days the days of war that our cities are facing

por Joseph J A

Jun 19, 2017

An excellent introduction to Human Rights in an inclusive and Open Society. I have learned a lot about the basic rights that ALL human beings have irrespective of the countries they reside in. All states have an obligation to ensure that those human rights are protected at all cost and in the best interests of each and every citizen and non-citizen!

por Consie L

Dec 30, 2016

This course has offered sufficient information on the ECHR system, and the relationship between Open societies and human rights. By giving concrete examples, the course is able to explain, even simplify, complex (legal) concepts and cases. I strongly recommend this course for everyone wishing to have basic knowledge on how the ECHR system works.

por Luca G

Mar 01, 2020

An absolutely interesting course that unites the issue of the protection of human rights and open societies in a fluid and stimulating way. The course allowed me to fully analyze the ECHR and bring it to life in understanding how open societies develop and how important the protection of human rights is for their evolution.

por YALCIN O

Mar 03, 2019

I find this subject very very important. The course is great for everyone who want to learn something about human rights and open democracy relationship. The content of the course is not boring, and there are many examples from real life that help us to understand better. I strongly advice to everyone.

por Sarah H

Dec 18, 2016

Fascinating course, had a blast learning about the topics covered. Can see that it would be useful across many fields of work/expertise, or just for the fun of learning, and also still very useful and applicable even if you're not from a country that is not included in this particular convention.

por Julieta C

Mar 09, 2018

The course content was really good, i found on this course the necessary resources and tools to really have a deep comprehension about what it means human rights for open societies within the context of the ECHR and Convention.

I am really glad i have choosen the course ,very reccomendable

por Kateryna B

May 29, 2020

Very insightful course! Would recommend it to everyone who wants to get a deeper understanding of notions of democracy, open society and human rights and how they correlate with each other. In plus, it was very interesting to learn some peculiarities of the ECtHR logic!

por Mehmet y G

Sep 18, 2020

çok güzel bir kurs idi ücretsiz ve sertifikalı olması müthiş bir şey. :) beni bu kursa yönlendiren en büyük şey ise Türkçe alt yazı bulunması idi. Çünkü maalesef sitede çok az hukuk dersinde Türkçe alt yazı bulunuyor :( kursta emeği geçenlere çok teşekkürler :))

por Antonija P P

Jun 19, 2017

Amazing for all the beginners. The course has very clear structure, which enables you to connect all the topics. Very clear lectures and quizzes that help you with further understanding. Wish they would have also some more advanced courses.

por Санина Д А

May 11, 2020

As a law student this course was very interesting and relevant to my studying field. The knowledge I have got during 6 weeks definitely will be useful for my career. Thank you for the time and effort you put into this course!

por María I P

Oct 18, 2017

It is an excellent opportunity to learn about human rights and acknowledge its importance within a democracy. The lectures are thorough, supported by materials of great quality, as well as experienced intructors.

por ROGER H A V

Feb 23, 2020

thanks to the course, i live in venezuela. they have given me excellent tools and knowledge. they are very significant courses and of deep learning to those who study and are defenders of human rights

por Shabana G

Jun 19, 2017

This has been a great introduction to the European Convention and Court of Human Rights. It has really helped deepen understanding of the treaty and how the court functions.

por Anna X W

Jun 12, 2017

The course is prepared very well, professional. Knowledge served in a very accessible way. I started with a basic level and I'm glad that I've done all the lessons.

por JOHN Q

Jul 29, 2017

Interesting course and fun to see stated the rights we have in America stated as human rights for all open societies.

por Somyajit S

May 08, 2020

Through these course I came to learn a lot of important things and got a lot of knowledge about ECHR.

por Jay M

May 06, 2020

I personally like this course, if you really wish to know about human rights prefer this course only.

por PHẠM N Á

Sep 04, 2019

very comprehensive and the professors talk very cleary, easy to understand!

Love from Vietnam - Cảm Ơn

por Alina A

Dec 30, 2016

This course is an excellent guide to the problems and benefits of human rights within open society!

por Tri I Z

Mar 20, 2017

I really like this subject, it comprehend my knowledge especially about human rights. Thank you.

por Aybüke A

Jun 23, 2017

I loved that it was a great summary and also the quality of the materials were also impressive