Chevron Left
Volver a Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science por parte de Universidad de California en San Diego

4.4
estrellas
1,604 calificaciones
380 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Mathematical thinking is crucial in all areas of computer science: algorithms, bioinformatics, computer graphics, data science, machine learning, etc. In this course, we will learn the most important tools used in discrete mathematics: induction, recursion, logic, invariants, examples, optimality. We will use these tools to answer typical programming questions like: How can we be certain a solution exists? Am I sure my program computes the optimal answer? Do each of these objects meet the given requirements? In the course, we use a try-this-before-we-explain-everything approach: you will be solving many interactive (and mobile friendly) puzzles that were carefully designed to allow you to invent many of the important ideas and concepts yourself. Prerequisites: 1. We assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), common sense and curiosity. 2. Basic programming knowledge is necessary as some quizzes require programming in Python....

Principales reseñas

AD
25 de mar. de 2019

The teachers are informative and good. They explain the topic in a way that we can easily understand. The slides provide all the information that is needed. The external tools are fun and informative.

CW
1 de feb. de 2020

I loved this course! So many interesting things to think about, thoughtfully explained by brilliant instructors. The puzzles really get you thinking. Such genius to put them before the lectures!

Filtrar por:

351 - 372 de 372 revisiones para Mathematical Thinking in Computer Science

por Raj K S

23 de ago. de 2020

Explanations not clear

por Jyh1003040

17 de jun. de 2020

The course is fun!

por DELA C J K (

25 de mar. de 2020

HARD

por Robin H

5 de nov. de 2020

Interesting but needs MUCH better instruction. I'm sure the people teaching this really know their stuff but the students need to be able to understand it. Not even considering the heavy accents making the instructors hard to understand at some times, the instructors are just not good teachers. In order for someone to be a good instructor they have to know the content AND be able to explain the content so that someone without knowledge of the content can easily follow and understand. I felt like most of what they said was reading or paraphrasing power point slides and this course seemed more like a 'review' course for someone who had already been taught the concepts previously. Many times the course flow seemed unorganized as well. Having to program was also a problem when the course was not supposed to have prerequisites as a 'beginner' course. I want to take more courses in this specialization but am worried to do so since these guys teach the other classes as I'm sure the instruction will be pretty bad as well but further complicated by more difficult concepts.

por Scott U

9 de ago. de 2020

Interesting topics, lots of puzzles, but lacks structure. Lectures are well-prepared, but as someone new to this space, I would have preferred a bit more structure to the learning, with a clearer idea of how we would incorporate the concepts into something more than simply solving odd parlor trick puzzles.

As it stands now, I'm not confident I would recognize when I would be able to deploy any of the skills/concepts taught in the course. A shame, because the instructors are easy to follow and engaging.

por Jeffrey W

3 de nov. de 2020

Not great quality of teaching. They made lots of assumptions about what you knew and could have explained things a lot more comprehensively. They also made a lot of mistakes In their speaking, and corrected them with numerous on screen corrections, which made It hard to get Into the flow of the class.

por Nijat A

29 de oct. de 2020

I personally think the content could have been better structured and explained - I had to frequently refer to other materials on the internet to understand some of the concepts. Also, the programming task in Week 6 is not designed for a beginner such as myself.

por Aaron A

6 de jun. de 2020

A lot of sections were not explained really well. I had a hard time following the concepts.

por Sidney G

19 de oct. de 2020

The lecture is good however, it is difficult to understand because of the stuttering.

por Matthew E

27 de abr. de 2020

Some interesting ideas, but course delivery and content needs a lot of work.

por Ramkumar

22 de abr. de 2020

i don't know how this course is going to help in computer scien

por Luis M V F

9 de ene. de 2020

This course lacks of mathematical foundations.

por Khan S H

21 de may. de 2020

week 2 to week 5 does not cover much, especially does not provide any clue how that could be used in computer science. It shows many ways to solve the problem but give zero direction how one could think about a new problem. When you have a new problem, you do not know which theory will apply. How should we think to decide which theory will work, this should be covered.

por Onur S S

3 de sep. de 2020

I'd give 5 star, i just wanna indicate a problem. After week 3, 3rd party puzzle app links are broken. I can't do exercises. I see '502 Bad Gateway nginx/1.18.0' error on my page. Apart from this, course is awesome.

por Balakumaran

12 de abr. de 2020

The worst course I have ever taken. Concepts have been explained very poorly. Please please don't waste time on learning this course.

por kaushik

10 de jun. de 2020

some of the topics were fucking bad the explanations could have been a way more clearer felt bad

por Andrea Z

26 de abr. de 2020

good content, but I have to say that is very and I mean very hard to understand the teachers

por William L H

24 de ago. de 2020

I'm not sure which is more bizarre, the topics being discussed or the quizzes.

por RAYADURGAM K K

17 de may. de 2020

By far the worst Coursera course, I've taken

por Nrupa

5 de oct. de 2020

I want to unenroll

por Yiqing L

26 de feb. de 2020

quiz is too hard!!