Chevron Left
Volver a Indigenous Canada

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Indigenous Canada por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.8
estrellas
13,220 calificaciones
5,108 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Principales reseñas

MJ
8 de dic. de 2020

Thanks for teaching me a lot about indigenous history in Canada. I am inspired to learn more. I just finished Chelsea Vowel’s book, Indigenous Writes and I’m currently reading the summary of the RCAP.

JS
21 de oct. de 2020

I really enjoyed the course! So much I didn't know about the history. I also didn't have a true understanding why there is so much discourse between Indigenous people and government. Total eye opener.

Filtrar por:

226 - 250 de 5,347 revisiones para Indigenous Canada

por Edward B

21 de oct. de 2020

As a 68 y/o white male from the U. S., this course was eye opening and very educational. While the course focused on Canada and the Indigenous/First Nation issues, I felt it also mirrored the struggles and unfairness that First Nation Peoples in the U. S. face and still face today. I'm new, sad to say, to the conversation about injustice within the Indigenous Peoples community. I was taken that the art that is beautifully presented at the end of each module included, as a point of leadership, nearly all male figures because I learned that it was women that decided much of Indigenous life and are particularly important now in 2020 as we forge ahead both in Canada and the U. S. I was hoping to see women portrayed in art in a more positive, more forward-leaning place in the depiction of Indigenous future. Thanks for an outstanding course!

por Dave D

29 de ago. de 2021

This course is a start to educating and presenting a better understanding of what the Indeginous communities, it's history, it's values and movement is about. For this course to be effective on an educational stand point of view it will need to continue to offer the more courses on these lines to be effecive so that the 400,000 people that enrolled can can continue to learn and be educated of Indigenous communites. You have a good platform you need to reach a bigger audience.

Education is the key. Funding to offer these courses (free) is the other key.

I have an understanding of the plight of the Indigenous people and the effects of colonization. i would like to understand more of the present day roles, workings of self governace of Indigenous communities.

Thank you for your time. The presentation was great. Dave Delaney 506-349-4723

por Brenda N

27 de nov. de 2020

I learned a lot from this course. I thought it was presented very well- organized, methodical in it approach with a balanced view. I had taken a aboriginal womens studies course at Athabasca University this past year so was familiar with the powerful and engaged group of women who got together to fight the inequities in the Indian Act. These women are heroes- SHEroes. I did feel that there wasn't enough information on the Sixties Scoop or any real reference to the term, which may be for a reason, but felt it should be hightlighted to people understand the history of abuse to those families. I thought all the presenters did a wonderful job, telling their parts and were all compelling and engaging. I would love to do another one- that drilled down even further. Thank you for making this course available to us. Thank you Brenda Norfolk

por Pamela B

21 de nov. de 2020

I really loved this class. I grew up in ND and currently live in Minnesota, so my knowledge of Indigenous people in Canada was quite limited. I have Indigenous friends in Saskatchewan and the class helped me to understand some of their families' history and converse with them about a variety of issues. The course instructors were very knowledgeable and professional, and the topics were easy to follow and engaging. There was a great deal of history and wide range of topics covered in the 12 lessons. The class has inspired me to continue to learn more about Indigenous people in North America and follow the politics and issues more closely. I appreciate having the opportunity to take this free online class, and will explore other Coursera classes that are available. Thank you and I wish you all the best in future endeavors!!

por Sheron “ M

29 de mar. de 2021

I am sorry that the course is over. I looked forward to getting into “my Studies” when the days work could be put aside. Carrying the part of studies being worked on, be it at the Doctors office or waiting for an appointment was normal. While reading I remembered some of the information presented. My Great Aunt and Uncle shared a lot with me as a youngster, I wish I asked more of them. If I have a regret, it would be not being in a classroom situation learning the course material. I would have been one of your older students at 71 years but learning and absorbing information from youth is enlightening and energetic. Just an aside only redid one test module as I believed I could do better. I wanted to accept the grades I obtained In my first attempt by studying hard. Thank You for giving me the interest to further explore.

por Siegrid H

11 de mar. de 2021

Excellent course! I believe every Canadian should take this course before being allowed to graduate from Grade 12. Also, this course should be completed by every politician whether at a municipal, provincial or federal level. My level of understanding regarding Canadian aboriginal history, culture, art, and current issues has increased significantly.

