Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Classical Music

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Classical Music por parte de Universidad de Yale

4.9
estrellas
3,711 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Using a simple and enjoyable teaching style, this course introduces the novice listener to the wonders of classical music, from Bach fugues to Mozart symphonies to Puccini operas....

Principales reseñas

SL

6 de mar. de 2019

Really appreciate Prof. Wright give us such rich content and sophisticated course. I really enjoy and love it. I am looking forward to seeing more high-level courses from Prof. Wright if there is any.

EV

15 de oct. de 2020

Wonderful course where Craig Wright delves into all eras of classical music and takes you along for the wonderful ride! Craig Wright is one of the best instructors I have come across! Enjoy the ride!

Filtrar por:

76 - 100 de 1,116 revisiones para Introduction to Classical Music

por Ilze B

18 de oct. de 2016

Absolutely lovely, wonderful and incredibly engaging course. I developed a habit to watch the lecture on my way to and from work and couple of times almost missed my stop to get out. :)

I used to listen to classical music before taking the course, because I simply liked the feel it created. This course has allowed me to listen to it more intelligently, to know and recognize more of what I actually hear, and in case of postmodern music, explained nicely what are the elements that over time have become reasons for me not really liking it.

Long story short, I use this course as an example to tell friends how amazing Coursera is.

por Miren J

21 de jun. de 2020

This is an excellent course! I completed it during the "lockdown" due to the Corvid19 as I have had a lot more time on my hands, and it has been a wonderful experience. Craig Wright is a fantastic teacher and the course is extremely well put together with a really good combination of music, music theory, biographical information about the composers profiled and general art history too. I used to play the flute, and the course has inspired me to pick up my flute (for the first time in over ten years) which has also been a lot of fun. If you have any interest in classical music, I wholeheartedly recommend this course.

por Perfectly F

16 de oct. de 2022

What a breath of fresh air! I feel so grateful to be living in this day and age when a course like this is easily accessible and free for public consumption. I have always had an affinity for listening to classical music for as long as I can remember, so finding this gem of a course was extremely rewarding. Not only was Professor Wright's approach engaging but content was clearly so beautifully hand-picked and worked on to fit the medium of an online course. Thank you Yale Coursera team and the Professor for increasing my appreciation of western classical music in particular and enriching my cultural knowledge of it.

por Roger G

7 de ago. de 2020

Great course! I have sang in our church choir and our community symphony choir for many years but I learned music terms which aids in my music comprehension. The quizzes were challenging and required some outside resources (especially identifying the different triads). I have taken a music appreciation course at my local college but this course went into greater depth in music theory and history. I have taken 7 online courses from various universities but this is the finest course I have taken. Kudos to Professor Wright and his staff for constructing an outstanding course. Submitted by Roger Gray, Canton, Ohio , USA

por Dominic P

7 de jul. de 2021

Well worth your time learning about the Western music from Renaissance to current times. After 20 years of teaching, I chose to work on this as a refresher course for my knowledge as a music educator. It was very well coordinated with video, listening selections, and guidance from the team at Yale. The last time I took a course like this was in person, but personally I enjoyed the online version better here with Prof. Wright! There are short quizzes throughout the curriculum instead of a large final exam at the end, which makes studying more managable for those who don't have a ton of time to study.

por Jagannath S

3 de abr. de 2018

Excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed the course. My sincere thanks to Prof Craig White and his colleagues. Apart from his knowledge and skill, I am deeply impressed (and positively influenced) by Prof White's enthusiasm to teach the program and make it interesting to learners. I had zero exposure to any type of classical music before - but now i have developed a sincere appreciation of western classical music. I still struggle with identifying the scales and notes :( but that means i need to listen more. Overall, i loved the program. Thanks to Yale University for creating this.

