Chevron Left
Volver a Industrial Biotechnology

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Industrial Biotechnology por parte de Universidad de Mánchester

4.7
estrellas
2,593 calificaciones
611 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Fossil fuels have been the primary energy source for society since the Industrial Revolution. They provide the raw material for the manufacture of many everyday products that we take for granted, including pharmaceuticals, food and drink, materials, plastics and personal care. As the 21st century progresses we need solutions for the manufacture of chemicals that are smarter, more predictable and more sustainable. Industrial biotechnology is changing how we manufacture chemicals and materials, as well as providing us with a source of renewable energy. It is at the core of sustainable manufacturing processes and an attractive alternative to traditional manufacturing technologies to commercially advance and transform priority industrial sectors yielding more and more viable solutions for our environment in the form of new chemicals, new materials and bioenergy. This course will cover the key enabling technologies that underpin biotechnology research including enzyme discovery and engineering, systems and synthetic biology and biochemical and process engineering. Much of this material will be delivered through lectures to ensure that you have a solid foundation in these key areas. We will also consider the wider issues involved in sustainable manufacturing including responsible research innovation and bioethics. In the second part of the course we will look at how these technologies translate into real world applications which benefit society and impact our everyday lives. This will include input from our industry stakeholders and collaborators working in the pharmaceutical, chemicals and biofuels industries. By the end of this course you will be able to: 1. Understand enzymatic function and catalysis. 2. Explain the technologies and methodologies underpinning systems and synthetic biology. 3. Explain the diversity of synthetic biology application and discuss the different ethical and regulatory/governance challenges involved in this research. 4. Understand the principles and role of bioprocessing and biochemical engineering in industrial biotechnology. 5. Have an informed discussion of the key enabling technologies underpinning research in industrial biotechnology 6. Give examples of industrial biotechnology products and processes and their application in healthcare, agriculture, fine chemicals, energy and the environment....

Principales reseñas

MK

5 de mar. de 2021

Great course. Im a chemical engineering, applying for master's in Chemical Biotechnology. This course really helped in understanding the basics of this amazing field. Thanks guys. Humans are awesome.

JC

28 de abr. de 2020

Very informative and very well organised course and it really helped me provide a good insight into the world of Biotechnology, the applications in the health sector and its potential in the future.

Filtrar por:

501 - 525 de 618 revisiones para Industrial Biotechnology

por Erika

27 de ago. de 2020

The content was interesting and the breadth of knowledge shared was impressive as well. I think I would have enjoyed more in-depth video content on some of the topics, but overall it was a good course.

por Matteo G P

13 de jul. de 2020

A comprehensive introduction to the world of industrial biotechnology. For the most part the course is detailed enough to keep you interested. Gets a bit generic and repetitive towards the end though.

por Rute C

20 de oct. de 2018

Several interesting topics are teached along the course, however the structure of the course seems to be a little bit disorganized in some of the weeks. Also, the videos could be more appealing.

por 121910101012 K S S M

16 de ago. de 2020

its been amazing to learn this course. I've gained a lot of knowledge on this subject. i would definitely recommend to try out this course if one has interest in biotechnology.

thank you.

por Isaac O

22 de abr. de 2022

Every espensive topic, all the proffersors spoke bodly and detailed with cerdible and understanble sources. And all the test questions perfectily related to the lectures. Amazing.

por Likhitha S

13 de may. de 2020

It was really useful and thus, i could learn about this before my semester classes. It was very informative. But i was really disappointed because you didn't offer the certificate.

por Aditya N

14 de ago. de 2021

The overall learning from coursera about Industrial Biotechnology was good and would like learn more new things from coursera , I would like to thank the University of Manchester.

por Marcela d S T

21 de ago. de 2020

Curso muito bom, conteúdo relevante! Uma sugestão seria: trabalhar melhor na estrutura. Como são pessoas diferentes que ministram as palestras, alguns assuntos ficaram desconexos.

por Cerelia C

9 de jul. de 2020

Interesting and engaging course although does not go as in depth as I had expected; would have liked to learn more and to look more into the biochemistry behind the technology

por Dr. P K A 2

23 de jun. de 2020

It was usefull. The course gave a very clear idea of the use of enzymes in industry, bioenergy, bio pharmaceuticals. thanks to all Professor who could take these lectures

por louis c

8 de may. de 2022

This is a good overview of the use of biotech for lower production costs. But it does not go in depth into the details. Would be good to have follow up courses for this.

por Md. M

13 de may. de 2020

I really enjoyed completing the industrial biotechnology course. Very informative course for me. I learned many important thing about industrial biotechnology. Thank you

por Cesar R C R

2 de dic. de 2020

I enjoyed the course, though there were some subjects where I felt that everything was only read by the instructor and it made it a bit boring due to the speaker tone.

por Markus D

11 de abr. de 2020

Good overview of the topics for industrial Biotechnology. One more chapter for industrial production of glycoscience or tissue production would be benefical.

por Snehal K

16 de abr. de 2020

Very great initiative to aware students of knowledge from home itself...and helpful to add up in future opportunities..if provided with certificate.

por Álvaro L A

4 de nov. de 2019

Quizás demasiado básico en algunos aspectos, y por otro lado también ofrece demasiado ejemplos concretos...Lo mejor la cantidad de temas que abarca

por jack k

12 de ene. de 2021

Maybe a few too many Power Point slides. I'd like to see the instructor's face every so often. I especially enjoyed Week 6 - Glycoscience

por Rahul S

23 de abr. de 2020

it's an amazing course which highlights every essential part involved in industrial biotechnology while suggesting advancements for future.

por Sharavanakkumar S

8 de jul. de 2020

If the course is more interactive, it will one of the best course for bio-technologist. But the course materials are at good standard.

por Omar V P R

1 de dic. de 2020

Un curso muy informativo y detallado sobre la biotecnología industrial. Sin embargo, puede ser mas didáctico en las explicaciones

por Biel M

6 de abr. de 2020

I got introduced to a variety of interesting topics. The course helped me to improve some knowledge I already had. Very useful!

por Elena M B

4 de mar. de 2020

Very interesting and complete course. However, this is from 4 years ago now and it would be nice to know how is it nowadays.

por Dinesh C

26 de may. de 2021

It was really highly informative and well articulated course designed by highly competitive faculty. Congratulations to all

por Jianteng J H

28 de ene. de 2020

I have learnt a lot out of what I expected. Working in a pharmaceutical sector, week 3 and week 6 lessons are my favorite.

por Ajharul I A

15 de jul. de 2020

It is a great course for beginners to learn the different aspects of biotechnology, especially industrial biotechnology.