Chevron Left
Volver a Sports and Society

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Sports and Society por parte de Universidad Duke

4.8
409 calificaciones
87 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Sports play a giant role in contemporary society worldwide. But few of us pause to think about the larger questions of money, politics, race, sex, culture, and commercialization that surround sports everywhere. This course draws on the tools of anthropology, sociology, history, and other disciplines to give you new perspectives on the games we watch and play. It's the new and improved version of Professor Orin Starn's original "Sports and Society" for Coursera, which drew more than 40,000 students. We will focus on both popular sports like soccer (or “football,” as anyone outside America calls it), basketball, and baseball, and also lesser-known ones like mountain-climbing and fishing. You will never watch or think about sports in the same way again....

Principales revisiones

MM

Nov 12, 2016

I loved this particular course. The topics are relevant. Each topic is supported by historical facts and examples and how is it relevant in the present time. It was a great learning experience!!!

RK

Jan 14, 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 84 revisiones para Sports and Society

por Ravi K

Jan 14, 2017

This course tells us about how social customs and traditions have contributed to the evolution of sports and how sports has vice versa reflected the changes in social order of any age.

por Tashin I

Jan 11, 2019

Awesome lecturer, reveals topics comprehensively. Lectures are well-structured. The course makes me learn more about sports.

por Muhammad A J

Feb 09, 2019

Excellent topic and well presented for those looking for an understanding between sports and society as a whole.

por benmaamar h

Dec 22, 2018

thank you .

por Liam S

Dec 10, 2018

Professor Starn gives insight into the sports world and explains complex topics using anthropological reasoning in a way that makes sense to the average person. Great class!

por Jaime S

Jul 11, 2018

Excellent course, well prepared and presented!

por Martin S

Aug 08, 2016

Great course that look at sports from an anthropological view and exposes many ideas that even the hard

por Pablo M

May 01, 2017

Simple, informative, and useful.

por Jose R

Dec 08, 2016

Very interesting lectures with loads of examples

por Jan J

Jun 07, 2016

awesome instructor, great energy and even better insides

por Ana E T H

Feb 06, 2018

Excellent course!

I enjoyed the course because it goes deep enough into the topics for begginers...

I specially liked the video about corporate athletes.

I'm a soccer fan!

por Abhishek G

Sep 01, 2017

This course has given me a whole new perspective of looking at Sports now. It's been enriching, informative & insightful. Thank You!

por JOACI J C

Jul 06, 2018

amazing!

por Annigje F

Jan 21, 2016

Great course! Basic info on how sports were, and are, looked at from a society point of view. Broad information about many various subjects.

por Stacey B

Jan 28, 2016

AMAZING COURSE!!

por Rajesh S M

Nov 02, 2017

best

por Chew W Y

Jun 03, 2016

Great course, passionate instructor, lively examples. I highly recommend this course for all sports fans!

por Oscar D

Oct 07, 2016

Excellent course!

por Elizabeth D

Oct 08, 2017

An academically challenging, and remarkably insightful course, suited both to those who seek greater understanding and/or enjoyment of observing, documenting or participating in sports. Professor Starn puts his whole self -- literally, socially and intellectually -- into his teaching, making this one of the best courses I have ever taken up-close-and-personal or online. Thank you and bravo, Dr. Starn! You just may find me on campus at Duke in the not-too-distant future . . .

por Davis J

Jan 27, 2016

This is by far the best course I have taken from Coursera. Orin is very knowledgeable and passionate in his lectures.

por Alejandro R M

Dec 10, 2017

Great Course that grasp different views on sports and their meaning in northamerican society as well as their consecuences and forms of ogranization. I enjoyed the lectures and bibliography very much.

por Nasiba I

Aug 02, 2016

Such a passionate lectures,very interesting and useful.

por Unal G

May 11, 2016

I loved this course, clear and rich instruction. highly recommended

por shyam s

Jun 10, 2016

it was wonderful....very useful couse..i like it .but it hard

por Pietro R

Jan 12, 2017

The teacher is quite engaging, the man has showmanship! Add that the content is really interesting and you get a 5 stars course. Recommended!