por Dawn S

14 de jul. de 2020

Fantastic course! I can't say enough about it! I enjoyed it from beginning to end! Great professor, great videos, great format, tying in art to music to the great human experience! This class has it all drama and passion from these past great composers and artist, I can say learning about the human side of these artist helped me to appreciate one universal truth about creative people they are innovators, often misunderstood and usually have to leave this plan of existence to be really seen and appreciated. Thank you so much for this course it was utterly fantastic

por Dr. W D

28 de dic. de 2020

A great course. Full of interesting information about classical music putting it in a historical context, linking it to developments in other arts, other kinds of music in the Western World and in other world regions. Also presenting music in new multimedia presentations. Not forgetting the technological aspects of producing music. But above all, it is the spirit, the profound knowledge of the professor, his humor, his humanity that makes this course an extraordinary learning experience. To be recommended to all - even only slightly interested in classical music!

por Aditya J

25 de feb. de 2020

Excellent course which I enjoyed through out its duration. The rare insights into the evolution of western classical music along with biographical details of the major exponents was really helpful. As a layman without much knowledge of classical music, I can now appreciate at least some of the technical details of the melody and harmony. The course has helped me immensely and my love for western classical music has grown stronger. Thank you Coursera for offering this course and thanks to Professor Wright and Yale University for putting it all together.

por Sanae D

9 de ene. de 2019

Bonjour, j'ai beaucoup appris à travers ce cours. En plus des objectifs cités dans la présentation, j'ai découvert les points marquants de chaque période de la musique classique, l'architecture qui va avec, l'interaction des musiciens avec les autres artistes et leur recherche ardue du savoir là où il est pour la plupart d'entre eux.

Je vous remercie vivement et je vous félicite professeur Wright pour le grand effort pédagogique que vous avez déployé. Je remercie aussi l'université Yale qui a mis à notre disposition ce magnifique cours.

Salutations

por Rachel W

15 de oct. de 2020

Thank you for this fabulous course which I have just completed. It was extremely well laid and out and interesting and I learnt a lot. I highly recommend this for anyone who has any interest in music. I am a busy person but this was perfect, with videos that weren't too long in length which were very engaging, so was easy to stop and start to fit in with my lifestyle. I very much enjoyed this and am very appreciative of this being available to complete, especially at a time when we're all looking for things to do at home. Thank you very much.

por Michael V

20 de nov. de 2020

Although being an enthusiastic listener of Classical music since my early years, this course has assisted me to clear uncertainties as to the periods of music while it has shed light in to the historical frame of every period and it's composers . A simple terminology has also revealed interesting aspects of the score writing techniques , making so listening much more enjoyable and deeper understood. Many thanks to Mr Wright and the whole work team at Yale and hope that a second advanced course will follow soon. Very Best Regards / Michael Vaianos

por Emma G

29 de may. de 2020

I'm not college age yet and am still in high school, but I felt that this was a very informational course that will help me to be prepared to enter the world of becoming a music educator in college. It was a sort of introduction to me of what college-level music classes might look like, and I just overall enjoyed the course. The instructor was great - very experienced, knowledgeable, and funny. I really enjoyed learning about the different styles, terminology, composers, and eras of classical music. Overall a wonderful course and would recommend!

por Anne Y E

19 de nov. de 2020

Professor Wright is an excellent teacher, who adapted to the technology of online learning. I am so thankful for the opportunity to study at Yale University. I really got a review and overview of the History of music, all the basic components of composition, scales, harmony, chords, instruments, voices, and cultures, which pulled together everything I’ve learned from piano lessons to choral singing. This framework of knowledge provides a foundation upon which I can add future skills and information acquisition. Thank you, Professor Wright!

