Chevron Left
Volver a Indigenous Canada

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Indigenous Canada por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.8
estrellas
3,541 calificaciones
1,290 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Principales reseñas

AS

Sep 07, 2020

I found this course to be very informative. Thank you for the opportunity to see our shared history from another perspective. I hope this is as groundbreaking for my fellow Canadians as it was for me.

DN

Aug 31, 2020

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 1,293 revisiones para Indigenous Canada

por Chris A

Sep 03, 2020

The course is fantastic. Seeing Canada through an Indigenous lens is a real eyeopener. I wish the content of this course was taught in schools when I was growing up, but unfortunately it was not.

This is my first online course and I thought the format was great. I personally find it much easier to retain what I see in video than through just reading texts.

por Adriana N D

Aug 24, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! I understand that it is such a vast topic to be covered in 12 modules, but still i feel that I learned so much. It makes me sad and angry that this perspective was not addressed when I was learning Canadian history in public school. Thank you for creating this course and I'm thrilled to see that it has such high enrolment!

por Rebecca F

Sep 24, 2020

Indigenous Canada provides a wealth of knowledge that provides incite from an Indigenous perspective about Indigenous issues and successes. I appreciate the leadership demonstrated by the Faculty of Native Studies at the University of Alberta to offer a much-needed introduction for non-Indigenous Canadians. I hope more universities follow your lead!

por Oksana S

Sep 18, 2020

Really well laid out course, was interesting to listen to. that quiz questions were not difficult, some were a little bit tricky but very well laid out.

really makes me appreciate Indigenous people more and I believe just like science is a requirement for everyone in university, an Indigenous study class should be required or at least in high school .

por Terry L

Sep 25, 2020

Growing up in Canada so many Indigenous issues I had no clue about historical harmful Indian Act of Canada. I now have a better heart attitude of understanding. why protest happen over land claims & resource management of the land issues. I can now be better a person and friend to indigenous people for the rest of my days. Thank you for an education.

por melissa

Aug 19, 2020

Amazing. Thank you so much for the time and effort into bringing forward so many issues I was unaware of or pondered. This course truly changed the way I can understand the indigenous peoples, their suffering, their thriving and community. Thank you everyone so much!

And thank you for mentioning the 1491s. I can't stop laughing. New favourite comedy!

por Jaki A

Aug 20, 2020

This course did a very good job of trying to cover a vast amount of information regarding Indigenous Peoples. My knowledge has grown as a result of doing this course. I notice that some of my language is changing as a result. I trust that my thinking will continue to expand and that I will seek opportunities for further growth. Thank you very much.

por Kamshi K

Jun 07, 2019

This is an excellent course. It's clear, concise, varied and easy to follow. It was good to be able to download the course notes and to make notes along the way using the "save note" function. It covered a wide range of aspects that any non-indigenous or unlearned indigenous person can gain much insight and information from. Highly recommended!!

por Sarah F

May 17, 2020

I learned a huge amount from this course and I’m so glad I took it. The writers did a good job creating a manageable course from what is an unmanageable amount of information: several thousand years of history covering hundreds of different nations and cultures. It gives a broad framework and I look forward to learning more to fill in the gaps.

por Jack M C

Sep 05, 2019

Covers a tonne of information on the history of indigenous peoples in Canada. I came here after reading a few books on First Nations history. This course has enabled me to learn more and will hopefully give me valuable knowledge that will benefit me and help my career path one day as a social worker wanting to immigrate to Canada in the future.

por Jon N

Sep 11, 2020

Thank you for producing this course. As an immigrant childthat had to integrate into the majority culture, my education never included much detail or encouragement to learn about the First Peoples that lived prior to colonization. This course has been informative and enlightening and I hope this type of knowledge is imparted on to all peoples.

por Rosanna U

Jul 04, 2020

I learned so much that was never taught in school which has glazed over the truth. I highly recommend this course if you truly want an understanding of the Indigenous Peoples of Canada and how they were treated and still currently are being treated to fully understand the full scope and not just what the Government and media wants to portray.

