Chevron Left
Volver a The Science of Well-Being

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Science of Well-Being por parte de Universidad de Yale

4.9
estrellas
28,361 calificaciones
10,346 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course you will engage in a series of challenges designed to increase your own happiness and build more productive habits. As preparation for these tasks, Professor Laurie Santos reveals misconceptions about happiness, annoying features of the mind that lead us to think the way we do, and the research that can help us change. You will ultimately be prepared to successfully incorporate a specific wellness activity into your life. THE SCIENCE OF WELL BEING WAS PRODUCED IN PART DUE TO THE GENEROUS FUNDING OF THE DAVID F. SWENSEN FUND FOR INNOVATION IN TEACHING....

Principales reseñas

GK
2 de jun. de 2019

I have taken a dozen courses online. This is the most challenging and fulfilling course I have taken so far. And I believe that the course shall be beneficial to all people in different walks of life.

DH
8 de ene. de 2021

presenter is very good .\n\ni love her.\n\nthe content which i learned here in this course is actually intuitive and i have heard and read from different sources , but here its different.\n\nthank you

Filtrar por:

351 - 375 de 10,000 revisiones para The Science of Well-Being

por Casandra A

2 de jul. de 2020

I just want to say thank you to Dr. Laurie Santos for developing this course. It has given me so much insight on happiness and well-being. I know that I can enjoy life despite my circumstances. I can find the joy in everyday living. I can reach out and help others and receive so much joy and happiness. I also have learned many theories and fallacies and dispelled myths that I had heard for years. I have told family and friends about this course and have encouraged them to enroll. My son told me about this course and I am so thankful that we were able to share meaningful conversations around it. Connections are so important, even more so in this time of pandemic(s). The things that we thought would make us happy, aren't the things that really make us happy. Love one another. Thank you again!

por Donna F G

17 de jun. de 2020

I really enjoyed this course, it was a challenging time to have embarked on this new journey, yet i have learned so much that I will carry forward with me. The content was thought provoking and the delivery was so engaging. Thank you.

*****One specific comment regarding the peer submission assignment- Prompt 5 did not specify that we were to reveal our specific grades but only that our scores changed from the beginning of the course to the final assignment. When it was my turn to grade my peers, the rubric stated that we evaluate the score based on stating this info, in my case I lost points because I did not state my grade because it was not clear that was required. While i am happy that i passed the course, i took the time to answer, review, and tweak in anticipation of a perfect score:/

por Jayashree S

9 de feb. de 2021

Simply loved the course ...content is so beautiful. Laura, I am basically a very disciplined person, with lot of gratitude for the beautiful life I am leading and I connect with people very well and make it a point to make my family ..friends and colleagues know how much I value them and their presence in my life . However my weakness was exercise...somehow generally have been fit so never gave it a sec thought how much it contributes to our well being. Thanks to you and the objective of the course to motivate us to put these awesome skills to practice....I am now on the track to making myself a more fitter, healthier and good looking person my incorporating Yoga, pranayama, walks & exercise. Very grateful...shall share my learning with folks and help people make their life beautiful

por Sonia S

13 de ene. de 2021

This course should be included in the basic school programs. It makes you reflect on the power and impact of social media, the opinion of others, the desire of accumulating objects and products that don't make you any happy in the end. It makes you focus on the things that really matter in life, how you can actually have an impact on yourself and on others happiness by putting in place certain routines and new habits which cost nothing but your personal efforts. It teaches you how gratitude can change your outlook on life, meditation can help relax your stresses mind and body, techniques to master your overthinking process. I am 44 years old and I wish someone had given me this course way before, when I was still a teenager. Thank you Yale for coming up with this course.

por Sheila W

16 de feb. de 2021

Dr. Santos is awesome. Really. And this class is truly enlightening. As an older yogi/meditator/vegan/fitness junkie who wasn't raised on social media, I almost feel I had an unfair advantage. With age (hopefully) comes perspective, and unlike the in-person Yale students featured in the videos, I did not have the social pressures they might endure, nor was I trying to ace a bunch of other classes simultaneously. But! I found the lectures, supporting research, and guest speakers fascinating! This is the kind of class that offers something positive for everyone. It' not all about taking tests and learning facts. It is an experience of personal growth and enrichment that leaves the students with many golden nuggets to cherish for life! Namaste, Professor Santos! 🙏

por Miguel D L

18 de sep. de 2020

This course came to me from an Interview Laurie had In a podcast I was randomly listening to just at the beginning of the Quarantine in my country. I really help, I marked a weeks path along, very useful.

