Chevron Left
Volver a Severe to Profound Intellectual Disability: Circles of Care and Education

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Severe to Profound Intellectual Disability: Circles of Care and Education por parte de Universidad de Ciudad del Cabo

4.7
estrellas
74 calificaciones
22 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course is about caring for and educating children (and youth) with severe to profound intellectual disability. We use the idea of 'circles' to position the child at the center of the many levels of support needed. Around the child are circles of care and education - such as the parents, family, friends, caregivers, educators, health care workers and others such as neighbors, business owners and community members. Each one has an important role to play in the life of a person with an intellectual disability and can be seen as a caregiver and educator. Although this course is aimed particularly at caregivers who work at a special centre or in a private home, each person in the circle of care and education plays a valuable role and will find the course useful. During the course you can gain greater understanding about intellectual disability, levels of severity of intellectual disability and the history of intellectual disability. You will also start to understand how you can support children and youth with severe to profound intellectual disability so that they can reach their full potential and become participating members of society. We look at lifelong learning by exploring brain development, the learning process and how to maximise the opportunities for learning. With input from a range of experts, we consider how best learning can be facilitated. This includes looking at children’s learning support needs, how to go about planning activities for the learning programme as well as how to empower multiple people who work in a team to care and educate children with severe to profound intellectual disability. In the last week, we focus on rights, advocacy and relationships of care. Empowering and caring for caregivers themselves is a key focus of the course. For professional development purposes, you can purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you can apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee....

Principales reseñas

IC
15 de abr. de 2021

It gets you motivated to be the voice of those who can't speak for themselves. You learn a lot about the environment and the system of children with severe to profound intellectual disability

JR
9 de jul. de 2020

This course was interesting, engaging, and informative. As a pre-health student, I have learned a lot that will be helpful in my future pursuits.

Filtrar por:

1 - 22 de 22 revisiones para Severe to Profound Intellectual Disability: Circles of Care and Education

por Geetika S

29 de jul. de 2020

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. It has truly enriched my knowledge in the space of intellectual disability.

por Alonso Z

3 de may. de 2020

I loved this course; it really helped me to better understand and helped those involved in the circles of care and education in the severe to profound intellectual disability population. It is important to educated our general public that this vulnerable population can also learned and expressed their feelings and it should be our duty to helped them reach their full potential and acceptance in our society.

por Chahat�Baweja

28 de jul. de 2020

The course included the interaction with the caregivers of children with severe to profound intellectual disability which added a personal touch to the course. The structure of the course was also very nicely planned. The last week which focused on importance of self care for the caregivers was also great!

por Jessica H

31 de mar. de 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was well planned and conducted and has opened my mind to a new world of care. Lastly, it has tied in well with the sociology and psychology courses that I've completed and am completing at UCT.

por Rana M A

22 de jul. de 2020

I really appreciate your great team work on this class, its so helpful for me as a Teacher and a researcher on intellectual disability.

por virginia i

28 de abr. de 2020

It opens one's mind to the real world of education for children with intellectual disability and leads to the inclusive society for the people of determination.

por Sheena P

7 de jun. de 2020

I really enjoyed participating in this course.

por Vetrova M A

1 de abr. de 2020

Тема выраженных интеллектуальных нарушений практически не затрагивается образовательными курсами. Найти информацию по работе с детьми с тяжелой и глубокой умственной отсталостью чрезвычайно сложно. Поэтому я была приятно удивлена, когда нашла эту программу. Она сделана очень качественно, хорошо подобраны обучающие и тестовые материалы, лекторов было приятно и интересно слушать.

por Bhanu P A

16 de nov. de 2021

Splendid course.Very fortunate to have so caring high spirited educationists contributing to fields of child psychology,social psychology ,Health psychology,cultural psychology,cognitive psychology,positive psychology,Counselling,Art psychology,Speech therapy.Multidisciplinary team approach is the ultimatum.

por Sreenidhi R

18 de sep. de 2021

This course was really informative and helped me learn not only about the children with severe to profound intellectual disabilities, but also about the role of many people like caregivers and facilitators who work together to make lifelong learning for all children possible.

Thank you

por Angela L

9 de sep. de 2021

As a parent it felt very good to be "heard" during this course. I especially appreciate (and my eyes got a little 'sweaty' during the final week, the interview with the mother and how she approached life with her child with severe disability. Thank you for this course.

por June J

27 de sep. de 2021

I've found this course to be practical, relevant and particularly empowering for caregivers. This course cemented the need for all stakeholders to address the needs of persons with severe to profound intellectual disability from a human rights perspective,

por Ivan D S C

16 de abr. de 2021

It gets you motivated to be the voice of those who can't speak for themselves. You learn a lot about the environment and the system of children with severe to profound intellectual disability

por Jennifer R

9 de jul. de 2020

This course was interesting, engaging, and informative. As a pre-health student, I have learned a lot that will be helpful in my future pursuits.

por Chrisette L

14 de abr. de 2020

Interesting and thought-provoking content for those already knowledgeable of this field and for those less experienced in this area.

por Tharindu R

10 de mar. de 2021

Very successful course content with new and practical knowledge for both caregivers and therapists

por Jaipril L M

13 de abr. de 2020

Thank you for this course! I have learned a lot of things thru the video and readings!

por Ramya B

20 de may. de 2020

The course was Excellent and the way it describe was so easy to understand

por Pol L

3 de nov. de 2020

This course is very informative.

por Mariam B

19 de jun. de 2020

very informative

por Simonette P

7 de may. de 2021

very helpful

por Maxine B

11 de jun. de 2020

Great