Chevron Left
Volver a Gender, Family, and Social Change in Contemporary South Korea

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Gender, Family, and Social Change in Contemporary South Korea por parte de Universidad Yonsei

4.7
estrellas
156 calificaciones
38 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course examines the transformation of Korean society beginning around the turn of the 20th century to contemporary times. In particular, it explores how shifting categories of masculinity, and by contrast, femininity have impacted upon, and in turn been influenced by social, cultural, and political change. Using multiple disciplinary lenses, we will critically examine how gender intersects with political, social, and economic developments starting with the Confucianization of Korean society during the Joseon Dynasty (1392-1910) up to the contemporary moment of globalization and neoliberal reform. The class will draw on a variety of topics such as traditional views of women, religion, race, class, education, patriarchy, sexuality, imperialism, modernity, war, globalization, the diaspora, among others. Special attention will be placed on the historical, transnational and transdisciplinary connections....

Principales reseñas

CB

Feb 21, 2018

Excellent course. I strongly recommend it for anyone interested in Korean culture. I took it because I am writing about KPOP and sexuality but I learnt much more and am really glad I did it.

NS

Aug 11, 2020

thank you so much for taking the course in a well organized way and in clear detail. i wanted to know more about the culture of s korea and it was dealt in depth by the mentors. thank you.

Filtrar por:

26 - 38 de 38 revisiones para Gender, Family, and Social Change in Contemporary South Korea

por Eva W

Feb 03, 2019

A lot of work but 100% worth it.

por FRANCESCA N

May 22, 2020

Very interesting!

por S B L

Mar 25, 2020

Amazing!

por Kanta P

May 09, 2020

Although I really like the course, its contents, how it is structured and, most of all, the reading materials, the peer review system and discussions that often are not very engaging draw me back a bit. Still, if you are interested in this porticular topic of South Korea, this course is worth taking.

por Jessica R

Mar 18, 2018

It was an interesting course. I've learned lots of new contents and information related to Korean society, and delved into some other topics, which were more familiar.

Texts, articles, and videos suggested are engaging, and fundamental in order to better understand the subjects.

por Lydia C H

Oct 07, 2019

I really like this course. It does show a point of view I wasn't expecting to learn about Korea and it really opened my mind and eyes a bit. It is a really well-taught class and I am enjoying it!

por Michael R

Jun 14, 2017

This course was very interactive, and it provided lots of resources on the side as well. It was challenging and allowed interaction with other learners as well. Thank you for this course.

por Noelia C T

Jun 22, 2020

Curso muy interesante pero obsoleto en cuanto a información se refiere. Los datos son de hace 4 años y un país.puede cambiar mucho en ese periodo de tiempo.

por Jonathan H

May 18, 2017

Very interesting course, could be improved by some work on the subtitling.

por Valeria C R N

Nov 19, 2017

I would put 5 stars because it's amazing but too short :'(

por Nimasi S P

Oct 14, 2020

Thank you

por Joy S

Aug 28, 2017

Good overview of how things stand in South Korea. Slightly hard to understand as it is taught by Koreans with Korean accents.

por Burcu F

Oct 20, 2019

Unfortunately I couldn't get what I expected from this course. The videos were not enthusiastic, mostly based on info-graphs and pie charts. Quizzes were mostly based on parrot-fashion.