Chevron Left
Volver a Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA por parte de Imperial College London

4.0
estrellas
2,835 calificaciones
708 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This intermediate-level course introduces the mathematical foundations to derive Principal Component Analysis (PCA), a fundamental dimensionality reduction technique. We'll cover some basic statistics of data sets, such as mean values and variances, we'll compute distances and angles between vectors using inner products and derive orthogonal projections of data onto lower-dimensional subspaces. Using all these tools, we'll then derive PCA as a method that minimizes the average squared reconstruction error between data points and their reconstruction. At the end of this course, you'll be familiar with important mathematical concepts and you can implement PCA all by yourself. If you’re struggling, you'll find a set of jupyter notebooks that will allow you to explore properties of the techniques and walk you through what you need to do to get on track. If you are already an expert, this course may refresh some of your knowledge. The lectures, examples and exercises require: 1. Some ability of abstract thinking 2. Good background in linear algebra (e.g., matrix and vector algebra, linear independence, basis) 3. Basic background in multivariate calculus (e.g., partial derivatives, basic optimization) 4. Basic knowledge in python programming and numpy Disclaimer: This course is substantially more abstract and requires more programming than the other two courses of the specialization. However, this type of abstract thinking, algebraic manipulation and programming is necessary if you want to understand and develop machine learning algorithms....

Principales reseñas

WS

6 de jul. de 2021

Now i feel confident about pursuing machine learning courses in the future as I have learned most of the mathematics which will be helpful in building the base for machine learning, data science.

JS

16 de jul. de 2018

This is one hell of an inspiring course that demystified the difficult concepts and math behind PCA. Excellent instructors in imparting the these knowledge with easy-to-understand illustrations.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 706 revisiones para Mathematics for Machine Learning: PCA

por Dora J

3 de feb. de 2019

Great course including many useful refreshers on foundational concepts like inner products, projections, Lagrangian etc.

por Trung T V

18 de sep. de 2019

This course is very helpful for me to understand Math for ML. Thank you Professors at Imperial College London so much!

por Mukund M

24 de may. de 2020

Professor Deisenroth is amazing. Very tough course but appreciated all the derivations and explanations of concepts.

por David H

21 de mar. de 2019

It was challenging but worth it to enhance the mathematic skills for machine learning. Thanks for the awesome course.

por Lee F

28 de sep. de 2018

This was the toughest of the three modules. It gave me a strong foundation to continue pusrsuing machine learning.

por Nileshkumar R P

6 de may. de 2020

This course was tough but awesome. Lots of things i learnt from this course. Great course indeed and worth doing.

por Carlos J B A

17 de may. de 2021

Undoubtedly one of the best courses I have taken on mathematics for Machine Learning with world-class teachers.

por Kuntal T

15 de feb. de 2021

one of the best course to learn whats happening in machine learning and how it make sense through mathematics.

por 037 N S

30 de jul. de 2020

The PCA part Was a bit tricky barely handle the concepts.

thank you imperial team for such interactive course

por Krzysztof

21 de ago. de 2019

One of the most challenging course in my life - almost impossible without python and mathematics background.

por Javier d V

25 de jun. de 2021

Great course. An intermediate mathematical background is requiered. This is a strength in terms of learning

por Pratama A A

25 de ago. de 2020

Need more Effort to grasp the materials explained_-" you need to be patience,the lecturer is really on top

por Nelson S S

29 de jul. de 2020

Excellent course ... Quite challenging, a little difficult but I have learned a lot ... Thank you ...

por sameen n

6 de sep. de 2019

Amazing course and provides basic introduction for the PCA. Need for programming help in this course.

por Brian H

24 de feb. de 2020

Great course. I appreciate the rigor and clear mathematical explanations provided by Dr. Deisenroth.

por Natalya T

25 de feb. de 2019

exellent course! nice python wokring enviroment and very good explanation at each topic. thank you!

por Aishik R

18 de ene. de 2020

Excellent and to-the-point explanations, useful assignments to make the concepts etched in memory

por Haoquan F

13 de feb. de 2022

It's overall wonderful but the week 4's programming assignment really struggled and confused me.

por KAMASANI V R

20 de jun. de 2020

This course helped me in getting a deeper knowledge on Principal Component Analysis. Thank You.

por Wei X

16 de oct. de 2018

concise and to the point. Might want to introduce a bit the technique of Lagrangin multiplier

por Fab V

31 de jul. de 2022

A fascinating course letting people explore the beauties of Mathematics and Machine Learning

por Leonardo H T S

2 de may. de 2021

This was an amazing course, I really enjoyed it and learn a lot!

Thank you so much, greetings

por Wahyu N A M

27 de mar. de 2021

I'm struggle with assigments of week 4 about implementing PCA. But, yeaah finally i got this

por Mayank

3 de dic. de 2020

This course cleared so many concepts and enabled me to further master the subject on my own.

por Ripple S

17 de mar. de 2020

I learnt a lot from this course and now I think I am much more familiar with this algorithm.