Chevron Left
Volver a Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.4
estrellas
1,619 calificaciones
381 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

Principales reseñas

AD
25 de mar. de 2019

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

CW
1 de feb. de 2020

I loved this course! So many interesting things to think about, thoughtfully explained by brilliant instructors. The puzzles really get you thinking. Such genius to put them before the lectures!

Filtrar por:

251 - 275 de 378 revisiones para Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

por UMANG T

31 de jul. de 2020

The course went faster in some places but was excellent otherwise. The methodology of solving puzzles before a lecture is what I loved the most and that is probably the best part of the course. Looking forward to taking up other courses in the Specialization.

por Seif A

17 de abr. de 2020

Some parts are very hard to follow. I found week 6 the most challenging because I have a sort of weak logical thinking base. Also I believe it should have been explained more clearly because programming mathematical statements isn't so easy.

por Aarjav

17 de ago. de 2020

It was a very engaging course presented in the most interactive way possible. The only problem I have is with the final week. The explanations seemed rush and not properly done. But other than that, I'd recommend this course to everyone.

por Raúl E G

28 de sep. de 2020

Teaching mathematics seems tough, the course is a good attempt, congratulations to the instructors. The reason I don't give maximum rate is that I found myself frequently re-framing big parts of the explanations in order to understand.

por Jasvin M

21 de may. de 2020

Professor Alexander Shen's way of teaching and passion was really fun to see and although there weren't as many particular algorithms and such to directly apply in Computer Science, it was a good starting point to the specialization.

por KARTHIKEYAN G N

20 de ago. de 2018

Good course.

I gave a 4-star instead of 5 just because of the pace of the lessons. felt it could be bit slower and with more examples, specially in sections related to logic(if-then-else, reductio ad absurdum & permutations & cycles).

por Abhinav K

17 de may. de 2020

The Interactive Puzzles are the way forward in such kind of Educational Platforms. Having some prior experience in Data structures and Algorithms , I was impressed by the relevance of the material discussed and the context provided.

por Ujjwal P

5 de jul. de 2020

Nice course however in the final weeks a more animated explanation would have made it perfect because a lot of text sometimes makes thing boring.. any way nice to learn new stuff also that 15-puzzle was the best of em' all

por Anton V

16 de jul. de 2020

Some of the logical explanations could have been better. One is sometimes left with the feeling that although the presented results are correct, the logical reasoning behind it is not sufficiently explained.

por Anushka G

5 de jul. de 2020

The course was great i just faced some difficulty in writting python codes( as i am a beginner in pyton) for the last few quizes,i just hoped that may be there could be some videos explaining such codes.

por DANIEL A

4 de nov. de 2020

Tiene muy buenos ejercicos para la introducción a las matemátcias, y los ejemplos son muy bien explicados, la parte que te hace programar en Pythton es de lo más interesante. Vale mucho el esfuerzo

por Praveen K R

19 de oct. de 2018

The course is structured well but we need more explanation for the last week lecture. And more topics inside logic section. The assignment had really helped me in understanding the course.

Thank You

por Kristen P

27 de ene. de 2020

I applaud the instructors for their efforts in explaining the concepts as they could be abstract and hard to explain in words! More examples to illustrate the concepts will be even more helpful!

por Gavesh J

30 de nov. de 2020

The course is good made me think logically, good as a starting course start fast-finish fast and there you have the warm-up, though you need some knowledge of python for completing this course

por Md. H H S B

25 de abr. de 2019

Contents are very good for starting.....

But the Teachers way of explaining is not up to the mark. I need to search in youTube or google for understanding any topic even watching the videos.

por Karan S

14 de abr. de 2020

though i stuck somewhere but mentors was always there to assist you. really found this course interesting and very helpful. solved so much of tricky puzzles, Good course

por ANGELO J C A

3 de nov. de 2020

The knowledge is guaranteed¡, this course will train the ability of solving problems using algorithms, also it teaches you how to "translate" problems to mathematics.

por Kharissa F S

5 de jun. de 2019

I loved the puzzles! Very interactive and made the course more enjoyable. Would love to see more puzzles as they can help reinforce the ideas explained in the course.

por Mohta R S

28 de jun. de 2020

Great course gives you an algorithmic touch Do this specialization before doing the DSA specialisation

Get comfortable with python syntax before starting this.

por Shaun s

22 de may. de 2020

Alexander Chen gave a hard time in last week, but i liked how in his lectures there were numerous cunning pop ups which made it impossible to get distracted

por Andrea M

10 de abr. de 2020

Instructors are very knowledgeable and the lessons are usually helpful, but it's common for the explanations to contain errors or be unclear in some way.

por Dwija B

19 de jun. de 2020

The course was extremely helpful and easy to follow. The inclusion of interactive puzzles made the course more interesting and urged me to learn more.

por Toral S

27 de abr. de 2020

The course contents were excellent, well designed. But towards the end of the course, things became confusing. Reviewing videos did not help.

por Jiahan X

8 de nov. de 2020

Overall it is good. The courses in the last week, however, are not connected well with the quiz and thus the quiz is very challenging

por Phani S

20 de may. de 2020

Lectures have a piece of great knowledge about the subject but they lack a bit to explain it fluently.

Great course though. Enjoyed