Chevron Left
Volver a Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Chicken Behaviour and Welfare por parte de Universidad de Edimburgo

4.8
estrellas
1,003 calificaciones
369 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

Principales reseñas

NT

30 de jul. de 2021

Thank you very much to the instructor at Duke University. This course has taught me a great deal of information. Things that I never knew before, it was interesting and rewarding. Thank you very much.

MS

30 de jul. de 2019

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 369 revisiones para Chicken Behaviour and Welfare

por Helen G

16 de feb. de 2022

As someone who has worked with birds before, but only recently started keeping chickens, this was helpful and informative.

por Jobayer S

26 de oct. de 2020

I like the course very much. I have learned many things. Hopefully it will help me in near future. Thanks all the mentors.

por D.r : G M A

2 de may. de 2020

It was a wonderful course I learned a lot Thank you from the bottom of my heart

Veterinarian Ghazwan Muhammad Al-Sheikh

por Yana S

11 de feb. de 2018

I learned so many things in this course. I particularly liked the behavior and how to manage it portion of the course.

por Misty K

1 de dic. de 2016

Loving this course!!!!! When I was a teenager we lived on a farm and raised chickens I even had several for pets!!

por Maddie L

24 de may. de 2021

As a backyard chicken keeper, I realise I had a lot to learn. I enjoyed this course and found it very informative.

por Mary M

4 de may. de 2020

I enjoyed taking this class. I have raised chickens and learned about housing, feeding and mercy killing chickens.

por Helen L

14 de oct. de 2016

Good overall information about small personal flocks as well as the commercial use of chickens for eggs and meat.

por Michelle V

5 de feb. de 2021

Great course. I learned a lot about chickens and now can take care of mine with much more knowledge and success.

por NEWTON L I

10 de ene. de 2020

This is coarse has very rich material and I advise anyone in the sector and along the value chain to take it.

por Vivian C

16 de oct. de 2017

Excellent course in both material content and the friendly and easy to understand approach from the lecturer.

por Bitney M

3 de nov. de 2018

Well balanced course. Presented in a structured way. Providing excellent information and good perspective.

por marijke

24 de abr. de 2020

Wonderful course, great level of information. Good layout, well presented. Well pitched level of learning.

por Matthew A

14 de jul. de 2017

This course is a good course for beginning and experienced poultry farmers I would recommend it to anyone.

por Diane M

5 de ene. de 2021

This was detailed and inclusive and I will find the information useful with my new flock of layer hens

por David M

28 de jul. de 2022

Excelente introducción a las cuestionas básicas para la cria de gallinas ponedoras y pollo para caren

por Oluwaseyi M

15 de may. de 2021

I learnt about the specific welfare of chicken and handling of chicken to help improve my knowledge.

por Annie P

5 de ago. de 2019

This course was excellent. Brought knowledge about chicken, raising them and their welfare issues.

por Cynthia A

11 de ago. de 2016

This is a great class. I enjoyed the videos. I hope to see more classes on poultry in the future.

por victoria w

12 de sep. de 2017

Absolutely invaluable teaching for anyone keeping poultry and seeking to be a better flockmaster

por Lauren M

1 de feb. de 2021

good content, some getting a little dated but still worth doing however many chickens you keep

por Maria N

27 de may. de 2020

Excellent course, so many useful information given in such an easy and compact way. Thank you!

por Jane M M

15 de mar. de 2017

The subject we fascinating and was presented to me in a very willing, patient and kind woman.

por Ricardo E M E

1 de jul. de 2019

Chicken Behaviour and Welfare was excellent and I learned a lot, thank you very, very much!!