Chevron Left
Volver a Indigenous Canada

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Indigenous Canada por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.8
estrellas
4,635 calificaciones
1,765 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Principales reseñas

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

JS

Oct 22, 2020

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 1,788 revisiones para Indigenous Canada

por Christopher M C

Aug 12, 2018

It was refreshing to take a course whose aim was to present the breadth of a major topic. It succeeded. Along the way, it probed the depth of several major subtopics and provided great resources for further exploration. I started taking notes in week 1, but soon put my pencil down, as few words were wasted in the lectures and it became clear that everything being said was important. I'm American and was searching for a course on Native Americans in the U.S. I found this one first and I'm glad I did - it was a treat!

por Emma B

Aug 20, 2020

This was an informative, engaging, and well-organised course, which I am very glad that I was able to participate in. The blend of lectures and reading was effective: I appreciated being able to listen, take virtual notes, and access the text for each unit. The visual art component for each unit was excellent. I would thoroughly recommend this course to people, whether fellow educators, Canadian residents, or those with interest simply in learning and understanding more about Canada. Thank you for this opportunity.

por Mary-Anne O

Oct 10, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this eye opening learning experience. We are so smug being Canadian, born in such an amazing country. However, learning the price that indigenous peoples paid so that Canada could become the “Best” country in the world is very humbling. I thank you from the bottom of my heart ♥️ for opening my eyes and my heart. I will recommend this course to everyone I know.

I absolutely love the live QnAs on Sunday’s and will continue watching them. I commend you all for your dedication and enthusiasm.

por Jennifer S

Aug 07, 2020

It is vital for Canadians to look carefully at all systemic racism in Canada, and not just that which is front page news. Our Indigenous communities are the original victims of our systemic racism and we need to do better. One way of doing better is knowing better. We can get closer to our Indigenous peoples by learning about them through their own representations, and not that of an education system directed by predominantly white scholars. This course is a generous start to learning, and I highly recommend it.

por Sharifa D R

Jun 18, 2018

This course was an amazing introductory course to Indigenous Worldview, Community, and History. The only way humanity can do better, is to educate themselves of failures and wrongdoings in the past. #preventhistoryfromrepeatingitself I hope this course acts as a staring point for people who want to know more about the Indigenous land we are inhabiting. As mentioned in the course there is much more knowledge to be learned, and I am sad the course was not longer. I Highly recommend this course to every Canadian!

por Gwendolyn F

Jun 05, 2017

Indigenous Canada Course has opened my understanding of the powers that be and the destruction this power had/has over so much.

How Indigenous people held on to their culture in various ways to continue into the present, traditionally with modern inclusion.

How the Aborigine in Australia have used the North America Indigenous/Aboriginal culture to parallel with theirs.

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity of learning more of the cultures where I came from and gaining an appreciation for original "Canadians".

por Stefanie K

Jul 26, 2020

Not only were the instructors delivering the content in a spectacular way, but the voice-overs of chiefs, as well as the interviews with members of the community really put the entire course together. The history being told was such an eye-opener and helped to structure my support further for the Indigenous community. The interactive paintings at the end were so beautiful and well done, and it really shows the depth of history. I will begin to educate those around me with this authentic knowledge. Thank you!

por Kim R

Jun 03, 2017

This course was truly inspiring and eye-opening. Each and every Canadian should take this course in order to educate him or her to the complexities of Indigenous peoples' history and culture. As an educator for 30 years, I wish that I had been more knowledgeable of the struggles and history, so that I could have better taught my students. I hope that more courses such as the one you have provided will be made available, so that myself and others can further our studies. Thank you so much for this opportunity

por Andrew B

Aug 06, 2020

This course was fantastic. There were a few glitches here and there, but they were merely technical. As someone who should know more, but knew almost nothing about the history of the country where I was born and the peoples who it belongs to, I now have an entire notebook of notes. I think that this course provided an extremely in-depth overview and I cannot wait to dive deeper into these histories and complex societies. I even picked up The Indigenous Peoples of Canada Atlas collection for further reading.

por Jazmyn-Rae D

Aug 05, 2020

I was raised on community and attended school in a small town just outside. I went to a French Immersion school until grade 10, until my parents let me make the decision on whether or not I will complete highschool with French under my belt. After this course, it helped me better understand my culture and what my ancestors have done to ensure I gave the tools I need to continue our battles for our rights. This course was taught at a great paste and offered great learning tools, I highly suggest enrolling.

por Maureen E S

Oct 22, 2020

I live in Scotland (UK). After watching my hero Dan Levy talk about this course i decided to undertake it. During the course I have cried with the pain of the past and the mistreatment to Indigenous people. I have also learned and appreciated throughout my journey. I highly recommend this wonderful and interesting course. I have found the lecturers, videos and reading fantastic. Clear and easy to follow. I personally think everyone should undertake this course. Thank you again. Love Maureen

por Linda O

Oct 03, 2020

Thank you for making such a valuable resource available online and free! This added so much to my knowledge of Indigenous culture, history and contemporary issues. The topics were rich and diverse with enough depth to understand historical and contemporary perspectives of Indigenous peoples. The interactive tools, community interviews and use of art really added a lot of value. I am grateful to University of Alberta for leading the way and I hope all Canadians get to take advantage of this resource.

