Chevron Left
Volver a Preventative Healthcare for the Newborn Baby

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Preventative Healthcare for the Newborn Baby por parte de Sistema Universitario de Colorado

4.8
estrellas
481 calificaciones
116 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course, you will learn some medical interventions and skills to keep newborns healthy in the days and weeks after they have been born. We’ll tell you about medicines like Vitamin K and erythromycin and how they can prevent serious illnesses. We’ll also introduce screening tests like hearing screening and newborn blood screening that help to make sure that babies are set up for success right from the start. But we will start off by talking about jaundice, looking at the simple ways to identify and treat this common presentation and prevent any harm to babies. A newborn baby is an amazing beautiful life filled with hope. There is so much that goes into making sure that babies are born healthy, and so much more to think about after they are born. Whether you are in the health care field, or even a parent, this course is the perfect educational opportunity for you to keep newborn babies healthy in the days and weeks after they are born!...

Principales reseñas

SZ
6 de dic. de 2020

Good course to learn all the necessary healthcare information about the newborns. As a new father, I feel more informed about the vaccines and healthcare my child received after I took this course.

JJ
14 de sep. de 2020

It is a great course where I learn a lot regarding preventative healthcare for newborn baby. I would like to highly recommend this course to new moms to better take care of their newborn babies.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 116 revisiones para Preventative Healthcare for the Newborn Baby

por Jodi S

18 de jun. de 2019

Excellent foundational topics for providers helping educate parents on their newborn's health! The instructors made this often complicated information very easy to understand. Thank you!

por Ana L P M

26 de sep. de 2019

Exceptional program to learn and deal with all the issues of our newborns. Also, the language and the time required to understand deeply this topic are just well done.

por janeth m

27 de abr. de 2019

The best of the best for heath care baby providers

por Louis A K H T

28 de mar. de 2019

Although it is not a course which is easy to absorb, this is really a course which had taught me a lot and I realised that there are a lot of knowledge I need to gather.

Thank you so much to the patient lecturers!

por Theodoros A

16 de ene. de 2019

A very good course for everyone , despite its background!

por Nayme O D

31 de mar. de 2019

Very Good One!

por Karmen R

19 de ene. de 2020

I felt there were too many errors throughout this course as compared to the numerous other COURSERA courses I have taken. I noticed that in one case, someone else had commented about errors in the questions SIX MONTHS prior yet the mistake is STILL THERE> If the discussion forums were being monitored which would not be hard to do since there is VERY LITTLE THERE, the owners of the course material could have easily made the corrections in moments. I am disappointed at the numerous errors and the lack of monitoring. I also felt there was an over reliance on reading instead of presenting as compared to other courses. The reading was nice to reinforce showing that it was from a legitimate agency or organization, however I still felt the topic should have been presented versus just read this. There were diagrams referred to that were not in the presentation. I mean do a peer review - have an editor. It is a disservice to students to have incorrect and missing information in the course.

por YANKUNDIYE J B

16 de ene. de 2021

Breast milk is the best food for babies in the first year of life. It helps them grow healthy and strong and protects them from infections and illness. For example: Breast milk has hormones and the right amount of protein, sugar, fat and most vitamins to help your baby grow and develop.

It is especially important that babies at extra risk receive vitamin K via the intramuscular route. When the intramuscular route is declined by the parent, two oral doses of 2 mg should be offered instead (the first dose within 6 hours of birth, and the second between 4 – 7 days of age

Congenital heart disease may initially be suspected during a routine ultrasound scan of the baby in the womb. Specialist ultrasound, called foetal echocardiography, will then be carried out at around 18 to 22 weeks of the pregnancy to try to confirm the exact diagnosis.

The right side of the heart pumps oxygen-poor blood from the body to the lungs, where it receives oxygen. The left side of the heart pumps oxygen-rich blood from the lungs to the body.

Bone marrow and stem cell transplant from a compatible related donor is the only treatment that can cure thalassemia. It is the most effective treatment.

por Helen T

10 de jul. de 2020

There were some errors, being:

Talk about a video on how to administer IM injections to newborn was missing.