Seeing the content I found out that I had already some of those good habits incorporated in my life, habits that are not always well perceived by society, The course helped by validating my way of living and address the thing I still have to incorporate, like sleep and exercise.

Along the course, I shared the lessons with my family members and friends, as a way to help them in these difficult times. Thanks, Laurie and thanks to all the people who have made It possible for this to be available for the world. I will keep spreading the word and what I have learned.

por Roberta R

10 de jun. de 2020

I found this course well organised and well presented. I loved how the instructor relates to the students and the public at large. I enjoyed listening to her and actually would have loved even a bit more lecturing time from Lori who I found extremely relatable and unassuming yet so knowledgeable.

The one minor thing I would improve on is the use of "like' in the conversation, mostly from the students but also from Lori. I find that a bit distracting...and I am also aware that it is probably a sign of my being older...in any case, I thought I would point it out as constructive feedback.

Well done Lori and I look forward to you running more courses as I think you are a spectacular teacher.

Thanks very much for giving me the opportunity to participate! R

por Connie S H

9 de may. de 2020

Wow. Just wow. This course changed my life.

In February 2020, I quit smoking after 26 years (it is a very depressing process). Three weeks later, I got fired from my Executive-level job. Two weeks after that, I was home-bound by the pandemic. I was having panic attacks pretty much 24/7.

I started the class with little hope--not that I had hope in anything. But, I have a Master of Arts degree in Counseling Psychology, so obviously I believe in mental health.

The change wasn't immediate, but once I started the rewirement process, it all took hold. I read three of the books that were referenced in the course-FLOW, Stumbling upon Happiness, and Mindset. These also helped solidify the information in my mind.

Thank you. I plan to work on getting happier and happier!

por Sanae T G

17 de sep. de 2020

I feel inspired and fascinated by this field of science #PositivePsychology, #CharacterStrengths #happinesshabits #Flow #Savoring #Gratitude #Meditation #Exercice... Thanks to this course, I can think about human being in a new way and I am now confident to say that I have the power to control my own happiness.

I am grateful for the amazing quantity of information that was compiled in a such comprehensive way. My mind was on fire with wonderment!

Well-done Pr. L. Santos!

This Learning can transform you into the best version of yourself and make your ambitions a reality.

Learn about The annoying features of our mind, Intentional strategies for overcoming above biases, Strategies for putting knowledge into practice...

PS: Still some books waiting for me :)

por Delma B

9 de oct. de 2020

The lectures were super interesting, the course design was appealing and easy to keep the pace, friendly platform and doable exercises, plenty of backup information to go deep on scientific documents and additional studies. The taking notes option was super useful. It was helpful to watch the TED talks to reinforce the information given during the lectures, etc., but the four weeks of rewirement challenge was a little hard to keep up the initial enthusiasm. Personally, I was able to value everything that I had learned through my personal and professional experience on how I have growth to be the person I am today. I’m always hard on myself, but with this course I’m able to appreciate my strengths and learn to be more compassionate toward my weaknesses.

por christina d

7 de jun. de 2020

Extremely glad to have found & enrolled on this course, It has been amazing learning , reinforcing & practicing various habits , specifically the rewirements. The possibilities & the things that we can do to mindfully look after our wellbeing & happiness. The practice of gratitude, kindness,savoring, social connections, sleep, meditation & discovering our signature strengths. Most importantly, measuring our happiness before & after the course, & the evaluation of the actual wellbeing have answered why this course is called the Science of Well-Being. Thank you, Coursera, Professor Santos, all the resource persons who have been valuable in the contents & make up of the course, I pledge to contimue to apply to my daily life what I have learned.

