Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.7
estrellas
887 calificaciones
170 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

COURSE DESCRIPTION This course provides an introduction to the most powerful engineering principles you will ever learn - Thermodynamics: the science of transferring energy from one place or form to another place or form. We will introduce the tools you need to analyze energy systems from solar panels, to engines, to insulated coffee mugs. More specifically, we will cover the topics of mass and energy conservation principles; first law analysis of control mass and control volume systems; properties and behavior of pure substances; and applications to thermodynamic systems operating at steady state conditions. COURSE FORMAT The class consists of lecture videos, which average 8 to 12 minutes in length. The videos include integrated In-Video Quiz questions. There are also quizzes at the end of each section, which include problems to practice your analytical skills that are not part of video lectures. There are no exams. GRADING POLICY Each question is worth 1 point. A correct answer is worth +1 point. An incorrect answer is worth 0 points. There is no partial credit. You can attempt each quiz up to three times every 8 hours, with an unlimited number of total attempts. The number of questions that need to be answered correctly to pass are displayed at the beginning of each quiz. Following the Mastery Learning model, students must pass all 8 practice quizzes with a score of 80% or higher in order to complete the course. ESTIMATED WORKLOAD If you follow the suggested deadlines, lectures and quizzes will each take approximately ~3 hours per week each, for a total of ~6 hours per week. TARGET AUDIENCE Basic undergraduate engineering or science student. FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS - What are the prerequisites for taking this course? An introductory background (high school or first year college level) in chemistry, physics, and calculus will help you be successful in this class. -What will this class prepare me for in the academic world? Thermodynamics is a prerequisite for many follow-on courses, like heat transfer, internal combustion engines, propulsion, and gas dynamics, to name a few. -What will this class prepare me for in the real world? Energy is one of the top challenges we face as a global society. Energy demands are deeply tied to the other major challenges of clean water, health, food resources, and poverty. Understanding how energy systems work is key to understanding how to meet all these needs around the world. Because energy demands are only increasing, this course also provides the foundation for many rewarding professional careers....

Principales revisiones

MJ

Jul 24, 2019

Great course. But I was also hoping to get an in-depth analytical understanding of the second law of thermodynamics and the zeroth law as well. But I really enjoyed it and definitely learned a lot.

TO

Apr 11, 2018

Great practical information to thermodynamical processes and machines with many calculated examples. A bit light on the fundamental definitions, like entropy, but very good for hands-on work.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 166 revisiones para Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

por Jeremiah S

May 15, 2017

Should have made it clear that without the book, you will not be able to simply watch the lectures and solve some of the extremely complicated math problems in this class. I really struggled through some sections of the class without access to the formulas to solve many of the problems that showed up on the exams.

por Jeremy D M

Aug 02, 2019

If you already know thermodynamics and are looking for a refresher than this is probably for you. If you have no real exposure to this topic and want to learn it but may need a little help don't waste your time. It is amazing how many questions in the discussion go completely unanswered by the "staff" and you will get absolutely no assistance from anyone. Just pay your money and you figure it all out.

por Maddie D

Jun 19, 2017

The resources suggested to the students are difficult to use, and even require payment (the free trial only allowed 3 calculations, while the course requires 10+ calculations for the Week 3 quiz). Overall, the lectures seemed poorly planned out and lacked examples.

por Andrew C

Oct 27, 2016

Starts off great, but quickly jumps into really dense course material moving quickly between topics with few images or examples while watching the lecturer slowly scribble on the slides. I expected more discussions in the videos with variance between visual, heavy calculations at a slower pace and high-level applications. Quizzes are long and redundant and there isn't enough recognition of the relationship between climate change and thermodynamics.

por Ismail H B

Sep 30, 2017

It is quite a course that really gives the good understanding and brief problem solving capability about Thermodynamics. It also gives the mechanisms for energy generation, cycle process, states and so on. Moreover one can get a very important information and realities about world's energy bottlenecks and probable solutions. Dr. Wooldridge's undertaken to show these alternatives. But in this economic conjecture of energy generation, she becomes Don Quixot against windmills. Nonetheless, Dr. Wooldridge teaches the mechanism of these windmills. I hope her entropy lasts until the energy giants change their pathways to what she offers for the sake of inhabitable world.

por Scott S

Mar 26, 2019

I had a minor in physics when I graduated from college about 32 years ago. Thermodynamics is one of the courses I would have needed to complete a major. I am taking this course just for fun and to broaden my knowledge of physics. Even though it has been a long time since I have done physics, the instructor has made the concepts so clear that I am not struggling. A serious effort is required but the presentation is very logical and there are plenty of good practical examples.

por Mykola K

Jun 20, 2017

Very good introductory course.

What i liked:

+ detailed and gradually explained basic concepts and laws;

+ lots of practical tasks in quizes;

+ Interesting info about world energy sources (the last week)

+ well defined amount of work per week for successful learning.

