Chevron Left
Volver a Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.6
estrellas
677 calificaciones
137 reseña

Acerca del Curso

What is the origin of our universe? What are dark matter and dark energy? This is the first part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Physical Sciences. Scientific research across the physical sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the physical sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. We’ll consider questions about the origin and evolution of our universe, the nature of dark energy and dark matter and the role of anthropic reasoning in the explanation of our universe. Learning Objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the natural sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Reading To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

Principales reseñas

DL

Nov 27, 2017

Many of the mathematical elements were beyond me, but the instructors presented the material in such a way that it really demonstrated the art of philosophical thinking about the field of science.

AK

Oct 05, 2020

Thx to the professors for a wonderful overivew in understanding our universe. Also the role of the anthropic principle and philosophical approaches in advancing scientific progress in cosmology.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 135 revisiones para Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Physical Sciences

por Giovanni F

Oct 15, 2020

Mind blowing course! Reccomended to anyone with poor knowledge in cosmology or whoever wants to flex a bit our assumptions on outside world. "Hard science" bits require particular concentration, but it is totally worth it! Michela Massimi, John Peacock, Alasdair Richmond are amazing! Super high quality contents! And don't miss the other course on Cognitive Sciences!

por Adrián D C

Apr 14, 2020

The course has a very concise and well-paced presentation. The lecturers are very clear in their explanations and the additional reading material complements very well the information given. This course is a must to get familiarised with the way science works through in order to formulate a scientific theory that explains the phenomena we can observe.

por ruth p

Jul 10, 2018

En mi opinión, encontraré este curso muy interesante, alto nivel académico de sus instructores. Esta introducción a la Filosofía de las Ciencias Físicas forma un enfoque completo del tema. Recomiendo estos cursos a cualquiera que ame el conocimiento. Me siento muy agradecido con los instructores de los cursos y la plataforma de Coursera.

por Guillermo C A

May 15, 2020

I think it is a great course

It was very important for me to know the methods and processes of science seen from philosophy. I found the case of cosmology from metaphysics to becoming a physical science very exciting, and also how Professor J. Peacock summarizes the most important facts of modern cosmology, I find it awesome!

por Javier M

Jun 29, 2017

A comprehensive course for a specific subject. The videos are easy to follow and the additional readings provide even more depth to the corresponding topics. I find that the course is very interesting not only for the philosophical/scientific minded, but for most people in general.

por Pablo G A

Jun 18, 2017

I enjoyed so much this course! I think it is very well scheduled and structured. I also liked a lot the introduced scientific topics.

I am also taking advantage of these courses of the University of Edinburgh for practice English language, and I highly recommend them.

Thanks!

por María B

Jul 21, 2020

This course has been critical to decide what am I going to study in collage, and thanks to this course I've found out that I can apply what I love from philosophy into what I love from science. I would love if there would be a part two of this topic

por Aarn A

Aug 21, 2020

Very informative + entertaining. The mathematics was over my head, but understanding not essential for this course. Provided me with a great refresher into concepts I couldn't understand 40 years ago. Cheers

por Azmi K

Oct 05, 2020

Thx to the professors for a wonderful overivew in understanding our universe. Also the role of the anthropic principle and philosophical approaches in advancing scientific progress in cosmology.

por Krishnamoorthy.R

Jun 07, 2018

Nice slides.Lectures are well prepared .Quizzes are relevant to the subject and thoughtfully worded so that even wrong choices also contribute to the knowledge of the study material.

por Rodrigo d S R

Aug 25, 2019

Amazingly mindblowing and interesting. Even though some of the explanations on dark energy and why it has an expanding effect on the universe are quite hard to understand and grasp.

por Felipe A Á O

Feb 12, 2018

Un curso muy útil para todos aquellos interesados en la relación entre física y filosofía. Entrega herramientas precisas para reconocer los problemas filosóficos de la cosmología.

por luis j

May 04, 2019

Excellent course, with the contribution of professionals,

that manage to transmit not only the knowledge but the questions to solve, Transmitted in excellent form.

por Ellasa S

Dec 04, 2019

This was a beautiful overview and introduction to the philosophy of physical sciences. I am excited about taking more courses with/at The University of Edinburgh.

por VINOD T P

May 30, 2020

The course was fascinating and inspirational. It revealed to me the connection between science and philosophy in the context of cutting edge knowledge.

por Rulx N

Apr 25, 2019

Important notions to learn for who is interested in science; this could help us better communicate with each other particularly with science opponents

por Ahmad S

Aug 29, 2017

Great course! Special thanks to Prof. John Peacock as he explained all the information in a very simplistic way. I liked his videos so much

por Dani C

Dec 24, 2019

I learned interesting ways of abording the subject of new theories. As a physics teacher, I will use some ideas in my everyday practice.

por Francisco A M

Sep 01, 2017

A remarkable experience. Great lectures, beautiful surroundings, well chosen readings. I guess I will sign up for the second part of it.

por Héctor R R M

Jun 19, 2020

Curso muy interesante. El material se explica de forma clara, comprensible para cualquier audiencia y nivel de conocimiento previo.

por Atimukta M

Dec 30, 2018

This course will let you dive into the depth of universe and see through the theories and reason for their existence till now.

por Chagari A P R

Jan 17, 2020

Bridges philosophy and cosmology seamlessly. Prof Peacock's lectures are brilliantly lucid. Wonderfully demystifying course.

por Hugh H

Sep 04, 2017

Fantastic material. Well delivered lectures. This course is challenging and requires you to pay close attention. I loved it.

por Rabeet T

May 06, 2020

Extremely well explained! A brilliant course highly recommended for anyone who wishes to learn about cosmology and reality