por Barbara K

27 de abr. de 2020

A wonderful course, constructed very well to teach and reinforce ideas, concepts and knowledge of music which prompts one to look further, read and listen more. Ties in with art, architecture, history, literature, dance, theatre, artisans, science, the human struggle, the world and the universe. The depth of knowledge that Professor Wright has on a lot of subjects, his sense of humour and gift of bringing the subject to life in an interesting way, has made this a most enjoyable course and way to spend some of my time in retirement. Thank You

por Skr C

28 de oct. de 2020

This is an amazing course, a little challenging when talking about the music theory, but the teacher make it simple, and more often focusing on the impact and beauty of music. At the beginning I thought the course was too long (9 weeks) but around the 5th week I found myself wishing the course could last another 10 weeks. After this course, I found myself listening to the complete symphonies and operas mentioned and recommended by the teacher. Thank you so much for this marvelous material, I will waiting for more of your excellent work.

por Pavel T

10 de dic. de 2017

The one of the best courses I've ever had. I realized that before this course I knew about the classical music almost nothing although I was confident in the opposite. Craig is a great teacher and he showed me the classical music from a totally different angle. I discovered a lot of new names, especially Hildegard von Bingen - an absolute hit! Before starting this course I was afraid it would be boring and too "classic" but luckily I was a million percents wrong! Thanks for this wonderful journey through the classical music world!

por Christina

31 de jul. de 2017

This is a terrific in-depth course introducing the history of classical music. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in music. It will provide a sound foundation from medieval through modern music periods. This multimedia course is based on the instructor's excellent textbook (which is helpful but not necessary if you audit the course) plus many years of tecahing undergraduates at Yale. The Office Hours portion of the course, which is optional, was terrific, too. I give course and instructor an A!

por Wayne O

2 de nov. de 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, and learned a lot more than I expected to. Before taking the course I never suspected how music was influenced by, and to some extent influenced architecture, the arts, and historical events. And at the end of the course I was pleasantly surprised to find that I could recognize what era the music was from when listening to short audio clips. Craig Wright's conversational style and subtle sense of humor made me feel like he was speaking directly to me in the class sessions.

por Jenny S

27 de mar. de 2019

This is a truly wonderful course that surveys the history and development of Western music. The professor explains the details very clearly and makes the course interesting. The first two weeks were a little dry for me, because the course started with the many technicalities of music. After the first two or three weeks, it becomes much easier to follow. Now I can go to Baroque opera and Stravinsky concerts knowing what to pay attention too! I am very grateful that the professor has done such a wonderful job!

por Tara G

24 de sep. de 2022

Thank you Professor Wright for this amazing course. I came to the course having studied Piano in grade school. I am not a music professional by any means. I enjoy challenging myself, so I took this course. While it is useful to have a basic knowledge of classical composition, it is not mandatory for learning and enjoying the art form. I venture to say that I feel more intelligent after taking this course. And I might add, that Professor Wright is witty, engaging, and a master. Thank you for teaching us.

por Isabelle J

25 de abr. de 2020

Un cours particulièrement clair, dont l'objectif: donner envie de découvrir, d'en savoir plus sur la musique classique, son histoire, ses différentes théories est atteint, dans mon cas en tout cas! Bien qu'à la portée du plus grand nombre, il reste d'une parfaite exigence intellectuelle. J'ai suivi ce cours avec un vrai plaisir: plaisir de redécouvrir un savoir parfois oublié, plaisir de s'enrichir à travers de nouvelles connaissances musicales. J'ai particulièrement profité des morceaux donnés en exemples.

por Anton K

21 de ago. de 2021

Wonderful course, unforgettable experience, brilliant teaching! Thank you, Professor Wright and course production team! This online course can easily substitute 2-3 year course on "Musical Literature" taught in musical schools in Russia. Although not every prominent composer was covered (especially members of Russian classical music school) due to time constraint, lectures reach their main target: fundamental knowledge and deep understanding of classical music, music eras and their key features are given.

por Jessica B

13 de dic. de 2018

I so thoroughly enjoyed this course and have noticed that I appreciate classical music much more, it's so exciting when I can identify an era or composer just by listening and using my knowledge from this course! Professor Wright is a delight and also ties in other subjects and does a great job of creating an engaging course. I particularly enjoyed the brief opera reenactment. I just can't say enough great things about this course, I highly recommend it if you are remotely interested in classical music.