The course material was efficiently presented, easy to navigate, and well organized. I especially enjoyed the backdrop, pictures, and photographs during the lectures. I would have liked more pictures depicting the work of the various artists highlighted in the last module.

I wanted to take this course for over a year now but didn't make the effort to register until I came across Dan Levy's video of encouragement. Thanks, Dan! Also, I appreciated the course was offered for free!

por Sarah F

2 de sep. de 2020

As a recent immigrant to Canada I don't know much about Canadian history, let alone Indigenous history. I thought this was a fantastic introductory course to begin to understand the complex groups of people who make up this country. It has definitely inspired me to seek out more information on Indigenous groups local to me and other places I travel in North America. I do think it was a bit generalising at times but the hosts acknowledged they couldn't talk about every nation in Canada in depth so I am happy to forgive this. I would have liked to see more pictures in the Art course but I now have the suggestions to look these up in my own time. I also thought it was very helpful to learn what certain terms actually mean, e.g. First Nations vs Indigenous, because this is something I have not quite understood since I arrived.

por Nancy D

11 de may. de 2021

I looked so forward to my weekly lessons from the perspective of the Professors Dr. Tracy Bear, Paul Gareau and other faculty as well as special guests and artist interviews. To have combined this with writer/actor Daniel Levy was a joy, ESPECIALLY during pandemic. The You Tube "after" conversations made me feel like I was in a classroom and helped me to frame and question what I learned - taking it forward to "now" and how I better understand what I was not taught. This gave me further insight into the teachings of Dr. Bear and Gareau too, plus caused me to deeply like them! From a technical standpoint, I appreciate the clear ease of structure of each week, clear downloads, options to view video or minimize to take notes. This platform FAR surpassed another one I had to do for work. -I bought the T Shirt : )

por Michael H

12 de jun. de 2017

I wanted to follow up on the TRC recommendations and become much more aware of historical and contemporary issues faced by indigenous peoples in a Canadian context. I thought this would a good course for accomplishing this. It was a great course!!!! I learned so much in this course and it was easy to do so even as a busy professional. I encourage everyone to take this course. As we celebrate the Canada 150, we should be aware that we are many nations and a smaller part of a much bigger family with a much greater shared destiny. We must find ways to be much more aware of our colonial past and strive toward a much more inclusive future. There is much to learn and this course is a great survey course for getting started. To the course instructors and organizers - Thank you very much, Merci beaucoup, and apijigo megwich!

por David L

22 de feb. de 2021

This course has opened my eyes and my heart to some of the realities and perspectives of Indigenous peoples across Canada (and beyond). Starting with Indigenous world views, provided a great foundation for appreciating everything that follows. There is a respectful tone to this course that I find both astounding and uplifting, given the magnitude and duration of the historical, and present-day traumas involved. Bravo to the content builders, the presenters, and the helpful TA's!! Thank you.

I was reminded of some dialogue I where two individuals were 'cooling off' after a very adversarial encounter. One commented 'We don't know each other very well, do we? We should do something about that." For me, that pretty much sums up the enormous value and potential of this course.

Warmest Regards, Dave Lafortune

por Karen L

15 de ago. de 2020

I am so grateful for all of the efforts put in to creating this course. I appreciate that this is a high level overview, and not an easy endeavor to take on with so many indigenous nations in Canada and such a long history as well. I learned so much, and appreciated having the perspective of Indigenous people rather than the same old dusty rhetoric. This has changed much of what I thought I knew, and reinforced much of what I already knew was not right in this country. I really appreciate how multiple facets of Indigenous oppression, and creative activism were front and center. Thank you to the course professors (Tracy and Paul), the instructors, the guest speakers, and the artists (Leah, your work is thoughtful and beautiful) who contributed.

