Chevron Left
Volver a Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1 por parte de École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.6
435 calificaciones
98 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Sustainability, Resilience and Efficiency are fundamental considerations for city managers in managing urban infrastructures. Today, more than 3.9 billion people, making up more than 54% of the global population, live in cities. Urbanization is expected to continue in the coming years, raising the urban population to 6.0 billion by 2045. This dramatic increase in urban populations will inevitably increase the demand for energy, mobility (transportation), water, and other urban services in every city around the world. Without functional governance and management structures that ensure efficient, resilient and sustainable performance in cities, the current urbanization growth might become a catastrophic risk threatening the quality of life of the humanity. Sustainable development in 21st century can only be realized by introducing innovations in both management and operations of urban infrastructures systems. Developing management practices that effectively integrates the processes of urban planning with urban infrastructures planning and management is a challenging goal that many cities are struggling with nowadays, but is a must for transforming cities to sustainable and resilient engines of growth in both developing and developed economies. This course will provide you with the basic principles of urban infrastructure management that are fundamental for building prosperous cities that are sustainable, resilient and efficient. In order to obtain a certificate for this course, the participants have to pass four graded quizzes and complete four mandatory assignments, plus a final exam. In addition to the graded assignments students have the option to write a 7-10 page peer-reviewed case study about management of energy OR transportation system in their city (on your own choice). The best case studies will be also evaluated by our jury at IGLUS and the authors of the 3 best case studies will win a full tuition fee waiver scholarship to enroll in the IGLUS professional training program in Spring 2017. You can also pre-enroll in our upcoming MOOC on Smart Cities now. Find our more here: http://iglus.org/smart-cities-mooc/...

Principales revisiones

ST

Feb 23, 2017

Very informative, well planed and presented, learned a lot and piqued and interest to continue with part 2. Thank you to the lectures and all that were involved in this course for the hard work.

GR

Jul 28, 2019

This course gives you a deep insight into Urban Infrastructure system and its management. The key challenges to operate any city are being discussed in detail. So overall good experience.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 95 revisiones para Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1

por Wanjiku M

Sep 04, 2018

Excellent. Very granular.

por Diana S

Feb 15, 2016

Please provide powerpoint slides on lectures

por Viacheslav

Mar 16, 2017

Thank you.

You are super.

I would like to study your more detailed courses (in detail management, construction of infrastructures, new technologies in urban infrastructure, financing of projects, ...)

por Ana L M d S

Jun 03, 2016

Great course! I hope the team releases the following module. The material provided is really good and the lectures are dynamic and well edited. The short answer assignment could be peer reviewed!

por om p s

Feb 19, 2016

Great course . I am awaiting when part2 start.

por Mohamed A C

Jul 20, 2017

très bon professeur, et une bonne formation.

por Christopher W

Mar 18, 2016

Concise and informative course about the basics of urban infrastructure systems that'll help acquaint you with the systems in your own city. Highly recommended!

por Valentyn

Nov 20, 2017

Perfect introduction in how cities operate! Pretty deep but yet clear explanation of the concepts of urban management.

por Paul S

Jul 14, 2016

Great challenging course !

por Delphine T

Jun 09, 2016

This course is an excellent overview of urban systems and is very well documented.

Thank you!

por IlyaVladimirovic

Jan 10, 2017

Wonderful course! It's simple and absolutely well and clearly explained. Summary, systematization and selection of knowledge, as well as its division into units, is flawless. I have never taken such an understandable course by such an understanding professor. Moreover, all speakers participating and the Professor himself are genuinely interested in the subject , its theorizing, and its beneficial practical applications. You can feel they care about, and demand, professional and decision maker honesty and ethics. This is what makes you love a subject. I look forward to taking Part II, though I perhaps will not manage to complete Part I in this session. Thank you very much for this course and your work!

por Manpreet S

Oct 01, 2016

It was good broader perspective learning exposure. My heartiest congratulation to faculty team and Coursera. Many Many thanks

por Oriana C

Apr 15, 2016

S

por Sabrina P T

Feb 23, 2017

Very informative, well planed and presented, learned a lot and piqued and interest to continue with part 2. Thank you to the lectures and all that were involved in this course for the hard work.

por EDUARDO G

Feb 29, 2016

Excellent content, excellent instruction!!!!!! Also, the interviews are a very valuable and informative,,,

por Yassine M

Jun 20, 2016

Million thanks to share this treasure with us ,very very interesting

Thank you EFL

por Dr. N F (

Jan 22, 2018

High level of quality. Scientific approach and the same time easy to understand, what a Manager of Urban Infrastructures must pay attention. Very god quality of videos and used easy to understand words.

EPFL, prof. Matthias Finger and all professors and specialists, succeeded to make this course to be a very good choice for professionals and also for people who just wanted to know by an accredited source, the main points of attention and the way infrastructures must exist, work and interconnect.

This reason I took this course is that I needed to be sure about all operations of a big city, in order to adopt these operations in my case study for emergency management of critical infrastructures, in a case of a physical catastrophe or in a human-made disasters as is a terror attack or a war.

Thank you for this wonderful course.

por Julia K

Sep 12, 2017

Very good course. I learnt a lot although I had only a minimal background on the subject matter. The course is not too complicated, however I felt it gave a sufficiently good introduction to all major aspects so that I can know where and what to look for personally, if needed.

The only thing I thought was missing, was peer reviews of the short question exercises - basically at this point it seems that as long as we submit a sufficient number of characters, the question is considered correct. Some peer review would have made it more interesting and challenging.

Thanks for the great course - I continued straight to part 2 - managing smart cities.

por Sihyun L

Nov 06, 2016

GREAT

por Will B

Oct 25, 2016

A good introduction to urban infrastructures and management. It touches on the key issues, and gets you thinking about the interrelated challenges. The course does not go into a great amount of depth in any area in particular, but it does suggest plenty of interesting avenues for further research and investigation. Recommended.

por Watson C S

Mar 25, 2017

Conocimientos precisos y simples. vale mucho la pena

por Siegfred T L

May 31, 2017

One of the better courses I've gone through...

por Naeem A S

Dec 22, 2017

First of all the course is well-structured and have briefly yet conclusively highlighted on all the problems associated with urban centers. Also the course sought to address two key components of urban infrastructure (thus energy and transportation) which was very critical. In general it was worth studying the course and I hope future course on urban infrastructure will highlight on equally important sectors such as; waste management and water supply.

por Gundala G n

Jul 08, 2018

Good to learn

por HAMAYADJI E

Feb 02, 2018

Un excellent cours multilingue !