Chevron Left
Volver a Machine Design Part I

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Machine Design Part I por parte de Instituto de Tecnología de Georgia

4.8
estrellas
2,000 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

“Machine Design Part I” is the first course in an in-depth three course series of “Machine Design.” The “Machine Design” Coursera series covers fundamental mechanical design topics, such as static and fatigue failure theories, the analysis of shafts, fasteners, and gears, and the design of mechanical systems such as gearboxes. Throughout this series of courses we will examine a number of exciting design case studies, including the material selection of a total hip implant, the design and testing of the wing on the 777 aircraft, and the impact of dynamic loads on the design of an bolted pressure vessel. In this first course, you will learn robust analysis techniques to predict and validate design performance and life. We will start by reviewing critical material properties in design, such as stress, strength, and the coefficient of thermal expansion. We then transition into static failure theories such as von Mises theory, which can be utilized to prevent failure in static loading applications such as the beams in bridges. Finally, we will learn fatigue failure criteria for designs with dynamic loads, such as the input shaft in the transmission of a car....

Principales reseñas

IP

13 de may. de 2021

Very illustrative presentation, with clever exercises. You can learn easily basic concepts of machine design that otherwise you would need much more time to undestand them on your own or at a college.

ZZ

16 de feb. de 2017

The course was a concise and effective review of major concepts. The concepts were well explained and the lessons practical. I have a better understanding of fatigue failure as a result of this class.

Filtrar por:

476 - 500 de 544 revisiones para Machine Design Part I

por Ojas P B (

16 de abr. de 2020

This course has added considerably to my knowledge of machine design. The course is designed very well and covers most of the topics in machine design. All the topics are discussed in adequate depth. This course is like a refresher with some added topics which you might not have studied. I would recommend this anytime to a mechanical engineer. Thank you, Dr. Kathryn Wingate and GaTech.

por MANOJKUMAR A

27 de ene. de 2019

Course is very useful for intermediate level. People have to know certain basic calculations like bending moment, shear stress, etc. Presenter has good knowledge about materials. Because of that she is clear in communication and making it easy to understand. Course provides a good refreshment about static and fatigue failures. Hope it will be an additional star in everyone's resume.

por Syed A A S

6 de mar. de 2019

This course of machine design from Georgia Tech is a nice combination of revising the concepts of material properties, design and temperature considerations, design theories for static and dynamic loading situations for a safe design. The instructor knows her domain and my time went well. Thanks to Georgia Tech. and Coursera platform for the effort.

por KHODABUCCUS M M

8 de nov. de 2017

Overall course quality, approach and content were satisfying. i enjoyed doing this course. it helped me understand some critical factors i need to consider in the mechanical engineering field as far as design of a component is concern.

Looking forward to do more courses in Coursera to increase my knowledge.

por Daniel L

13 de mar. de 2019

I enjoyed the practical and summarized approach (both static and fatigue failure). I would have liked developing skills about the aluminum and composite parts, materials commonly used in aeronautics.

Thank you very much for your involvement in these e-learning courses

por Sergio A T

12 de ene. de 2022

Good course. Basically a college course. As so, the material is introductory (intermediate/advance if not an engineer and basic/intermediate for engineers). Not state of the art theories and tools, still felt like academic knowledge to me.

por Felipe W

22 de dic. de 2016

Es un muy buen curso para comprender los conceptos generales en el diseño mecánico, me gustó el enfoque que se le dio a los módulos de fatiga.

Aunque en algunos momentos faltaba un poco más de detalle en la explicación de los módulos.

por K K P

24 de ago. de 2021

Much helpful for Mechanical Engineers. Course presentation by Dr. Wingate was good. Although detailed explanation over a few topics is still needed (for eg, transverse shear and its application). Overall, much recommended!

por Bharath

30 de ene. de 2018

A full fledged view on machine design.

I being an average learner learnt a lot in Machine design through this course. The user interface and lectures are really great! I wanted to thank Dr. Katheryn for her support.

por Alvaro G

29 de abr. de 2021

Clear explanations from Dr. Wingate! Extensive use of common Engineering data as graphs, Handbook, etc.

Very good as a first approach to Machine Design, and also as a refresh for some rusty and forgotten concepts

por Nishant L

11 de dic. de 2020

Very Helpful course to clear concepts of Machine Design. Giving 4 stars due to presence of human errors in explanation. Their frequency was a bit high. 5/5 stars based on content provided by Dr. Kathryn Wingate.

por Simon L

22 de ago. de 2017

Give it a 4 top notch, the examples where explicit quite challenging needed some nimble thinking and prompt responces. Just the Discussion forum was a bit biased and the questions where somehow not understood

por Vijayaram M

2 de jul. de 2020

It is really a good course to revise and go out through the basics.But the most annoying part is that the change of the title and the corrections btw the videos and my suggestion is to change it.

por Venkata S G

18 de dic. de 2018

Very good course to refresh the fundamentals of machine design. Course content is lucid and quiz's are also very impressive. I am looking forward to enroll the next course of the series.

por Brian L

13 de jun. de 2018

Very clear in objectives and to the point when discussing problems. Lectures are not spent deriving formulas but discussing meaningful and insightful problems for the practical engineer.

por Aditya K L

21 de jul. de 2020

This course is more numerically focussed. Although, sufficient theory is provided as well. The case studies used within the course are intriguing and extremely fascinating.

por Nissan G

28 de dic. de 2017

A great intro course to basic failure theories and more engineering analysis skills. There are lots of worksheets and if you do them all you'll gain from this course.

por Benjamin D

6 de jul. de 2018

Very well explained and well paced. Sometimes instructor's answers are wildly different from your own because she uses exact numbers but only writes rounded numbers.

por MURAT O

30 de mar. de 2020

The main reason to take this course was to improve skills on fatigue design and it was helpful. Still part 2 is not offered, which is the reason why I rate 4 stars.

por Tsutomu F

22 de ago. de 2022

Good refresher for me about 30 yearsafter university sudy. Also noticed differences of emphasis in how fatigue failure is handled between US and Japan

por Rajadurai N

6 de ago. de 2017

Great! First time I hear about Ashby plots and love the case study method. Dr.Wingate was excellent in conveying the concept throughout the course!

por Syed T H A

8 de sep. de 2017

Very helpful course with comprehensive overview of design and techniques in Engineering Design. Beautifully designed course.

por Bhavesh p

23 de sep. de 2021

it was a good experience, walking through this course asks me to jump in fusther designing concepts of real world.

por Chirag D

21 de jun. de 2020

Dr. Kathryn has made this course very easy to understand and comprehensible. Thank you for your contribution Prof!