Chevron Left
Volver a Indigenous Canada

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Indigenous Canada por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.8
estrellas
3,259 calificaciones
1,179 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Principales revisiones

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

AS

Sep 07, 2020

I found this course to be very informative. Thank you for the opportunity to see our shared history from another perspective. I hope this is as groundbreaking for my fellow Canadians as it was for me.

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 1,199 revisiones para Indigenous Canada

por Jeff H

Sep 22, 2018

Highly informative, challenges preconceived notions regarding Indigenous people within Canada. Not afraid to shed light on difficult parts of Canadian history that you don't always hear about in schools. A must-take for anyone interested in Canadian history, anyone interested in helping our FNMI people, or anyone wanting to know more about Canada's FNMI cultures.

por Ron M

Sep 14, 2020

I want to take this opportunity to thank the staff at the U of A who brought this course together and to offer it for free was outstanding. I have been looking for straight and honest information on the history of the Native peoples and what the governments role in colonization and has it and is it still going on today. Which sadly it is. Thank you again Ron M.

por Wally S

May 19, 2019

I was blessed to have taken this course and to have increased my awareness and understanding of indigenous peoples, the role that they have played in Canada, their history, and the shameful what that the European settlers treated them and that we as "new Canadians" have treated them. I would highly recommend this course. It will educate you and open your mind.

por Chinwe U

Apr 25, 2020

I really enjoyed learning about Indigenous history in Canada. I took this course to increase my understanding of Indigenous history and contemporary matters. This course delivered. It has provided me with a good understanding of the fundamentals, and offered me a roadmap to build upon that knowledge. I am also very grateful that this is being offered for free.

por Matteo C F

Jun 18, 2017

Learnt a great deal that I only wish had been covered through out my formal education. Thank you so much for this. I hope to find additional ones I can take to keep on expanding my knowledge. Thank you for the intersectional approach through out the course, the guest speakers, integrating different modalities of learning through out, and really just all of it.

por Andrea G

May 05, 2020

This was a very well done course. I enjoyed the various topics discussed and the paintings that went along with the topics. As a non-Indigenous person I learned a lot about the Indigenous peoples and their cultures. They are truely the lands caretakers and they should be respected for all their knowledge and beliefs. Thank you for such a wonderful course!

por Paul N

Jul 15, 2020

I may have already written a review but never the less. Thank you! If you are thinking or wanting to lean more about Canadian history, indigenous history or colonialism, this course is for you. I was moved at more then one of the modules. Helped me answer questions about my own past. Thank you again, looking forward to taking more courses with Coursera.

por Chris A

Sep 03, 2020

The course is fantastic. Seeing Canada through an Indigenous lens is a real eyeopener. I wish the content of this course was taught in schools when I was growing up, but unfortunately it was not.

This is my first online course and I thought the format was great. I personally find it much easier to retain what I see in video than through just reading texts.

por Adriana N D

Aug 24, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! I understand that it is such a vast topic to be covered in 12 modules, but still i feel that I learned so much. It makes me sad and angry that this perspective was not addressed when I was learning Canadian history in public school. Thank you for creating this course and I'm thrilled to see that it has such high enrolment!

por Oksana S

Sep 18, 2020

Really well laid out course, was interesting to listen to. that quiz questions were not difficult, some were a little bit tricky but very well laid out.

really makes me appreciate Indigenous people more and I believe just like science is a requirement for everyone in university, an Indigenous study class should be required or at least in high school .

por melissa

Aug 19, 2020

Amazing. Thank you so much for the time and effort into bringing forward so many issues I was unaware of or pondered. This course truly changed the way I can understand the indigenous peoples, their suffering, their thriving and community. Thank you everyone so much!