por Matt A

Sep 20, 2020

It is the best massive open online course I've ever taken. I'm blown by how the instructors/developers managed to put together a self-paced course with an enormous amount of information and yet kept the course interesting. It is a lot, but each module is a fascinating and eye-opening learning experience. I'm grateful that I get to go through this course and look at Canadian history through Indigenous' lenses. This is a fantastic course. It's a must for history fanatics and everyone else in Canada.

por Lafferty

Sep 05, 2020

I would consider this course to be essential to learning and gaining an understanding of Canadian history for every Canadian. I am 69 years old and have adult children both of whom have native studies degrees and education degrees from the u of a, and have invested their careers into bettering the condition of indigenous people and It is a privilege for me to be able to take courses that will allow me to better understand and appreciate what they do, so thank you for this incredible opportunity.

por Kailey D

Sep 12, 2020

Amazing. As a Metis person living in Canada there was a lot of things I did not know or understand how they came to be, it was amazing to be able to learn and relearn many things and put puzzle pieces together for my own experiences and families experiences. I am very grateful for this course and have recommended it to many friends and family. I leave this course with a greater understanding of the indigenous world around me and again, I feel extremely thankful that a course like this exists.

por Bonnie H

Aug 30, 2020

I got so much out of this course and learned so much that was never included in the school curriculum.

It would be a great thing if everyone would take this course, so that we could all be a little better educated on the indigenous in Canada. I feel it would help people to have compassion and empathy and understanding for all they have been through and all they are still going through. We need to all work together to make this country work to be mutually beneficial for everyone, not just some.

por Sahara Z F

Jul 22, 2020

It is a very interesting course. Learning about history has always been something that has interested me and this course was a very good resource in learning more about Indigenous people from Canada. I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in history regardless of where you are from. Knowing and recognizing colonization and its impacts not only helps us better understand the modern civilizations in America but it also helps us make sure we won't let anything like this happen again.

por Daniela M M

Sep 21, 2020

I really loved this course. It not only helped me unlearn so many more things about Indigenous history and colonialism, but it also taught me so much more about the colonial history of Canada and Indigenous peoples! So I am very grateful to Dr. Tracy Bear for creating this course, because it will help me in my future work with Indigenous communities and with my hopes to work in language revitalization. It was a truly marvellous course, and I hope many more Canadians choose to learn from it.

por Leanne S

Oct 15, 2020

I am told my father was a survivor of the residential school system. A Cree man from Northern Manitoba. I lost my father a few short weeks after I turned 14 when curiosity of my cultural roots was just beginning to take form. I am taking a journey of education, familiarization and connection to my Indigenous culture and this course has enlightened me, educated me and sparked an intense want to learn more and become connected to not only my culture but my father. For that, I am grateful.

por Hugh W

Jul 21, 2020

This was my first online course offered via coursera. I found the course on Indigenous Canada very enlightening, comprehensive, and honest. It was a nice mixture of facts, expert interviews, and relevant artwork. The course notes were very helpful to follow along as I watched the videos from the instructors. The module quizzes were a fairly stress free way to test your understanding. Thanks to the instructors for taking the time to put together such an important course for all Canadians!

por Christina F

Sep 16, 2020

This is the Indigenous History that our Canadian schools should have taught us. I greatly appreciated hearing the Indigenous perspectives on the many historical events that shaped this country. I also enjoyed how the course dove into the current movements, concerns and issues that Indigenous people are still facing. I think many minds would be changed after completing this course with an open mind. I am also proud that this course was offered by my Alma Mater, University of Alberta.

por William M G

Oct 20, 2020

In my own quest to follow the Red Road This will add another chapter of knowledge to my many chapters I have learned. This program is very easy for me to understand as an elder. It was also very complex because the answers had to be searched for, this allowed me to learn that skill. I am proud to be a student of your program. and am honored to be taught by the best I now know. If you have any more Indigenous study courses in the future please contact me

Chi Meegwiitch Much love

por Audrey D

Oct 26, 2020

A really wonderful course that will help so many of us who did not have this knowledge presented to us in our formal education in Canada to expand our world view and understanding of the context of Indigenous history in Canada, taught in this course from an Indigenous point of view. I will go back to the course notes many times I am sure as my learning and engagement with these issues grows.

Thank you so much all those involved in bringing this course to so many people.

por Sarah C

Sep 09, 2020

By far the best overview of Canadian history from an indigenous perspective that I have ever had. I wish I’d been exposed to this sooner! I will say the structure of some quiz questions was weird (grammatically I mean), but the course provides 3 attempts for each quiz so that more than made up for the occasional mistake due to misinterpretation of the strangely worded quiz question and/or answer selection. I will be recommending this course to all my friends and family!