Chevron Left
Volver a Programming Languages, Part A

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Programming Languages, Part A por parte de Universidad de Washington

4.9
1,012 calificaciones
289 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Principales revisiones

YZ

Dec 03, 2016

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

AL

Mar 22, 2017

Great course!\n\nI think this course has just the right balance of theoretical background, formal definitions, and actual examples to make "just right".\n\nThanks Dan, and everybody else involved!

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 287 revisiones para Programming Languages, Part A

por Allison C

Mar 03, 2018

I loved learning the concepts used in the ML language: case statements, tail recursion, signatures, pattern matching. The professor explained things really well. Being provided with the pdf summaries of the sections and the code used in the lectures was much appreciated. Doing the peer reviews was hard, having to parse through other people's code, but doing this made me understand the material much better. Getting peer reviews was also great because I never would have noticed the style mistakes I made. I'm on to Part B!

por Mike S

Aug 12, 2016

A brilliant first part to this 3 part programming language course.

Part A focuses on teaching Functional Programming concepts using ML, a programming language that is becoming more relevant today with the popularity increase in the Haskell and F# languages, both based on ML.

Dan is excellent on the videos, explaining the core concepts extremely well, while also doing a great job with the live coding (a really hard thing to do, even for a software engineer with 10 years of experience).

Everyone on the discussion forums, the TA's, the Admins and Dan, are really great, and compliment the video lectures well.

Overall really happy with the course and can't wait to get started on Parts B and C.

por Zhang C

Apr 30, 2019

can learn fast

por Karuhanga L

Nov 18, 2017

Committed Tutor, interesting and impact full content, good community and well, finishing needed that extra nudge.... Well worth it :)

por Mark R

Jun 17, 2019

Good intro. to Functional Programming

por Vivekanand G N

Jun 10, 2019

This is a fantastic and ground breaking course. A must in every programmer's toolbox

por Oluwatimilehin

Jun 04, 2019

It's a really great course. The first week can be a bit tough to get through especially if you're from a programming background but I implore you to wait it out. You'll learn a lot about functional programming and learn how to apply those concepts to make you a better programmer.

por Julie L

May 21, 2019

What a great course this was. I really enjoyed getting to learn SML, which I hadn't been familiar with, previously. I actually enrolled to get formal exposure to Racket, but it turns out that is covered in Part B. I was pleasantly surprised by SML. I'm looking forward to taking parts B and C. Thank you for a fun and enjoyable class. :)

por Chris S

May 20, 2019

This course introduces a new style of programming to what most programmers are familiar with, and has been incredibly eye-opening for me personally. The lectures are delivered in a clear and crisp manner, and the instructor definitely shows enthusiasm for the material. I would highly recommend this course to anyone wishing to broaden their programming skill set.

por Oskar M G A

May 19, 2019

Great course, if you want to learn the foundations of functional programming in a purely functional language this is the course for you!

por Chua B Q

May 18, 2019

Solid introduction to functional programming and programming languages concepts.

por l1nxy

Apr 21, 2019

it's very great course

por Q L

Apr 20, 2019

amazing course, I love it

por Nacho C I

Apr 16, 2019

Was a beutiful course with fun exercises

por shaahin k

Apr 12, 2019

the idea of start by sml is briliant and very helpful about the base of programming languages

por Gopal J

Apr 06, 2019

it`s a very good course.

por Tega E

Mar 28, 2019

I really enjoyed taking this course. It was quite taxing but I loved the way Dan Grossman presented the concepts in a very intuitive and didactic manner.

por Mike

Mar 26, 2019

Good

por Matt K

Mar 21, 2019

Very approachable with minimal CS background but incredibly insightful with a prior CS education. Sheds light on many forgotten yet important topics and gives any programmer a new lens to view their code though.

por Sean U

Mar 18, 2019

Great course! I learned some concepts of functional programming and language implementation, their advantages and caveats, I'm going check out part B. It's a quite easy course, considering what it is about (it's not an easy subject). But the resources are great and there's plenty of cool activities, this definitely made me a better programmer and I tried to make some things with haskell after I finishing this, and this course definitely made things easier.

por Nicholas T

Mar 18, 2019

Incredible course, deepened my understanding of programming considerably!

por Sohom B

Mar 09, 2019

Amazing Course. Professor Dan really brings out the best in the students, and communicates the material really well. Will be taking Part B and Part C shortly!!

por Icaro A P

Mar 08, 2019

Probably the best MOOC I've ever taken

por CLARISA B H C

Mar 05, 2019

Muy buena información; nivel alto.

por Christian K

Mar 04, 2019

Absolutely fantastic. This course is the best MOOC have ever experienced regarding the passion of the instructor, the well thought through structure and just the right level of challenge to keep you engaged without being frustrating. The experience taking the course has changed my perspective on programming languages that I already know and significantly increased my passion for the subject as well as my expectation of what MOOCS can achieve.