What i would like to be better:

- Would like to see more examples of real machines and processes (more pictures, videos, links to real world examples ), more interesting facts in field of thermodynamics and energy.

por Ashish R

Apr 18, 2018

Good Introductory Thermodynamics Course, I am an electrical engineer and had to take this course as a prerequisite for a graduate level course in renewable energy. The professor is top-notch and explains the concepts very well, the assignments are not very challenging but force you to think about the concepts introduced in the video lecture. I am waiting for a follow up course which will deal with the second law, exergy etc. in detail.

por Shivnand B G

Nov 02, 2019

I like this course very much. This course helps me to clear my basic concepts of thermodynamics. I like the concept of this course is that, there is one hardware video in 7 and 8 week. So, my suggestion is to add one hardware video in each week related to the topic so it is very easy to understand the concept. This course is very important for me. Thank you very much to the Madam and the university.

por Nachiket D

Feb 10, 2019

Excellent course on the fundamentals of energy analysis, accounting, and transfer! Highly recommended for engineers, scientists, and anyone curious about energy, sustainability, and the environment! Dr. Wooldridge does an excellent job breaking down seemingly complex systems using the fundamental analysis techniques that will be well-ingrained in you by the time you complete this course. :)

por Víctor G

Nov 27, 2016

Excellent course, the topics are very nice selected, and the teacher (Prof. Wooldrige) is amazing; excellent teaching abilities. The grade exercises are nice, although some of them are not well solved. If they can put the solution after each test could be excellent. Nevertheless, I think this a must take course for getting the principal thermodynamics concepts or getting a review of them.

por Rajat S

Dec 28, 2016

Easy to understand and a must required basic course for Thermal Engineering. Pretty much focussed on Steam cycles only (but good for me). I would also say that it is not the course material but presentation of it, that makes a course interesting and I really liked that here. Thanks to all the good people involved in the making of it and above all to Prof. Margaret. Thank you!

por Demetrius S B

Dec 17, 2017

Great course, had a great time and learned a lot. I'm a software engineer but my boss is a mechanical engineer. He was always boasting on his knowledge of thermodynamics. Now I'll be able to answer his "rhetorical" questions on energy conservation and entropy... Wow! Finally I've learned what this mysterious entropy word is all about or maybe I think that I did...

por Sanchita A

Sep 27, 2016

I have taken a few courses before landing up on this one and I must say, it was an absolutely amazing experience! The Professor taught the nuisances of Thermodynamics with examples and in great detail which really helped me understand the subject. Thank you Professor, her team, the University of Michigan and Coursera for such a brilliant course.

por Mridul M P

Dec 23, 2016

The course is really helpful as a refresher for somebody who studied the subject 10 years back. I loved how the concepts were explained. Its a must recommend for any body who is going to study the subject in Undergrad to get good hold on concepts. Thanks for the course, It was something that I really needed at this moment in my assignment

por Sandesh A

Nov 01, 2016

I am an electrical engineer, working for mechatronics company. This course is very useful to improve understanding and inculcate relevant thought process when you have to deal with engines or other mechanical systems. Thanks a lot. It helped me. Looking for other courses like Fluid Mechanics, Fluid Dynamics, Heat Transfer etc.

por Sachin P K

Apr 20, 2019

I have completed the course, "Introduction to thermodynamic, transferring energy from here to there"Successfully under your guidance of Dr.Margaret Wooldrige But unfortunately havent recieved any completion certificate it will be great if I recieve the same. Hope for a positive response. Hence, awaited. Regards,Sachin komble

por Arun S N A C

Nov 03, 2019

Well, I've got to nothing else to say except that this course was a great educational experience. The course really helped me in understanding the subject in a conceptual way. Special thanks for Prof.Margaret, University of Michigan and coursera for providing students with this opportunity.

por Giri D

Nov 27, 2016

It's a good course and learnt many things and the expert Dr. Wooldridge has awesome skill in teaching, an expert touch. Good course good teaching. But I thought available and unavailable energy modules will also be there, that was missing. Except that, it's wonderful.

por Geoffrey A N

Nov 06, 2018

What a great course, instructor, and learning experience. The math was probably more challenging for me than others, but I still learned a lot and enjoyed the course. I wish they had more handouts/PDF notes and videos of the machines. All in all, wonderful class-

por Freyja Y

Jun 05, 2017

Great course taught by a clearly competent professor. I like the segmented form, being able to complete tests for each week while the material is still fresh. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in an introduction into energy and power generation.

por Bhushan U

Dec 07, 2016

This course is a very good introductory course to Thermodynamics. It has a lot of depth and breadth not just of the core Sciences but of the applications and other ramifications too. It is a good course to get a decent grasp of the subject for higher learning.

por Ralph S

Dec 14, 2019

My first engineering course and an eye-opener. I learned to look at an entire set of problems in a new way and how engineering concepts are essential in the modern world and can allow us to frame difficult issues in a clear, solvable and logical way.

por Alberto J R S

Nov 18, 2016

I really liked the course. The explanations have been very clear. I think that, apart from the problems solved by the professor, they should provide a collection of problems solved step by step to practice and better assimilate the concepts.

por Alessandro C

Oct 26, 2017

Excellent course. It's well structured and parceled into short sessions with quizzes at the ends. The professor is engaging and explains new concepts clearly. Thank you Coursera, University of Michigan and Dr. Wooldridge for a great cour