Chevron Left
Volver a Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19 por parte de Universidad de Toronto

4.8
estrellas
8,286 calificaciones
2,436 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Never in the history of humanity have so many people been feeling intense anxiety related to COVID-19 and the world it will leave in its wake. The intent of this course is to give you a deeper understanding of the anxiety reaction as it relates to various aspects of our current life, ranging from our consumption of news to the way we talk to our children about this. I will also give you clear strategies for managing and, in fact, turning off the anxiety response at least for short periods. My sincere hope is that you will leave this course with a better understanding of how your brain reacts to crises, along with some powerful tools for managing it before it manages you. In this course we will cover: 1.1 Introduction and Overview 1.2 Understanding the Anxiety Response 1.3 The Necessity of Strategies to Manage Anxiety 1.4 Achieving Relaxation: A Skill We All Need to Learn Now 2.1 Why Watching the News is Addicting and How to Manage Your Consumption 2.2 The Critical Art of Mental Distraction to Crowd Out Stressors 2.3 How We Think About Physical Distancing and Explaining it to Our Children 3.1 The Effects of Isolation 3.2 Some Strategies to Make Isolation More Tolerable 3.3 The Importance of Social Connection in a Physical Distancing World 4.1 The Need to Guard Against Depression: The Importance of Control 4.2 Bring it Together: Practice Makes Proficient 4.3 Invitation to Suggest Additional Videos...

Principales reseñas

AM

17 de jul. de 2020

So grateful that a course like this exists. I found the information that was presented easy to understand and in such a way that small changes to my daily routine seem manageable. Thank you very much!

VS

19 de jul. de 2020

The course is very insightful. The topics were carefully and simply taught by Prof. Joordens. It's easy to understand and has helped a lot in understanding how our minds work esp during this pandemic.

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 2,448 revisiones para Mind Control: Managing Your Mental Health During COVID-19

por MANSI R

11 de ago. de 2020

this is a nice and a needed course at these times, it was very helpful and gave a lot of insight at things. managing emotions is one of the very important things that has to in play at such times. how to deal with our daily growing anxiety and trigger relaxation in our body is important for us to know during these times. this was a very helpful course.

thank you.

por IVY G

11 de oct. de 2020

It's a must take course. Anyone could be going through some rough time adjusting to the current situation and the discussions on this course are just right on target. If you are not the one who is having difficulty adjusting, maybe a family or a friend is and you can be the instrument to reach out and help those of them experiencing anxiety for whatever reason.

por Anika T I

14 de jul. de 2020

It was a highly informative course. It will be very helpful to someone who is dealing with mental health issues in this pandemic and also to someone who is willing to help others to overcome this tough times. Through this course I came across to some psychological terms and facts that I did not know before. The teaching method of the instructor was very good.

por Karen S

26 de dic. de 2020

Professor Joordens was an excellent instructor, and even though he could have spent a little more time on the single person's mental health in the time of COVID, the course was informative and gave me a lot to think about. The relaxation audio was something I had to download because it actually works! Thank you Professor Joordens, U of Toronto & Coursera!

por Russell K

5 de oct. de 2020

The lectures were all very succinct, insightful, and applicable. The lessons all have a scientific basis behind them, yet they are explained in such a way that you do not need extensive background knowledge in order to immediately apply them in your life. I am grateful that I took this course and will surely use what I learned as I cope with the pandemic.

por Umama A U

17 de ene. de 2021

The course was helpful to better understanding the condition of our mental health during COVID 19. Effects of social isolation that can create devastating condition to our mental health should be minimized following the given instructions.. Overall, the more you learn about your mental health, the more you can control yourself... Thanks to the Professor.

por Al A N

11 de jul. de 2020

I got a golden chance to attend the courses provide on COURSERA for free. It was indeed a great experience with Sir. This course helped me gain a broader perspective on how I can help myself and others out of anxiety and other psychological effects during this tough time. Overall enjoyed learning new things and hoping for more.

Regards,

Al Alisha Nijas

por Mitali T

28 de jul. de 2020

Professor Joordens has summed up effective ways of dealing with our anxieties in a very beautiful manner! Adding to the relevance, ease of these strategies, his voice is too soothing and calming to listen to and follow. I cannot wait to share these thoughts with my parents and better late than never, start dealing with our anxieties effectively!

por Mazi Q

18 de oct. de 2020

It's the most helpful and inspiring course I've ever had I'm so grateful that I found this course, this is exactly what I need in such a difficult time. I particularly like how the course covered a few interesting experiments. I like the professor's voice too, it's so calming. I hope the course could continue to have a more detailed discussion.

por Sofía V d l T A L

26 de jul. de 2020

Amazing! I was looking for something exactly like this! Simple, straight to the main ideas and, also, the Professor who gives the lectures looks like a very nice, calm and sweet person.

