Chevron Left
Volver a Confronting The Big Questions: Highlights of Modern Astronomy

Confronting The Big Questions: Highlights of Modern Astronomy, University of Rochester

4.6
265 calificaciones
89 revisiones

Acerca de este Curso

An introduction to modern astronomy's most important questions. The four sections of the course are Planets and Life in The Universe; The Life of Stars; Galaxies and Their Environments; The History of The Universe....

Principales revisiones

por GB

Aug 01, 2017

Excellent course. Very clear lectures that cover a lot of ground in not a lot of time. Fantastic overview of most of what we know about astronomy and how we know it. Best class I've taken on Coursera.

por AM

Apr 12, 2018

The is the first time I have rated a course with 5 stars, but this one is worth it. I audited and did not take the exams, but I thoroughly enjoyed the lectures and I learned a lot.

Filtrar por:

87 revisiones

por Dagim Getachew

Dec 13, 2018

so far liked it, nice content and covers lots of ideas

por Silvia Mazzei Bergerat

Nov 20, 2018

Excellent! This is the 2nd time I'm doing it.

por Eshita Sohani

Jul 09, 2018

such an amazing course by amazing professor. quiz was superb and you will be able to make use of virtual simulations. worth doing

por E. Robert Lord

Jun 24, 2018

Can't complete the first quiz because I can't download the simulators. - hence can't complete the course.

por Antonia Tejeda Barros

Jun 22, 2018

This course is fascinating. The teacher is great. But the Quizzes are IMPOSSIBLE to pass. They require a simulator that does not work and all the questions have multiple answers and are extremely difficult. Also, there are A LOT of questions in every Quiz: 25. I am extremely sad, but I think I'm going to have to drop this course. It's the first time that I will have to do something like this, but I cannot lose my time repeating for ever an extremely difficult and impossible quiz in a course that it's not intended for professional physicians. I have notified Coursera several times about the extreme difficulty of the Quiz but nobody did anything. If in the future this Quiz is updated and made for learners, then I will happily continue the course. I've read in the Forum that many learners have had the same problems, but nobody arranged the Quizzes. Such a pity. The teacher is great and the lectures are fascinating. But already the 1st Quiz is impossible to pass (even if you take thousands of notes, like I did).

por Yaron Klein

May 05, 2018

A well thought out overview of modern astronomy. Excellent handouts.

por Anne Mikulski

Apr 12, 2018

The is the first time I have rated a course with 5 stars, but this one is worth it. I audited and did not take the exams, but I thoroughly enjoyed the lectures and I learned a lot.

por Jonathan Golland

Mar 26, 2018

I learned a lot about rudimentary physics.

por Jana Krempaská

Mar 18, 2018

I enjoyed every single session within this course. The topics, the materials, the small tests after each topic and as well the quizzes. Professor Frank explained everything in a clear and understandable way, I did learn a lot about our universe. Of course, studying is needed for passing this course, but I am here to learn afterall and I appreciate the quizzes which made me think and thus test my knowledge

por Albert Kordesch

Mar 17, 2018

Fascinating!!! I LOVE the online simulation tools used in this class. Amazing!