por Stephen P

8 de jun. de 2020

This course is an excellent, 10-week road to a better understanding of the many actions we can take to make ourselves happier. It is taught in a straighforward, honest language with a nurturing tone that is relatable and doesn't talk down to the students. I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in exploring their own happiness and how it fits into the society in which we live today. I have always (naively) thought that in a life where you put happiness as your top priority, you will find the most fulfillment. It turns out, I wasn't wrong, I just wasn't able to fully see my happiness as it fits into a bigger picture when it comes to socialization, relationships, wellness, mindset, time management, and my own selfish needs and wants.

por David L G

14 de jun. de 2018

I really enjoyed this course! I had quite a few ah-ha moments. I would recommend this course to anyone that has been "chasing" happiness and wellness and is looking for research proven strategies to finally achieve some form of wellness in their life. Surprisingly, I was already on track with many of the strategies the course recommended but did learn some new things, which I have begun incorporating in my life. I also can't tell you how terrific it is to have access to all of the books, Ted Talks, and research articles that support the videos and other instructions, along with the surveys you can take for free to gain a little insight into who you are, how happy you are currently, and what your strengths are. This was just a terrific course!

por Sherryn M

30 de sep. de 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course & appreciated the way Dr Santos delivered each lesson with clear and easy to understand information, achievable activities and an engaging demeanour. I got so much out of this course and would like to continue learning more about Positive Psychology as a result of it. Her podcast is also very informative, reiterating many of the concepts discussed in the course. I will certainly refer back to my notes regularly and use these practices in my everyday life seeing as I have already noticed a huge improvement in my mental well-being. Thank you Dr Santos, I hope every school in Australia implements this course into their curriculum to provide the next generation with these tools to help them flourish & thrive.

por Zahid B

14 de may. de 2020

To summarize this course: The most impactful lessons in life are often the most simplest!

The content in this course has been thought provoking and life changing. I wish this course could reach the younger generation, as they can develop these productive and positive habits before they enter further education and the world of work! The leaders in our society/media organisations have a duty to showcase a purposeful and productive life, whilst promoting positive well-being in work places if they want to see a happier society. Courses like this are a priceless way of helping people to find solutions to their low mood, negative health habits and ungratefulness. Dr Laurie Santos is a remarkable and inspiring woman who is a role model for many!

por Maria O

16 de jul. de 2020

Really great course, thank you. It was delivered very well and I learned so much on how I can make small changes to improve my happiness. The last 4 weeks of rewirement was great too, it was tough and not as successful as I was hoping but I have continued to try and implement some of the teachings in my life. Two big successes for me were meditating and gratitude.. When I feel like I may not be as happy or tired or stressed, I stop and take a few breaths and think about what I am grateful for, this has truly made the biggest difference in my life.....

Thanks so much!! Also, the professor was amazing... Very knowledgeable, realistic and practicing what she teaches in her own life. I really liked how she shared her successes and set backs..

por Angela C

7 de jul. de 2020

I would recommend The Science of Well-Being course to anyone who seeks to challenge their own belief systems, mindsets, and patterns of thinking that create inhibition to their personal growth. You are provided with weekly rewirement challenges that help the student attain a higher level of thinking and ultimately a more functional state of 'being.' I've read and partaken in self-development courses and all are valuable when incorporated, and each serves to justify the principles shared in the previous courses. Even if you enroll in this course as a singular methodology or to supplement other training and personal development courses, you will find your thinking challenged and your behaviors modified for your own betterment in society.