A diagram relating to clotting factors did not match the diagram being talked about by the lecturer, who referred to lettering and numbers, which were absent from the diagram.

Some of the quiz questions did not match the answers, and so I had to keep pressing until I got the answer, then the explanation of the answer clarified what the question SHOULD have been.

One of the quiz quetsions during the video lecture appeared before the topic (Chlamydia trachomatis causing pneumonia) had been discussed.

Otherwise it was an excellent and very useful course, and I learned a lot. Thanks!

por Aedrian A

22 de ene. de 2021

This excellent course will likely work well with a wide range of audiences - from medical students, general practitioners and aspiring pediatricians who are looking for a review material on the topic, to expectant non-medically-trained caregivers who want to know the science of the medical recommendations in taking care of newborns. The material is easy to digest, and the references drive through the emphasized points adequately. As a medical student, I learned new things from this course particularly on the "whys" of certain routine practices that are usually not discussed in our rotations.

por Adrianna U

12 de ago. de 2020

I really enjoyed this curse and have learned about multiple procedures that happen right after childbirth. It is exceptionally educational. My only suggestion would be to update some of the attached readings as 1 of them is not longer available on the website. Additionally, the provided readings are written in an advanced scientific terminology, therefore they are definitely not beginner level.

por Abraham B S

21 de ago. de 2020

Although I have no idea of the medical terms, this course was done in such way that it's not needed to know every single medical term and the fact that you can read papers from American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and check the recommendations from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) really helps to have a broader view. The effort to finish this course is totally worth it.

por Lynda T

5 de sep. de 2021

knowledeg is power, so far i have learnt so much in such a short time ,my advice for everyone is to consider taking courses like this , as a mother ,parent this course is the best fit for all.im so happy and grateful i had the opportunity to learn all these .ill recommend this course anytime anyday and definetly its a 5/5 for me

por subhash S

24 de sep. de 2019

Coursera has given me the edge to expand my knowledge and skills in my profession as many times as I was involved. Flexible time schedule and awesome professors mend it all to create an amazing Coursera all together for all types of learners.

por Katherine v I

3 de may. de 2020

Such a great course with to-the-point information regarding what actions should be done in the first days of a newborn. The instructors made this often complicated information very easy to understand. Thank you so much!

por BIANCA K

9 de feb. de 2021

The course was very insightful and quite easy to undertake. I was able to study in my own time and even schedule time to study and set goals which went a long way in helping me become disciplined. I loved it! 🇰🇪

por Shuai Z

6 de dic. de 2020

Good course to learn all the necessary healthcare information about the newborns. As a new father, I feel more informed about the vaccines and healthcare my child received after I took this course.

por Jill

15 de sep. de 2020

It is a great course where I learn a lot regarding preventative healthcare for newborn baby. I would like to highly recommend this course to new moms to better take care of their newborn babies.

por MICHELLE D I G

31 de may. de 2020

This course has been amazing. I have learned a lot about how manage correctly newborns, how prevent diseases, and how change the fetal body to transform into a newborn body. Thanks for all.

por Jenny P M A

12 de abr. de 2020

Este curso es muy interesante útil y practico y es prácticamente un deber saber sobre este tema muchas gracias a Coursera por esta gran oportunidad muchas Gracias Coursera

Muchas Gracias

por Aiswarya M K K

20 de oct. de 2020

One of the best course on Newborn Healthcare. It gives a very clear concept and all the necessary related links for further clarification and information.

por Luana M A

16 de abr. de 2021

Curso muito bem estruturado! O conteúdo e as aulas foram apresentados de forma clara e objetiva. Parabéns aos idealizados e professores!

por Narjis Z

10 de jul. de 2020

I loved this course from start to finish. The explanation was amazing and beautifully put. I would recommend every mother to take this.

por K.M.A.L. P

27 de nov. de 2020

This is the best coursera course I've ever followed. Every fact is nicely explained with all the guidelines as reading materials.

por Laura X D S

1 de ago. de 2020

aprendí mucho en mi país no se realizan todas las practicas que aquí se recomiendan, es un curso muy interesante y lo recomiendo.