por Kathleen L

Sep 04, 2020

Super insightful and a great guide to understanding Canada's Indigenous history and the challenges Indigenous groups faced. My biggest takeaway was that each Indigenous group is unique and should be distinguished from one another, as their practices and culture are different and should be honoured differently. I highly recommend this course!

por David R

Sep 20, 2017

This is the history and social studies class we all should have had in school! My thanks to the instructors for filling in these deeply regretted blind spots in our education. I wonder how much more progress could have been made towards reconciliation if everyone was taught this 20 years ago. I heartily recommend this course to everyone!

por Sarah H

Jun 29, 2020

Fabulous course that gave me the foundation to further my own education in this area that's so important today. I knew I needed to learn more but didn't know where to start but I found this to be a good starting point. The videos were concise and informative and the teachers are great. I appreciate that this course was made the way it was.

por Joselynn C

Jun 17, 2020

This course ought to be a mandatory course for high schools. Certainly happy that I was able to take it in my adulthood, but would have been a good base to start the knowledge journey in my youth. Phenomenal professors and educators, and well thought out course syllabus. Thank you for your time and knowledge. This is indeed the beginning!

por Michael T

Sep 08, 2020

This course gave me a much deeper understanding and knowledge of the history of "Canada" that I was not taught in the BC school system. I also gained valuable insight into Indigenous cultures, practices, language, politics, worldview, and art, and the ways that these have remained resilient/intact despite ongoing oppression and erasure.

por Jacqueline K

Feb 05, 2020

Super informational! Lots more legal and socio-cultural impact analysis than I was expecting, or usually receive in my education. Super insightful and teaches much more in-depth than I've ever gotten through the school system. Would love to learn more about the scientific and medical advances that were made or buried with colonialism

por Mandy N

Jul 26, 2019

Fascinating course with great instructors. Each unit goes into plenty of depth on each topic, it doesn't just skim. I especially liked the last unit on modern indigenous art which I knew nothing about, now I have a lot of new artists to enjoy. I will definitely be checking out more courses from the University of Alberta. Thank you!

por Karen N

Jul 20, 2020

This 12-week course takes the learner on a journey of understanding of the Indigenous peoples of Turtle Island. Elaborating enough on the history and current issues to encourage the learned to delve into a deeper understanding of the past, current issues, and forge toward activism for future change. I highly recommend this course.

por Hannah G

Sep 10, 2017

Excellent course. I'm glad to have found such an engaging way to start to learn about the Indigenous histories of Canada. I was recommended the course by several friends, and recommended it to several more, and I know they are really enjoying it as well. I particularly loved the artwork commissioned for the course. Thanks so much!

por Joel P H

Sep 18, 2020

I loved the course, so in-depth on many of the past and current issues in our Country. I try my best to learn from the past and make up for what we colonizers have done. The biggest step is to learn about what we did and make amends from there. I almost strive to help people see the wrong in their judgements of the First Nations.

por Lyn T

Sep 08, 2020

Great overview, thanks for the opportunity to experience this and expand my understanding! Particularly liked how Leah Dorion spoke about her art and process for this course. Also I continue to listen in on the Sunday afternoon forums with Dan Levy, which relate this course content to life lived outside of the Indigenous reality.

por Nagwa A E

Mar 15, 2018

An eye opener for what has been going on in the land that we call it now Canada. I wish to learn more about the history and as a professor at Sheridan College, I would like to come with ideas to support Indigenous students in their learning journey. Thanks so much for the professors and teacher assistant, they did a great job :)

por Tyson M

May 19, 2019

This course is a very in-depth overview of history told from the perspective of the indigenous tribes of Canada and includes a unique view of cultural practices and the impacts of colonialism both past and present. I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was easy to follow and the videos were well made. Thank you for the hard work.