Chevron Left
Volver a Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis por parte de Universidad de Stanford

4.8
estrellas
698 calificaciones

Acerca del Curso

Learn how to model social and economic networks and their impact on human behavior. How do networks form, why do they exhibit certain patterns, and how does their structure impact diffusion, learning, and other behaviors? We will bring together models and techniques from economics, sociology, math, physics, statistics and computer science to answer these questions. The course begins with some empirical background on social and economic networks, and an overview of concepts used to describe and measure networks. Next, we will cover a set of models of how networks form, including random network models as well as strategic formation models, and some hybrids. We will then discuss a series of models of how networks impact behavior, including contagion, diffusion, learning, and peer influences. You can find a more detailed syllabus here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Networks-Online-Syllabus.pdf You can find a short introductory videao here: http://web.stanford.edu/~jacksonm/Intro_Networks.mp4...

Principales reseñas

LN

2 de jul. de 2021

I was new to network theory but the concepts were very well articulated. A whole new way of looking at what makes social relationships, favor exchange(s) and social networks work. Well worth the time.

AB

21 de abr. de 2021

Very well done and explained, full of insight in the social network analysis!!! Lots of ideas about using it in company and team behaviours! Economical analysis of financial contagion is insightful!!!

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 158 revisiones para Social and Economic Networks: Models and Analysis

por Benjamin K

19 de may. de 2017

Though this course confused the heck out of me many times, I have a broad understandings of what networks are and how they can be analyzed and modeled despite enrolling with minimal prior knowledge. I recommend it to anyone interested in analyzing how societies and their members behave and that when it seems difficult you stick it out. Thank you Matthew Jackson!

por Haoran Y

16 de mar. de 2021

This is a very good course designed for both beginners and advanced learners of Network analysis. The assignments have been divided into both standard and advanced tasks so that to meet different needs. The organization of it is clear and reasonable. I will recommend everyone who is interested or curious about network analysis to start learning this course!

por Danyang L

6 de jul. de 2022

Although this course is labelled as "advanced", it's really not that hard. You might want to go through the advanced homework questions as well as reading the textbook to get a better understanding about this topic. I can really feel the passion from Prof. Jackson and this really motivates and facilitates my learning.

por Ekaterina M

4 de sep. de 2022

A must for anyone interested in network analysis, especially students with economic background. I really enjoyed it and so far it is the best course that not only gives you an intro to centrality measures, but provides a gradual immersion into understanding of network formation, dynamics, and outcomes.

por Chao W

3 de ene. de 2022

The course is super interesting and very well structured. The lengths of videos fit the learner's attention span well. The quizzes during lectures keep learners engaged. Problem sets are very useful tools for reviewing. In all, a big thank you to Prof. Jackson for a wonderful learning experience.

por Paul R

6 de nov. de 2016

Great course!

It's a theoretical course and it's definitely harder than many of the other courses offered on Coursera. The quizzes and final exam are definitely doable but understanding everything perfectly is not an easy task. The professor is very clear. I highly recommend this course.

por Jose F R

14 de sep. de 2022

Great course, I'm really grateful for Professor Jackson work in preparing all lectures and tests. I have grasped many practical applications of social network analysis and I would like to gain deeper knowledge of this matter, and specifically about its empirical applications.

por Desiree D

8 de nov. de 2016

Matt, is awesome. Exercises are helpful so you can get the basics of what you need to learn. Also, complementary lectures and videos for advanced students are very helpful. I think there should be a follow up course to get an understanding on current research. So exciting!

por Ralph B

24 de dic. de 2019

This is a great course and I learned a lot. The Professor puts so much effort into this course and the materials it is truly impressive. At this point I have purchased both his books, and will use this material in my strategic business mapping and planning.

por kazuyuki h

27 de dic. de 2018

This lecture is a Great Introduction to Economic Networks.

Good point 1, many applications to economics research.

Good point 2, nice intuitive explanation to the notion of networks.

Note that MIT open course about Network can be complementary to this lecture.

por Ancil C

15 de ene. de 2018

Enjoyed the course. The concepts are clear and the subject is interesting. For those looking at this course, please note that this is meant for advanced students, mainly at the graduate level, who are looking into this topic for potential research purposes.

por Yuze J

28 de ago. de 2018

The topic is quite interesting and Professor explains the concepts and theories in a quite understandable way. It is easy to follow the contents and offers me with a basic idea of the modeling of network effect. A very help course and highly recommend!

por Manuel S

9 de jul. de 2019

Excellent introduction to the world of networks. The course covers the basics in a clear and organized manner. I highly recommend it, and after that you are ready to read the literature of the area. Thank you, very much, Professor Jackson.

por David C

12 de jul. de 2018

Very interesting and applicable subject matter taught in a very engaging way. Prof. O'Jackson is clearly incredibly capable in network analysis and game theory and he teaches the concepts in a remarkably concise and understandable manner.

por Digant S

14 de jun. de 2017

This course is quite helpful as network theory can be applied in epidemiology, economics, sociology and even physics. I would recommend this to anyone who wishes to learn how a certain group of subjects act in real world situations.

por Jaco v d W

28 de feb. de 2021

Great course. Prof. Jackson is fantastic and I enjoyed his lectures. The math is hard, especially if like me you didn't have math beyond high school, but not impossible. Be ready to do some extra work to help figure things out.

por zuselcursos

19 de nov. de 2017

This course is amazing, worth it a lot, I learned about game theory, mathematics, sociology. The teacher is very patient , I liked the practice test on Gelphi and the mathematical background in addition real life applications.

por Vikram D K

23 de abr. de 2017

Lucidly taught by Prof. Jackson. I learned a whole deal of stuff that helps me make sense of some of the literature in economics that uses ideas from network analysis. My background is in economics (Master's degree).

por Pablo M

26 de sep. de 2020

Es un curso excelente que permite avanzar y lograr una mejor comprensión en la teoría de redes y las aplicaciones a economía. Si bien tener fundamentos sobre redes puede ser de utilidad, el curso es autocontenido.

por David L

3 de nov. de 2017

Really interesting. there is a lot of material and a lot of formula to be covered and Prof. Jackson does a great job teaching it.

Also, his book is really intesresting and goest deeper than the videoes

por Josef T

23 de oct. de 2020

Excellent and exciting opportunity get insight into into the interface between the university concept of knowledge of network theory and the scientific approach to this issue. Thanks a lot. Josef Toman

por antonio b

22 de abr. de 2021

Very well done and explained, full of insight in the social network analysis!!! Lots of ideas about using it in company and team behaviours! Economical analysis of financial contagion is insightful!!!

por Manoel R

2 de nov. de 2017

Really enjoyed this course. The professor is really good and covers quite a lot of ground during the lectures. Good way to get into complex networks! Probably gonna do some studying on my own now :)

por Aruna J

7 de sep. de 2020

Dr. Jackson is clear and concise in his explanations and did a great job creating a high-level overview course on a subject for which he obviously has a much greater wealth of knowledge.

por Neo P

25 de nov. de 2021

Really good course. This professor knows what he's talking about and is a person to aspire to become. I wish the mathematical notation was more standard and consistant.