Chevron Left
Volver a Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Creative Writing: The Craft of Character por parte de Universidad Wesleyana

4.5
estrellas
1,743 calificaciones
508 reseña

Acerca del Curso

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

Principales reseñas

SS

10 de ago. de 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

N

25 de sep. de 2020

The course was very well-structured and challenging. The instructor is very experienced and good, thus used relevant materials for this course, be it the guests, or the assignments, or the examples.

Filtrar por:

401 - 425 de 508 revisiones para Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

por Kaitlyn B

8 de ago. de 2019

This was a good course that helped me broaden my POV writing style, though the assignments were difficult to do, and one was difficult to understand.

por Keith G

3 de oct. de 2019

I found the content useful but was irritated by how parochial the references to other writers were. There is a big wide world outside of the USA!

por Avalon B

26 de jul. de 2021

Good, challenging exercises. Would have liked more structure in the lectures and more specific tips that could be related to the assignments.

por Geoff N

27 de feb. de 2017

A well thought out course that was very illuminating. Not sure about the complexity of week 2's assignment, but overall good value.

por Catalina v W

17 de oct. de 2019

I found this course less informative than the Craft of Plot. A lot of the assignments seemed to have little to do with the videos.

por Andrea G

23 de mar. de 2016

I liked it overall, though there were some glitches and I was hoping that there'd be at least some feedback from course organizer.

por Fernanda B

25 de oct. de 2017

I loved this course, but sometimes the assignments weren't quite clear. Apart from that, the teacher is genius and it's great.

por Iryna A

9 de ago. de 2017

Even though I enjoyed the course, I found the description of the assignments sometimes very confusing and lacking in details.

por J-Man

24 de oct. de 2019

A helpful overall look at character but not particularly deep, still useful even for a refresher when writing something new

por Chew W Y

21 de jun. de 2016

The material is interesting and relevant. I found the assignments challenging and the review questions slightly lengthy.

por BAVISETTY V P

8 de may. de 2020

Very good course..i loved the way the instructor handed this course.Especially,i felt the tips she had given were Gold.

por Fernanda d C S

15 de jun. de 2020

I would like to have notes from the teachers as well (not just from the students).Some further ideas or highlights.

por ALESS D

25 de ene. de 2021

good exercises, opend to questions and organized but with a lack of diversity in the ways they explain concepts

por Max H

29 de jun. de 2017

the assignment descriptions are very confusing so I'd recommend looking into the forums for help. decent videos

por Ali N

19 de sep. de 2018

Enjoyed the lectures, but the assignments were poorly explained and definitely could have been better.

por Tanya D

22 de ago. de 2020

This course is very informative, however, I do wish that quizzes were a part of these courses.

por Sandra D

28 de ene. de 2019

The course could have been delivered better, but I enjoyed the challenging assignments.

por Bhakti S M

6 de jun. de 2021

I learned a lot. It was an interesting course and gave a glimpse into whole new world.

por Esther Z

30 de jul. de 2019

A little boring at times but lots of valuable information on how to build a character.

por Brooke B

17 de jun. de 2020

Great course, but I do wish the actual instructors gave their feedback on your work.

por Erick A

24 de oct. de 2020

Muy buen curso, te da todas las herramientas básicas para crear tu personaje

por Robert M H

4 de may. de 2018

n

e

x

c

e

l

l

e

n

t

w

o

r

k

s

h

o

p

t

h

a

t

m

a

d

e

m

e

t

h

i

n

k

m

u

c

h

m

o

r

e

a

b

o

u

t

m

y

c

h

a

r

a

c

t

e

r

s

a

s

c

o

m

p

l

e

t

e

beings

por Margot R M

8 de jun. de 2016

Liked this course. It helps to make sure character is central to the plot

por Ma. C D

14 de oct. de 2018

Somtimes the assignment instructions were hard to understand.