Chevron Left
Volver a Writing in the Sciences

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Writing in the Sciences por parte de Universidad de Stanford

4.9
estrellas
4,413 calificaciones
1,525 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course teaches scientists to become more effective writers, using practical examples and exercises. Topics include: principles of good writing, tricks for writing faster and with less anxiety, the format of a scientific manuscript, peer review, grant writing, ethical issues in scientific publication, and writing for general audiences....

Principales reseñas

AL
3 de jun. de 2019

This was an amazing course that really helped me with my medical writing skills and understanding how making things clear for all audiences can help in spreading scientific knowledge across the world.

KK
14 de sep. de 2020

Hello Kristin\n\nThank you for teaching me the basics of academic writing and editing with proper grammar. In this course, I was introduced to the scientific panel which further enriched my knowledge.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 1,529 revisiones para Writing in the Sciences

por Erkan O

19 de oct. de 2019

Dr. Sainani really is a great tutor, she inspired me and gave confidence about how to approach writing in the sciences with a very fun and thorough style. Wouldn't be better !

Thank you

Erkan

por Nicole Y

13 de may. de 2020

The course covers wide range of skills in the academic writing; especially for scientific manuscripts. The contents are clear and concise, easy to follow!

por Archana D

12 de feb. de 2021

I am sure that the knowledge and skills I acquired by taking this course will help me write publishable scientific articles for my research. Dr Kristin Sainani has covered the fundamental aspects of writing scientific papers and provided insights with practical examples. With a decade-long clinical experience working as a psychotherapist, I am now in a process to shape my career as a researcher, and I believe completing this course with honors will be instrumental in my pursuit.

por kirti k

15 de sep. de 2020

Hello Kristin

Thank you for teaching me the basics of academic writing and editing with proper grammar. In this course, I was introduced to the scientific panel which further enriched my knowledge.

por Carol R

11 de jul. de 2019

Excellent, comprehensive course even though it is ranked as beginner level. I definitely honed skills from it. The professor's lectures are excellent.

por Kristin W

19 de jun. de 2018

While there were some helpful general tips, this course should really be called "Medical Journal Writing". With a course title like "Writing in the Sciences", you would expect it to apply to all (or a least a broad range of) branches of science. However, 99% of the examples were about medical science journal papers. This is not at all helpful to those of us who aren't doctors or medical researchers. It is very difficult to slog through when you can't understand the underlying examples. Either change the name of the course to Writing in the MEDICAL Sciences or broaden the scope of the examples. Because as is, this course was all but useless.

por M R P

25 de may. de 2020

The certificate has a bad quality. "Standford" sign just like a copy-paste name from the web. Not good

por Mithra M

19 de ene. de 2021

This is a fantastic course with an exceptional instructor. I earned my Ph.D. quite a while ago and have written plenty. I've never had trouble writing "correctly," but also was never trained in how to write or plan papers efficiently. The material provided in this course has totally helped me by filling in gaps in how to write papers, how to pay attention to the reader, how to edit other people's work, and even how to think about moving into science journalism. The instructor describes her thought processes in editing, and this is a fantastic help. I wish there were a second course and/or a book or blog. Thank you to Dr. Sainani and thank you to Stanford for making this course available. It gives me faith in online learning. One suggestion: if doing a Part II, it would great to more fully include social sciences, which are not the focus of this course.

por Roxana K

15 de sep. de 2020

The best online course I have ever taken. This course eased my way in writing. I can not believe how much I learned (and tried to unlearn!) during this 8 weeks. I am a postdoc with 22 peer reviewed publications, still some materials in this course were brand new for me. My first language is not English and I learned science writing here and there mimicking old style writers and picked up all those unnecessary sometimes incorrect ROLES of science writing. I have a much better feeling and confidence in my writing now.

Well done and thanks for making it available for free. My writing, or better to say my thinking process during writing, is now more organized and purposeful. Keep offering it so a greater number of students and professionals could benefit from it. I loved it too much!!!!

por Talita P

10 de jun. de 2020

I took this course aiming to improve my writing skills focusing on papers and manuscripts. Turns out it showed me how to be a better science communicator for a general audience and that was fantastic! The strategies presented in the course are interesting and powerful, independently if you are a student or an expert. Professor Kristin Sainani has an excellent didatics, that engage you the course.

por Anketse D

16 de ene. de 2021

This is an excellent course if you are struggling how to write a scientific paper or don't know what goes in what part of the paper. I have already graduated from grad school but I wish I took it in my first and second year of grad school as it would have simplified my writing life.

por Christina F

11 de jun. de 2020

I really enjoyed taking this course. The material was clear and organized in a logical manner. The segments were the perfect length. I have applied the lessons already in my professional and personal life. I would be happy to take another course from her or Coursera.

por Angela M D

13 de jun. de 2020

This course is excellent! It is highly recommended for all those who want to write articles, present grants, clarify doubts about the researcher's career and learn all this from experts.

Congratulations to Stanford University. I really enjoyed the course!

por Prabhat J

12 de jun. de 2020

It was insightful and interesting--the lectures were clear and well thought out. I also liked how the exercises were organised. I would highly recommend this course for anyone willing to improve their writing skills, whether or not in the field of science.

por Dr. A S

4 de ene. de 2021

Excellent course- highly recommend for writers of all styles and levels. Engaging instructor with a deep knowledge base. It took me longer than 30 hours to complete, but an "on the ball" student could do it handily. Overall, worth my time investment.

por Kathleen P

11 de ene. de 2021

I rewrote my first paper and submitted it to a journal by following this course, and currently wait for a response. Thank you Stanford and Dr. Kristin Sainani! This course is the only resource that I have to write the paper, and it is very helpful!

por Adriana P

1 de feb. de 2021

The Writing in Science course was my "first time" with Coursera.

Great course, great professor. I loved suggestions and tricks to gets a more catchy text.

Although it's made by a medical expert, it's useful for all scientific subjects.

por ayrolles

10 de jun. de 2020

Excellent course, which teaches not only a how to write but a how to reason in science and how to clarify ideas. Absolutely essential for anyone who wants to write scientific articles with or without any previous experience. Thank you

por Arafat M H

11 de jun. de 2020

Great course. Very useful for those just setting out to write in medical journals. A lot of useful tips on basics of what must constitute a well written paper, many of those that one fails to pick up on just reading articles.

por Dr. T S

10 de jun. de 2020

Insightful. Kudos to the instructor for compiling such a well-crafted course. Being in the science writing field for over two years, the course came as a refresher and helped me considerably improve my writing.

por Jibraillajane J a J

12 de jun. de 2020

A good course for those wanting to know how to write scientific papers in a style that is understandable for readers. Also included tips about science communication and writing research proposals.

por Liza P P

10 de jun. de 2020

It is a fantastic course! I learned a lot. I have written some publication during my PhD study, but this course "changed my life". Thank you for existing!

por Brendan P

12 de jun. de 2020

Very thorough. Great tips for the scientific writing and revision process. Really learned a great skill in cutting clutter. Thank you:)

por CAROLINA R B

28 de may. de 2019

Very useful course. More than improved my writing skills, I have improved finding errors in other people's writings.

por brian b

13 de jun. de 2020

The course greatly improved my writing skills. I would definitely advertise this course to my colleagues.