Chevron Left
Volver a Academic Listening and Note-Taking

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Academic Listening and Note-Taking por parte de Universidad de California en Irvine

4.5
estrellas
483 calificaciones
131 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course will help non-native English speakers improve their listening and note-taking skills for the purpose of listening to academic lectures. You will learn techniques for improving your understanding and skills for taking more effective notes, and you will get lots of practice in using these. If you're planning to attend college classes in English, then this class is for you. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Understand and follow a lecture 2. Take better lecture notes 3. Discuss courses with classmates and professors 4. Give an effective academic presentation Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Principales revisiones

TA

Dec 11, 2018

It is very useful and very interesting course i learned a lot of skills from this course and these skills which i learned from this course will help me in my whole life regarding my studies

AR

May 17, 2020

I think this is very helpful for someone not used to learning in English. The content was very articulate and talks about note-taking methods along with assignments that help practice it.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 131 revisiones para Academic Listening and Note-Taking

por April

Jul 07, 2018

Excellent. It is my first lesson on cousera. I do learned a lot. Thank you for the teacher and all supporters' work

por Larissa P E

Feb 23, 2017

Very nice course with great teachers and well explained videos. It really improved my skills ! Thank you

por Juliana V M

Mar 12, 2019

It's my third course at Irvine. I really loved the others, this one I had some problems that I would like to share to improve the course. The first is that all assessments require 80% of good answers, but some of them have 4 questions. An error is equivalent to 25% of the grade, so it is impossible to pass this assessment with less than 100% of good answers. That would not be a problem if the questions were not so subjective at times and this was my second problem! I gave up some of the questions on two exams. I certainly did not agree with the answer I should give, but I was forced to do so. Besides, I had to watch 20 minutes of class on an unfamiliar subject and take notes. After that, I had to answer questions about unimportant details in the video. Even good notes would not contain such information. I know it's difficult to prepare a course like this and I think the method is great! My only concern is evaluation, more specifically, testing. As assessment is needed (I totally agree at this point), I think the wording and content of some questions could be reviewed.

por sandiso

Aug 11, 2017

This was a very informative course. It taught me a lot as a student and since I took it, I have improved a lot at school.

por Tuğşad A

Feb 04, 2019

It was a great course which was quite helpful in understanding different kinds of speech patterns that varies from one teacher to another and it helped me a lot with gaining new effective note-taking skills. Thank you for the opportunity and I am looking forward for UCLA's next online course!

por Tanveer A

Dec 11, 2018

It is very useful and very interesting course i learned a lot of skills from this course and these skills which i learned from this course will help me in my whole life regarding my studies

por Wanqing P

Jan 01, 2019

This course is both useful and interesting. Thanks to some given tasks of following TED lectures, I heard different opinions from all aspects and improved my note-taking skills.

por Agnes K

Jan 23, 2017

The course was really great: the lessons are very well-organized, build up very logically and most of all, they really help by note-taking and listening. I enjoyed the content, and found the mesure of free (optional) and fix contents very well-balanced. I learned a lot outside my field of research. The skills (e.g. time management) are very useful for me (and actually for everyone). To sum up: I loved the course and I can just recommend it for everyone!!! Thank you very much again! Ágnes

por Danilo J L B

Oct 26, 2016

Definitely this course helped me to improve my listening skills which was the goal I had in mind. Of course there was some troubles for me, but I ended up having a great time listening the lectures. It's all a matter of practice and the techniques I've been taught are definitely useful for most academic lectures.

Now I believe I have a sharper hearing!

por Nguyen N N

May 06, 2020

I wish I had known this course before studying for my Master's Degree abroad. Now, whenever I listen to any talk, sermon, or lesson, I always apply the Cornell note-taking method and yes, I have realised I remember its content way better. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to have a good preparation for their study abroad.

por Olga S

May 01, 2020

I think this is a very interesting and useful course for students. Helps to improve listening and take-note skills. After this course I know some lifehack for take notes and it is not seem me so difficult to listening and understand the main idea of lectures in English language. Thank you to all the teachers in this course.

por Alice L

Jun 12, 2017

What I got is more than I expect. The most wonderful issue is I forced to listen/watch the subject I didn't familiar. That gave me a great chance to know something I never touched before. And I found interesting. Even it was difficult, when I listened again and again, somehow I could figure out something. I felt happy.

por Hyller V R

Apr 12, 2019

Not only helped me absorb the fundamental aspects of taking notes, but also explained how this process is important to increase your understanding during a lecture.

I am really glad to have had the opportunity to participate in this course.

Congratulations to everybody that helped build this course.

por Olena

Jun 12, 2017

Thank you so much for the opportunety to study on this course. It helps me to understand English speech. I try to listen and catch the meaning even despite speech speed.

I become more confident in speaking English. I made a part of my report on scientific conference in English.

por Ismael R R

Jun 13, 2020

Excelente curso, un poco complicado para personas que tienen un nivel intermedio bajo de Ingles ya que los audios cuesta trabajo entenderlos y si no tenemos bien desarrollada la habilidad del Listening, esto hace que se complique un poco.

Pero en general muy bien

por Fahd A

Sep 06, 2017

This course provided me with what I needed and that was to write fast enough in English when listening academic materials... and some other skills like knowing what to write and what's not... but my main goal was to write faster and I achieved it thanks to this

por KEVIN H R F

Jul 28, 2020

Cordial Saludo, Me gusta mucho su forma de enseñar , pero voy abandonar el curso debido a que mi nivel de Ingles no me deja realizarlo, muchas gracias por la oportunidad, voy a buscar otro curso que este a mi nivel. gracias

por Antara R R

May 17, 2020

I think this is very helpful for someone not used to learning in English. The content was very articulate and talks about note-taking methods along with assignments that help practice it.

por Michelle N

Jun 25, 2020

This is such a valuable course for who those are planning to study abroad. I also found it useful to my incoming TOELF test, because the note-taking strategies are quite important

por Alejandra P d R

May 16, 2020

I think this course helps to be in contact with a great variety of topics which really helps in acquisition of new vocabulary that belongs to a number of different areas.

por Jayeon Y

Oct 03, 2016

This course helped me a lot! Very useful and meaningful! Every week assignment made me a little bit busy and crazy, but those were also meaningful works for me!

por Aline P

Oct 22, 2018

The course is very complete and provides valuable techniques on note-taking, it really helped me to improve my strategies when watching lectures and courses.

por Dino P C

Aug 02, 2020

The course was well planned and I appreciate all the resources that the UCI has offered through the course. I learned a lot in this course.

por Sylvia S

Jun 27, 2018

I like this course, and I think it helped me a lot. I have learned efficient ways to do academic listening and note-taking. Thanks a lot.

por María A A G

Jul 17, 2020

Very useful course! It gives you lots of strategies to study and lectures on differentes areas. It is not not just for learning english.