Taking this course has opened my eyes, my mind, and my heart too.

por Catherine N

23 de ago. de 2021

This course was fantastic. It provided me with an increased sense of appreciation of and respect for Indigenous people. It filled in so many of the gaps in my education and I think these topics should be covered in every high school across the country. We as a nation can do better to be more inclusive in our behaviour and accepting of the rich & diverse backgrounds of all that live in Canada. With increased awareness, we can gain more momentum in the social movements currently happening and hopefully lessen the racism that exists in society/our systems. There is no better time than now for truth and reconciliation (it is long overdue!). I will also encourage others to participate and take this course. Thank you for this course offering. It has made a difference and a positive impact on my life as a Canadian.

por SWIFT G L

17 de feb. de 2021

The Course has really emancipated and expanded my view and knowledge about my dream country Canada. I can confidently talk and relate to what happened to the First nation indigenes and their lost due to their trust betrayal by past parties in the various agreements signed.

above all other issues, I love the onward progress made by the unifies tribes and the new comers living to forward peace and cooperation.

my appreciation goes to all my lovely lectures and the patience they gave to narrate each story clearly to my understanding, i will go over all the video's lecture s again and again, I Love you eleven though we not met yet, but hope to see you all, when I finally migrate to Canada in the near future.

Finally, I wish my full name Swift Gideon Lartey appears on my Certificates.

thanks ones more from my heart.

por Lorraine L

22 de sep. de 2021

Taking this course has truly been an eyeopening experience. I have to admit in the 1970's I would have definitely been categorized as a racist. I had moved from southwestern Manitoba to Regina where I worked as an RN in the Emergency department. If only I knew then what I have now learned. I am actually embarrassed by my attitude towards indigenous peopIe at that time. I have learned there was a residential school in Brandon MB that my Dad would not discuss. I now know why my father & uncle, who were farmers, were also raising foxes for their furs. I now understand the land claims & the treaties. To learn about the Indian Act & its implications was unbelievable! I firmly believe that every student in middle years should take this program & if not then - high school.

Thank you so much - Lorraine Lewis

por Gudrun v S

14 de sep. de 2020

I find this a great course for a deeper, meaningful understanding of indigenous history, the effects of colonialism, injustices, violence, residential schools, systemic racism, the Indian Act and many more themes. Developed and delivered entirely by Canadian indigenous people, it explains and discusses ways in which these issues and the intergenerational trauma caused by them, have been-, and are being- dealt with by the government and by the peoples. It highlights, through many examples, stories, interviews, diverse artwork, historical photos and quotes, the resilience and creativity, as well as past and current political and social activism initiated by indigenous people. I learned a lot and I feel I have a better understanding of many of the issues.

Thank you for making it available and accessible.

por DAWN M

16 de oct. de 2020

This course was such an exciting educational opportunity for me. I have always wanted to learn more about our Indigenous peoples. I learned so much about Indigenous culture and really began to understand how colonization affected their lives throughout the generations. This is NOT anything that I learned in school! Thinking back to the history lessons that I remember Indigenous people were portrayed in such an unjust light. The history lessons were so skewed. This course has inspired me to learn more, and to educate wherever and whenever I can. Thank you University of Alberta for offering this vital educational opportunity. And thank you to the Educators who shared their knowledge with such passion and pride. This course should be mandatory for all Canadians! Thank you again! Sincerely, Dawn Masters

por Jamies J L N

1 de may. de 2019

Thank you professors for your time and effort to create this wonderful course. I also graduated from the University of Alberta, and is proud to have these talented teachers who provide the amazing Indigenous Canada course which expands my knowledge in Indigenous history, art and culture. I have learned the traumas and unfair treatment that Indigenous People have faced in Canada, and feel empathetic about their experiences. Some ethnic minorities such as the Chinese has experienced racism before too, such as the Head Tax and Chinese Exclusion Act. I would like to work with Indigenous People in the future to hopefully change their lives to the better. May you continue to create another inspiring course in a different angle or topics, so we can explore more of the unknown of our First Nations People.

por Joyce D

7 de nov. de 2020

I found this course to be extremely well presented- factual, respectful, informative, comprehensive, with personable presenters. I am very touched, and moved, by the material, as opposed to the very dry, one sided Canadian history I was taught in school. I so appreciate that this course was created, and then made so accessible both via online learning and financially. It is so rare to receive something of such quality without laying out a lot of money. I am the Program Director of a Recovery Program for Women, and our staff team committed to completing this course, pretty much on their own time. I am again grateful for the opportunity to have our whole team move forward together in a much greater appreciation of the reality of the Indigenous communities in Canada.

Thank you so much.