It's really easy to keep up the pace with the activities and, besides, I find it really helpful to understand what we're going through right now. Again. amazing!

por DIAMANDA L H Z

17 de feb. de 2021

El curso me gusto muchísimo, además de aprender la habilidad de relajación, aprendí a comprender el origen de mi ansiedad y controlarlo, no siempre nuestras emociones dependen de nosotros mismos sino que también el ambiente afecta en parte y es por ello que es vital saber tomar lo que nos corresponde y volverlo óptimo o simplemente desecharlo.

por MD T A M

25 de ago. de 2020

This course really help me to get control over mind & I really feel better after completing this course. I would love to share my knowledge & try to help others out with the knowledge I gained from this course. I really loved the way of teaching of Professor Steve Joordens; he really simplified the theories & make it look so easy. Thanks!

por Lizbeth V O I

25 de jul. de 2020

Fue una gran ayuda llevar este curso y aun mas en la situación que estamos pasando todas las persona, aprendí a que tengo que organizar mi tiempo, no debo ver una gran cantidad de noticias, debo interactuar mas con otras personas ya sea por una llamada telefónica y que tengo que compartir mis emociones para poder sobrellevar la ansiedad.

por Jad E C

15 de feb. de 2021

It was a great class and a great subject. Thank you so Professor Steve much for making it clear and simple I was worried about disliking. Thank you for your amazing lectures. You are really a great teacher, you have your own love of learning and inspires students with your passion for education and for the course material. Thank you

por Torya W

23 de jul. de 2020

Wonderful course that gives abundance of knowledge about Covid-19 and how it affects us mentally. Please engage in this course it explores what choices we have to help in our journey doing this pandemic. From the mind/body exercises to the scheduling of activities to keep us grounded and what physical/social isolation does to us.

por Leslie G

26 de dic. de 2021

After being in the pandemic for almost 2-years now, I was glad to take a simple "refresher course" to see what I'm doing that I should keep doing, and where I can make more changes. I enjoyed the "back stories" as to how the brain works, why TV news is so harmful and why deep, meaningful conversations and structured days matter.

por malaya E

1 de nov. de 2020

This has immense impact not only to my overall well being, but also to my community, because this course has reinforced the positive effects of social interaction amidst the time of physical distancing. I am grateful for Mr. Steve Joordens for teaching this course. If anyone has the opportunity to take this course, PLEASE DO SO.

por Diane W

28 de ene. de 2021

I came across this course listed on a work website to promote mental well being, I have encouraged several people to take this course as I found the information quite relatable in the current state of lockdown. This was my first coursera course but will not be my last. Thank you Steve for an interesting and digestible course.

por JoAnn L

10 de nov. de 2020

Professor Steve Joordens has a calm and reassuring way of presenting valuable information! Professor Joordens gave us tools to take the negative aspects of the Covid-19 pandemic (i.e. distancing from loved ones, infection anxiety) and genuinely relax to see things in a positive way. The course was enlightening and worthwhile.

por ARYAMAN K

13 de jun. de 2020

I undertook this course because I have always prioritized 'Mental Health' as an individual and in times like these where we are clueless on how to deal with our anxiety and vulnerability this course has been a blessing in disguise. Special thanks to Steve Joordens for making and curating this course in a simple and crisp manner!

por Bidisha M

25 de jul. de 2020

Teacher's opinions matched with my opinions that's makes me feel so good , I also say my family the same things. I just enjoyed to learn this course and feel free. Thank you for increasing my mental health in this covid-19 situation. Thank you sir , Coursera . I love to learn more psychology courses form this teacher in future.

por Fanny M C P

30 de nov. de 2020

I am so glad that I decided to take this course!! It has helped me a lot and I have learned something that will help me for the rest of my life, not only for the currently situation we are going through. I would like to congratulate you, Professor Joordens, for sharing your knowledge in such a warm way that I really enjoyed.

por Naema I

20 de jun. de 2020

Honestly, after sitting at home for two months in lockdown, I finally got myself to do something productive. This course was so helpful! I've been struggling with anxiety for years now and COVID just made things harder, but this definitely helps me cope. I'll be sure to pass on the information to family and friends. Thank you.

por Bartholomew D F

29 de sep. de 2020

There are many things I have been doing since adolescence and never had a name for it. Not only did I learn the names for the techniques, but I learned new components to put it all in perspective. I cannot believe that I am unknowingly on the right track. Thank you so much for being a great teacher (external locus there? LOL)

por Stella M A

6 de jul. de 2020

Thank you very much! This course was extremely helpful and i recommended for all my family and friends. By the way, in my university we have a project that work with people who has anxiety and depression using exercice phisic to manage this disturbis. We proposed to then to do this course and the feedback is amazing. Congrats