por Nathalia P d M

21 de sep. de 2020

Aprendi nesse curso que nossos pensamentos e ações são os maiores responsáveis pela nossa felicidade. Não se compare com os outros, não crie expectativas demais, não busque só pelos prazeres momentâneos que vão te dar uma alegria naquela hora, mas depois não vai lhe significar mais nada. É importante invetir tempo em nossa saúde, se alimentar bem, ter boas conexões sociais saudáveis, ser gentil, generoso, e sempre sempre agradecer por todas as coisas que a vida nos trás, sempre se recordar do porquê estamos aqui e qual é nosso propósito, Sou muito grata à Coursera e a instituição Yale terem proporcionado a nós a oportunidade de aprender com esse curso da prof. Laurie Santos. Foi muito legal, recomendo a todos! Atenciosamente, Nathalia

por Leighann B

11 de jul. de 2020

I loved this course and genuinely wanted to share it with everyone I know. One study I found particularly relevant in today's political climate was the one which demonstrated that people would rather take a pay cut in order to have a greater lead against their peers instead of raising everyone's pay and having a higher overall salary but be more equitable (have a smaller lead) against their peers.

My only technical feedback is that I found the peer-review form a little confusing: you should be able to post comments after submitting the grade (since grade submit button is higher on the page) OR you should put the comment section above the submit button so that people know to post their comments first before submitting the evaluation.

por Nakshatra S

4 de may. de 2020

This course is the best thing that has happened to me in a long time. I want to talk about the course in detail. The course is detailed and I am sure you will almost double your happiness levels once you finish this course. Laurie is so good at teaching that it feels like you are physically there in the class attending the lecture. All the extra material that is provided with the course just widens your perspective towards various things. It doesn't matter for whatever reason you are thinking to take this course, once you finish it you will have much more than that. Thank you so much Laurie for this, I can't wait to meet you some day. But Thanks for creating this I feel happy, excited & motivated to do things even while writing this.

por Kajari R

18 de mar. de 2021

My happiness scores have shown a very definite upward trend. My PERMA and Authentic Happiness Scores underwent a 38% and 18% increase after the course. Subjectively, I am sleeping well, have been enjoying myself much more than before. I find myself breaking into a smile when I see the beautiful colours of sunset, and the course was responsible to a great extent for this. The overall experience was wonderful. Most importantly, it made me realise that happiness did not come automatically, but involved work, like everything else in life. The moment I realized this, I stopped blaming my genes and childhood, and took my life and my happiness into my own hands. It took me 44 years of my life to realize this, but better late than never!

por Giorgia A

29 de dic. de 2020

I have loved this course!

At first I though it might be too simplistic as you quickly learn that the things in life that make you actually happier are things you are already aware of (social connection, being kind, getting enough sleep etc.) but then I was pleaseantly surprised when the course took a very scientific and experiment-based turn, with data showing the results that those activities actually have on people's life and happiness levels.

I particularly enjoyed learning so many different practical strategies and how to implement them in my day-to-day life.

Professor Santos does a fantastic job at delivering such an interesting course with a balance of scientific data, everyday examples, strategies and tools to achieve them.

por Dana S

3 de ago. de 2020

I have learned a lot from this course. I stuck with it even after she debunked something I have been using for 30 years in her first video. I used to use the idea that "knowing is half the battle" from GI Joe with people and I applied it to myself with being a mental health professional. I have since stopped doing that especially since I had a rough bout of anxiety in June, which reinforced it not working. I have also referred strangers and friends to this program and use all but one of the rewirement strategies regularly. It was very helpful to have these put in a practical context and explained how they help with joy/happiness/contentment. Make the time for it, you have nothing to lose but old strategies that do not work.

por Adriana A

6 de jun. de 2020

Oh no it's over! :( I feel so lucky and grateful to have been able to access this course for free, especially during this time of quarantine and CO-VID 19. It was the perfect structured disciplined activity I needed to keep me going and feel productive and healthy. I loved having goals to complete each week be it: reading, writing/commenting, reflecting, and daily tracking my own progress. I highly recommend this course and that you share your insights with others. You will not be disappointed... well actually maybe a little once you find out the research but you'll quickly bounce back and truly implement what is needed that will actually bring your joy and happiness. It takes time so be patient with yourself. Peace and love!