Chevron Left
Volver a Mountains 101

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mountains 101 por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.9
estrellas
2,323 calificaciones
870 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Mountains 101­­ is a broad and integrated overview of the mountain world. This 12-lesson course covers an interdisciplinary field of study focusing on the physical, biological, and human dimensions of mountain places in Alberta, Canada, and around the world. Specifically, we'll study the geological origins of mountains, how they’re built-up and worn-down over time; we’ll learn about their importance for biodiversity and water cycles, globally and locally; we’ll explore their cultural significance to societies around the globe, and how that relationship has evolved over time; and we’ll learn how mountains are used, how they’re protected, and how today they’re experiencing rapid change in a warming climate. At the end of each lesson, Mountains 101 will also provide learners with some smart tricks -- Tech Tips -- to safely enjoy time in the high alpine environment: from how to pick the best footwear for hiking to making smart decisions in avalanche terrain. We’ll be delivering your online lessons from valley bottoms to mountaintops, from museums and labs, to alpine huts and other spectacular alpine sites, and we’ll do so with the help of a whole host of experts. We invite you to join us for this online adventure! The mountains are calling......

Principales reseñas

SK

22 de dic. de 2017

So interesting! So well made, every lesson is thought out the interactive mountain map was a joy to complete each time! Incredibly thoughtful and sensitive to every aspect that touches the mountains.

DA

11 de feb. de 2021

Great fun, I really enjoyed this course. Sometimes the dialogue was somewhat repetitive but overall you can see a lot of effort went into finding experts and giving quality, accompanying video clips.

Filtrar por:

276 - 300 de 872 revisiones para Mountains 101

por Shubham S

23 de ago. de 2020

outstanding experience , should be made available in multiple languages across the world specially in Asian countries at school level to educate young students to join forces against climate change and increasing pollution.

por Brice P

27 de ene. de 2018

Really good content and very interesting. The tech tips are a little vapid for the average outdoors person, but a good try to add something different.

My favorite was the module on altitudes effects and adaptations on humans

por Matúš S

2 de sep. de 2017

Excellent course, it provides very good information about mountains from various perspectives. I will make sure to go through this course once again in the future and get the certificate! Thank you for making Mountains 101.

por Dan S

14 de abr. de 2022

Fantastic course. The best Coursera course I have ever taken. The high quality videos and phots really added to the presentation. Everything was very well planned. This is an example of online teaching done professionally.

por Arenell R

22 de sep. de 2020

I have completed 8 courses from various institutions over the past year and have found this course by far the best! I enjoyed the variety of aspects covered in much detail and inputs from different experts in their fields.

por Robert S

13 de jun. de 2020

I only wish there were a Mountains 102, 103, and more from the same University of Alberta team. I may suffer from withdrawal symptoms.....though a run in my local mountains after passing the last test was some consolation!

por Jan E

13 de may. de 2020

great multidisciplinary information in a appealing package, paired with relaxing mountain vistas - almost like a small vacation including interpretative hikes with park rangers, while I'm physically stuck at home - thanks!

por Svetlana R

13 de mar. de 2017

Learned a lots of really interesting infomation about mountains. Thanks a lot, it was realy beautiful and breathtaking adventure and I was sad it's finished - like I always feel when my journey somewhere comes to the end.

por Richard K

4 de abr. de 2022

Extremely well designed and imformative course. As a practicing natural resources professional, I found the course very interesting and have a new appreciation for mountain landscapes and their importance to our society.

por AREZIA G

18 de oct. de 2020

I really (really really) enjoyed this course. Very well structured, never boring and with a lot of unexpected topics.

Honestly the best course i have taken and to be 100% honest now that I completed the course I am sad.

por Ang C C

3 de may. de 2020

This is a multi-disciplinary course and I really enjoyed it as we learned various topics concerning mountains, glaciers, and the importance of mountain. I am pleasantly surprised at how enjoyable this course is in fact.

por Mitch B

27 de feb. de 2017

Great course and very well presented. Sometimes I spent more time looking at the spectacular pictures than listening to the instructors. I live near Banff National Park in Canmore so I recognized a lot of the pictures.

por rohan b

14 de jun. de 2020

Dear Team,

Greetings!

Thank you for giving the opportunity to complete this course.However, I would be highly appreciate if you kindly award me a certificate for the same.

Rohan Bagwe,

Mumbai, India

rohanbagwe29@gmail.com

por Tracey G

30 de ago. de 2020

The excellent course instructors made great use of media, examples, and locations. I especially appreciated the wide variety of inputs and interviews.

Like enjoying a very good book, I was sad when it came to the end.

por Lauren

16 de abr. de 2020

A very interesting, enjoyable and beautiful course about Mountains. The instructors are first class. The course materials are wonderful, and the interdisciplinary approach is a real bonus. Highly recommended course.

por Geraldine G O

28 de mar. de 2021

I could improve my knowledge in environmental studies related with mountains and study these topics in english. My native language is spanish, so I am very happy to practice and learn more in english. Thanks a lot.

por MOHAMMED S C

15 de may. de 2020

I understand more significance’s of mountains that give to our environment in a well explained scientific way.

This course make me much lover of mountains.

Tech tips program are good informative one for mountaineers.

por Betty B

14 de ago. de 2021

V​ery much enjoyed the course. Took the course due to Covid isolation as well as being interested in the course material and I am so glad that I did. Presenters were all excellent. Highly recommend the course.

por Eduardo J K

29 de nov. de 2020

Curso fantástico para uma introdução sobre o tema, abordando diversos tópicos. Os professores e convidados são engajados e compreendem de forma profunda os temas que ensinam. O material e os vídeos são muito bons.

por Robert W

12 de feb. de 2021

Packed with information, presented by great, relatable professors. Loved the historical contexts and all the detail. Obviously a lot of people were involved in the production of this course. They did a great job.

por Meenal S D

20 de ago. de 2020

An excellent course for Mountain and nature lovers. Very well structured.

Would love to learn more, through a series of more courses dedicated to

detailed study of Mountains in different continents of the world.

por Patricio N

19 de abr. de 2020

Very interesting. It is great to get inspired by people who love mountains. Think about a National Park series documentary. The tips and the interactive map was a very nice touch. I highly recommend this course.

por Alex C

8 de may. de 2020

I really enjoyed this course :-) The enthusiasm of the teachers and the content were a joy. I learnt many weird and wonderful things, many thanks for this excellent course...i look forward to any follow ups!!!

por helena m

28 de ene. de 2021

Beutifully explained + varied input by different contributors + great videos + awesome summary notes + meaningful yet challenging quizzes...

Thanks a million for this great course. I have enjoyed it so much!!

por Ness A

15 de abr. de 2020

Such a fun and interesting course! I loved how the instructors included different disciplines in the importance of mountains and the interactive map was an awesome way to learn about mountains I never knew.