And thank you for mentioning the 1491s. I can't stop laughing. New favourite comedy!

por Jaki A

Aug 20, 2020

This course did a very good job of trying to cover a vast amount of information regarding Indigenous Peoples. My knowledge has grown as a result of doing this course. I notice that some of my language is changing as a result. I trust that my thinking will continue to expand and that I will seek opportunities for further growth. Thank you very much.

por Kamshi K

Jun 07, 2019

This is an excellent course. It's clear, concise, varied and easy to follow. It was good to be able to download the course notes and to make notes along the way using the "save note" function. It covered a wide range of aspects that any non-indigenous or unlearned indigenous person can gain much insight and information from. Highly recommended!!

por Sarah F

May 17, 2020

I learned a huge amount from this course and I’m so glad I took it. The writers did a good job creating a manageable course from what is an unmanageable amount of information: several thousand years of history covering hundreds of different nations and cultures. It gives a broad framework and I look forward to learning more to fill in the gaps.

por Jack M C

Sep 05, 2019

Covers a tonne of information on the history of indigenous peoples in Canada. I came here after reading a few books on First Nations history. This course has enabled me to learn more and will hopefully give me valuable knowledge that will benefit me and help my career path one day as a social worker wanting to immigrate to Canada in the future.

por Jon N

Sep 11, 2020

Thank you for producing this course. As an immigrant childthat had to integrate into the majority culture, my education never included much detail or encouragement to learn about the First Peoples that lived prior to colonization. This course has been informative and enlightening and I hope this type of knowledge is imparted on to all peoples.

por Rosanna U

Jul 04, 2020

I learned so much that was never taught in school which has glazed over the truth. I highly recommend this course if you truly want an understanding of the Indigenous Peoples of Canada and how they were treated and still currently are being treated to fully understand the full scope and not just what the Government and media wants to portray.

por Kathleen L

Sep 04, 2020

Super insightful and a great guide to understanding Canada's Indigenous history and the challenges Indigenous groups faced. My biggest takeaway was that each Indigenous group is unique and should be distinguished from one another, as their practices and culture are different and should be honoured differently. I highly recommend this course!

por David R

Sep 20, 2017

This is the history and social studies class we all should have had in school! My thanks to the instructors for filling in these deeply regretted blind spots in our education. I wonder how much more progress could have been made towards reconciliation if everyone was taught this 20 years ago. I heartily recommend this course to everyone!

por Sarah H

Jun 29, 2020

Fabulous course that gave me the foundation to further my own education in this area that's so important today. I knew I needed to learn more but didn't know where to start but I found this to be a good starting point. The videos were concise and informative and the teachers are great. I appreciate that this course was made the way it was.

por Joselynn C

Jun 17, 2020

This course ought to be a mandatory course for high schools. Certainly happy that I was able to take it in my adulthood, but would have been a good base to start the knowledge journey in my youth. Phenomenal professors and educators, and well thought out course syllabus. Thank you for your time and knowledge. This is indeed the beginning!

por Michael T

Sep 08, 2020

This course gave me a much deeper understanding and knowledge of the history of "Canada" that I was not taught in the BC school system. I also gained valuable insight into Indigenous cultures, practices, language, politics, worldview, and art, and the ways that these have remained resilient/intact despite ongoing oppression and erasure.

por Jacqueline K

Feb 05, 2020

Super informational! Lots more legal and socio-cultural impact analysis than I was expecting, or usually receive in my education. Super insightful and teaches much more in-depth than I've ever gotten through the school system. Would love to learn more about the scientific and medical advances that were made or buried with colonialism

por Mandy N

Jul 26, 2019

Fascinating course with great instructors. Each unit goes into plenty of depth on each topic, it doesn't just skim. I especially liked the last unit on modern indigenous art which I knew nothing about, now I have a lot of new artists to enjoy. I will definitely be checking out more courses from the University of Alberta. Thank you!

por Karen N

Jul 20, 2020

This 12-week course takes the learner on a journey of understanding of the Indigenous peoples of Turtle Island. Elaborating enough on the history and current issues to encourage the learned to delve into a deeper understanding of the past, current issues, and forge toward activism for future change. I highly recommend this course.