Joyce Durette

por Bharti M

18 de jul. de 2020

Wish there was more interaction and ways to connect with the faculty and artists. Since I was a child I had been fascinated by your people, this is the first time I explored the surface of your culture and heritage. The course really made me think about the colonized and the colonizer as well. I come from a colonized country too, India, and as a child I would be asked do you mean Indian from India or Indian as in Red Indian. I have not heard the word Red Indian being used for decades but I never had any problem being mistaken for the same but I did always have a problem with being asked the question. Thank you to the faculty and artists who collaborated on the journey to make this available to the world. All the best for the continuation and future ventures as well. Regards, Bharti Mohan

por Wojciech T

19 de nov. de 2020

Thank you very much for this course. It gave me an opportunity to understand better not only the situation of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit people in Canada, but also reconsider the history and the contemporary situation of a country that I decided to make my own. Also, this course had a special value to me because the institution where I am working is committed to the process of reconciliation and indigenization. I had a rather superficial idea of the consequences of the direction such declaration would take us but now I have the tools and the minimum knowledge to meaningfully contribute to these efforts. Last, as an educator who moved teaching to an online platform due to the pandemic, I learned a lot from the structure , teaching strategies, and methods of evaluation used in this course.

por Heather E

5 de nov. de 2020

I highly recommend this course to everyone! I had no idea that so much racism existed and still exists within Canada, toward the Indigenous peoples. This course was highly educational because I never learned any of this in my history classes or regular education classes. There were times that I felt ashamed for how Canada treated and continues to treat Indigenous people and I hope that as more people acknowledge that this is occurring, that the racism will be transformed and healed. I found the YouTube talks with Tracy, Paul, Dan and a special guest that week, were really helpful in solidifying the weekly study. Thank you so much for putting this course together, I'm sure it took a lot of hard work and time, it's changed how I am as a person because it affected me deeply in a good way!

por Rick R

24 de nov. de 2020

A good overview of a complex, emotional and sometimes threatening topic for non indigenous people. As an overview and introduction, to people either unfamiliar with the topic (which should be a small minority) or those wishing to gain a bit more knowledge, I found that the course often slipped into academic lingo and almost seemed reluctant to simplify the language used to break down,describe, encapsulate and summarize content. I enjoyed the course, and after almost a decade away from my career as an adult educator; where one of my last projects was developing a course for a government ministry to introduce this topic to mostly non indigenous staff, I found this to be a good refresher ... I would recommend this course as a mandatory introduction to a more comprehensive course ..... thanks

por Susan M

9 de nov. de 2020

Indigenous Canada is an excellent course in all regards. The material is presented very effectively in that the material is layered so that learning is also layered as the weeks proceed. The course creators very effectively organized the materials. The production of videos, notes and interviews is also excellent and provides wonderful resource material for the future. The speakers are very engaging and communicated the material with knowledge and passion. While not part of the course material per se, the weekly Q&A with Dan Levy, Dr. Bear and Dr. Gareau and multiple guest speakers added a treasured aspect to the course that I am extremely grateful for. The Q&A brought it all even more to life and I enjoyed the visiting more than I can express. So overall, thank you for everything!

por Carolyn M

15 de jul. de 2021

Thank you for designing an informative and reflective journey into the history of colonization and the resiliency of the First Peoples of Turtle Island. I found it fascinating, horrifying, and illuminating. These truths are a necessary foundation for all Canadians to lead to a more realistic and painful acknowledgment of what and who's land this nation was built on. Dr, Bear and the other presenters did a thorough job of navigating me through this material, these stories, the economic, social, political and spiritual implications of the treaties, the abuses, the strength and the enduring legacy of the First Peoples on this land. Miigwetch from this little lady who's humble home stands on the land of the Williams Treaty of 1923, in what is now called East York, a borough of Toronto.

por KAMALA R

4 de feb. de 2018

I think this course should be part of our mandatory mainstream education. Although I had some superficial familiarity with the course content through Social Studies education in 1980s Alberta, a lot of this content was delivered expertly to someone with fresh eyes, perspective, and enthusiasm for learning the truth about indigenous peoples, history, and culture. As a resident living in unceded territory of Tsleil-Waututh First Nation, I believe it is my duty to learn as much as I can in honour of the indigenous people's contributions to this land, and for the debt of gratitude we owe to them. I hope for more classes on native studies through coursera or on my own. I am also a U of A alumni and wish I could go back a couple decades in a time machine so I could have taken courses then.